We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, convenient hotel but beware of smoking choices when selecting a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Williamsport
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Williamsport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times over a few years. We just visited again. It is a great, functional hotel located close to downtown so you can walk if you want and across the street from a LARGE Wegman's grocery store. There is an indoor pool and spa that are well-maintained and clean. The staff seemed a little stressed, but they were consistently helpful and accommodating. Check-in and check-out went very quickly. We had a one bedroom suite on the fifth floor. The bedroom is gigantic. It had a king-size bed with a sleeper sofa in a massive room and a sleeper sofa in the main room. Also in the main room, there was a small refrigerator, microwave, and sink. We did not hear other guests, though we did hear some music from outside that stopped about 10:00 pm. Once the music stopped, the place was quiet. The breakfast was abundant. The linens are fluffy and comfortable on the bed, more functional on the sleeper sofas. The wireless was fast and easy to use.

The place is clean, but I definitely agree with other reviewers that there is a smoking smell at certain places in the hotel. We had a slight smell on one side of the bedroom (we were in a non-smoking room). It was not significant, which suggested to me that it might have come through the ventilation. It was not strong; but we are surprised that any place allows smoking indoors, so we were aware of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 544 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

The establishment was clean and comfortable as well as close to walking to the downtown area. It's also convienently located near Perkins and Wegmans. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room in front of the hotel gives you a scenic view of the river. A room in the back is quieter (n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Checked In by a really friendly and helpful receptionist. Room was huge, clean & welcoming. Great location for our stopover on the way from New York City to Niagara. Pool was great, used the laundry room which was excellent. Really great hotel, so good we've booked another night for our trip back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 10 times at this point. It is a standard older Hampton inn. The one complaint I do have is being placed in a smoking room. This is 2012 and I do not understand why smoking rooms are still around, if you get placed on the 3rd or 4th floor be prepared to smell like smoke the next day. Also I clearly booked a non-smoking room, so it is always possible!

Room Tip: In Williamsport all the hotels are just ok, lewisberg has a much nicer Hampton inn (about 20min away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is convenient to the highway. Very clean and comfortable. Arrived after a late flight and checked in after 11PM. Front desk had everything perfect and got into the room quick. Good breakfast in the morning and very attentive staff. Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This Inn was very nice. The room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast in the morning was very good. Location near interstate, but easy on/off. If in Williamsport again, will probably stay here.

Room Tip: If coming in from the West on I-180, use exit 27B, but stay to the right for Via Bella street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

When in Williamsport, we always stay at the property next door, the new holiday inn express, but they were booked full on the exact night we needed...so....we had to book a room at this Hampton Inn next door. This was my first time staying there. I realized quickly that this was a big downgrade to what we were used to and i longed to go next door.
It was just me and our 2 year old traveling. At check in, they told us we'd been assigned a smoking room. Ummm....WHAT? A hotel that is $170 (with taxes) a night still has smoking rooms? Is it 1986? No other rooms were availble, we were told. She offered to bring up febreeze (it's okay to laugh, i wanted to laugh too, but i also wanted to cry. Like...really? It was almost fictional.) Our room was standard & smelled of smoke. I tried to minimize the time we spent in the room by visiting every friend i could look up and taking the little one bowling. It was not a restful nights sleep. we're now back home & i can smell smoke in the laundry i'm unpacking. gross gross gross. Not a value for free, let alone $170.
If you are torn between this and the property next door, the Holiday Inn Express, there is simply no comparison. It's just a different experience. First off, you won't get stuck in a smokey room because the holiday inn express is 100% NON SMOKING. If you are traveling with kids, the rooms are bigger, they all have dvd players, the breakfast is a much better experience; they have not only the waffle machine but a never-seen-before pancake machine! (y little one really likes pancakes for breakfast) and again, it's just a warmer experience there-- when we are having breakfast at the h.i.e., a staff member offers a high chair and even a little disposable sippy cup to our little ones, and really makes us feel welcome. We realized after this experience that if you do not like to smell smoke, it's a real gamble booking at a hotel that still has indoor smoking- even if you book a non smoking room (ours was the third floor, #319).
I mean...unless it's $39 a night and off an exit ramp along route 95, it might be time for this and other trying-to-be-upscale hotel chains to follow suit, live in the now, and not have people smoking indoors in hotel rooms that do not have windows which open and are filled with carpet, drapes, plush furniture, etc. Big sigh, big bill, big loads of laundry to do, and big lesson learned. Oh....and was there a big apology? uhhhh no. I got an "I'm sorry about that, mam" along with my febreeze offer. Really? Island breeze scent mixed with cigarette smoke scent? Gag!
p.s. if the holiday inn express is booked, also consider the Townplace suites which is BRAND NEW, less than a year, and is only about half to one block away.

Room Tip: wait to book here until they have a non-smoking policy in effect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2teachersandbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsport hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsport Faxon
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Williamsport
Residence Inn Williamsport
#4 of 14 in Williamsport
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Williamsport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Williamsport
TownePlace Suites Williamsport
#6 of 14 in Williamsport
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
SureStay Collection by Best Western Genetti Hotel
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Williamsport
Comfort Inn Williamsport
#5 of 14 in Williamsport
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Williamsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Williamsport

Address: 140 Via Bella St, Williamsport, PA 17701-6517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsport
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsport
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Williamsport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Williamsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Williamsport Hotel Williamsport
Williamsport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing