We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serene View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Williamsport B&B and Inns
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Serene in every way!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were a party of 4 adults and one 4 year old child. Having had some difficulties finding the B&B (see our useful tip) – we unfortunately arrived at Serene View Farm at around 7pm and having travelled down from Canada all day, were so tired and did not get to see as much of the area as we would have liked. However, what we did see truly lived up to their name “Serene”. The house itself is absolutely beautiful, full of gorgeous antiques but done in such a way as to make it feel homely (albeit a very luxurious home!) and not like a museum. We had all had a very long journey but Maggie and Larry instantly made us feel very welcome. We had picked up some bread and supper items from the shop five minutes from the house and Maggie immediately assorted us out with cutlery and drinks to ensure we could get straight on and eat (interrupting their own dinner to do so). Once we had eaten, Maggie took us on a tour of the house and really did just tell us to sit back and relax and use the house however we wanted. Typically (we’re British so the rain follows us everywhere!) just as we were contemplating an evening walk, the rains came down so we couldn’t go far – however we did take an opportunity to sit on the porch for a while and marvel at the fireflies. The two bedrooms that we occupied were absolutely stunning and everyone had the most fantastic night’s sleep – there really was nothing to disturb you. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely lovely – Maggie’s homemade pancakes, bacon, blueberries and syrup with a never ending supply of tea and coffee for everyone. What was so nice about breakfast was chatting with Maggie and Larry and just really feeling as though you were joining friends for breakfast. Sadly we had to be on our way quite early as we had another long drive ahead of us however, Serene View B&B is definitely the sort of place to spend at least a couple of nights to be able to fully appreciate the area, the house, its grounds and most definitely the hospitality of Maggie and Larry.

Room Tip: If using a Tom-Tom to navigate do not enter Williamsport as it will not recognise the zip code. Ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was the second bed and breakfast I stayed at. The first bed and breakfast was amazing. This bed and breakfast was amazing minus one.

The service was very hospitable! She talked to us like we were family, not customers; she served us a wonderful breakfast; she gave me some of her Ceylon teas!; and she recommended attractions and museums to us.

The room was great. We got the Rose Room, which was the best room, I believe. It was extremely decorative, but it was lacking a few things:
1. The hardwood floors were a little painful/irritating to walk on barefoot;
2. The showers were very cramped;
3. The showers had soap dispensers (shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner), making it seem less home-like [see picture];
4. There wasn't really a desk (there was a dresser desk and a lamp desk, but not a desk);
5. The view was from the room was great, but not "serene", as they claim (Serene View prides themselves having a "serene view", especially from the rooms. I wouldn't dub the view to be amazing or serene, but it was definitely nice. However, I was still a little disappointed to not see any deer in the morning though!!). Basically, I had very high expectations for the view and then looked outside for a minute, not necessarily appalled. But it was still nice! [see pictures of the view outside].

But, despite these 5 minor flaws, the room, the service, and the decoration was great and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who comes around the Williamsport area. A lot better service than any hotel and a fantastic breakfast (fruit toss, scones, a pineapple bread pudding, eggs, and sausage).

And a note on the location: it's in the middle of nowhere, which is great if you want to have a relaxing stay away from any distractions!!

Room Tip: There's about 5 different rooms to choose from. Two of them are cheaper ($115-ish) and the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmfnswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at Serene View during a recent visit to the area. It is a beautiful property, very clean and well kept. One of the best things about this B&B is the fact that there are very few distractions. My wife and I found ourselves doing something that we haven't done for quite some time. We spent the better part of two days relaxing and enjoying each others company free of any form of modern interuptions that we all seem to think of as "necessary" these days. We sat in the cozy sitting room and talked, read, and laughed for quite some time, which was a great change from our normal hectic lives.

The other major plus was Maggie. She was a wonderful hostess and made us feel at home right away. We were fortunate enough to be able to have our breakfast with several members of her family including her son and great-grandson. The food was great, but the conversation was even better. We talked and laughed about a wide variety of topics, and had a great time. We were sad when the time came for us to leave. It felt like leaving the house of a family memeber who you haven't seen in a while.

When in the area, we will be certain to stop in again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room, it's the rest of the experience that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NDFan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Over the river and through the woods to Serene View Farm we went. We were met by the most warm hearted hosts you could hope to ever meet. Maggie and Larry Emery have for eight years run this beautiful bed and breakfast located about 15 miles from Montoursville and 20 miles from Williamsport.
Maggie and Larry have created a warm and loving experience that we enjoyed to it's fullest. Maggie has decorated Serene View Farm in lovely floral prints. Antiques are everywhere for you to see, and the house is just full of love.
We stayed in the Rose Room and had a lovely view of the open meadow. We loved seeing the deer come to eat in the early morning and watching birds of all kinds at the feeder below.
Maggie out did herself with a delicious breakfast each morning. The table was set to perfection and you felt so very special sitting down to a warm country meal and friendly conversation. Staying here will awaken your soul to the pure pleasure of relaxing.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamsport
14.5 mi away
Best Western Williamsport Inn
Best Western Williamsport Inn
#6 of 14 in Williamsport
326 reviews
16.1 mi away
Genetti Hotel & Suites
Genetti Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Williamsport
513 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsport Faxon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamsport
Hampton Inn Williamsport
#2 of 14 in Williamsport
488 reviews
16.1 mi away
Residence Inn Williamsport
Residence Inn Williamsport
#4 of 14 in Williamsport
168 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#1 of 2 in Dushore
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene View Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene View Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Serene View Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 80 Engle Mill Ln, Williamsport, PA 17701-9519
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsport
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a establishment which provides a comfortable atmosphere with rooms dedicated to our guests enjoyment. We are located on 128 acres of meadows, woodlands and streams. We provide a full garden to table breakfast and cater to special food requirements. We have 3 bedrooms with private bathrooms and air conditioning. There is special two rooms dedicated to our guests use, the Victorian parlor and the Emery Room with tV, games books and puzzles. Our furnishings are decorative antiques as well as useful. We have your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing