We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Perfect Place Stop, & Not Too Far From I-80” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place Stop, & Not Too Far From I-80”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

After driving around the US of A for 1.5 months and never staying at a Red Roof Inn not on purpose; it just turned out that way), I admit I was a bit skeptical—especially given the low price of $40 for two with taxes the day before CHRISTMAS EVE. I was expecting some seedy stuff, usually reserved for the very, very low-rated Super 8s or something of the sort, but what I found instead was a really brilliant value for a great price. And the person at the front desk couldn't have been nicer, not only giving me the top floor (I love that) away from the highway (I love that even more), but also proffering a handful of restaurant menus, as he noticed we'd been traveling for quite a while based on a) my home address b) my haggard face and c) my probably audible stomach.

We did walk past a steaming, nasty turd on the outdoor stairs—the Red Roof Inn is pet-friendly (hooray!) but perhaps should be less people friendly (boo!), especially when they abuse the obvious privilege of not even being up-charged for having an animal in the room. And this is how you're going to do the RRI, stranger? On Christmas Eve? For shame!

Aside from that, which obviously is not going to be a standard (or at least I hope), the room was awesome—especially for $40. We got a very comfortable king-sized bed, an actually usable desk (if one were to be there on business, this would truly be a suitable accommodation for once), a mini-fridge, microwave, working wireless, and a CLEAN, MOLD-FREE SHOWER.

I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a decent motel in the area—even if you're traveling on I-80. It's not very far, in truth, and is the best deal for miles and miles and miles. Who wants to shell out serious cash while in the middle-ish of PA anyway? No one , that's who. I hope other motels in their chain are as excellent, because I will definitely be a repeat customer.

Room Tip: See if they have something available on the third floor. While there's no grand view, I really p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucijane, Manager at Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank You so much for visiting the Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn, and for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. We take our guest's comments very seriously and share them with our staff. When guests like yourself take the time to give us such a positive response, it helps to motivate the staff and shows them that all their hard work does not go unoticed. We are a pet friendly hotel, and I am sorry that not all pet owners appreciate that privilege. Once again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    97
    59
    28
    23
See reviews for
83
99
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Got a room for one night while visiting family. Price was cheap, front desk service decent. Room wasn't great but wasn't horrible. Bedding had cigarette burns in it (we were in a non smoking room). Didn't see any signs of bed bugs or infestation ( we are very OCD about checking the beds when we travel).

Overall I'd say you get a cheap room for a cheap price. Not the best place to stay with kids but for just the two of us, it was a place to stay for a night and worked ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stemple1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stopped here on the way back from a dog show because we didn't want to drive all the way home. We got an EXCELLENT rate for the king sized bed on the ground floor. The room was very clean (my only minor complaint was the faint odour of cigarette smoke - they definitely need to replace the carpets in the rooms that used to be smoking; the smell will never go away) and really spacious enough (smaller than other RR rooms we have been in but not the most important issue for us). The desk clerk Brian was awesome. Friendly, helpful and funny. Definitely a plus for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here on Dec 1 and Dec 5.......room was comfortable and clean and quiet......Brian, the desk clerk, spent an hour and an half helping my wife send a fax to the motel for me before I got there....then was very helpful finding me a room on the ground floor after a booking mistake....will always stay here when going from Vermont to the southeast.

Room Tip: Valley view, quiet side, ground floor, away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treefarm_vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was displaced from both my office in Lower Manhattan (NYC) and my home in Central NJ during Hurricane Sandy. I stayed at this hotel for 10 days until power was restored in my home area. The hotel was clean and quiet, and my room was very comfortably furnished and equipped with a fridge and microwave. There was a desk inside the room for me to use as my temporary office, and free coffee/tea 24/7 in the reception area. Throughout my 10-day stay, the hotel staff was very hospitable and considerate, and they often went beyond the call of their duty to make the guests feel welcome and well served, particularly Patti and Jennifer of the front desk, and Lou of the maintenance department. For instance, upon arrival, I found that my room fridge was not as cold as expected and the sink was draining slowly. The morning after I reported the troubles, Lou of the maintenance department came promptly to replace my fridge and took great care in clearing the clog in my sink. It became my home away from home! Considering the pricing, room conditions, and the exceptional services provided by the staff, I will definitely return to this hotel in my future travels. I also highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a bit small, but well laid out.
We stayed for one night - a bad night - not because of the hotel, but a murder/homicide within 100ft of this Inn. The Sheriff going door to door and investigating, made a disturbing night until 1am. However, the hotel gave a $25 discount, which we found very generous, since the murder did not happen on the property, nor was it the hotel's fault. Well handled by staff. Sorry that everybody had to be subjected to this tragedy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $$ for a superior room, it is well worth i.t
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing fancy. There is parking close to all rooms, and most rooms have a big sized flat screen, and the bathrooms were large. There was no shampoo or conditioner provided, no hair dryers. Air conditioner was cool. Bed was average. For the price, not a bad option. It does seem that some "guests" may be more of a permanent resident.

Room Tip: Try to get on the lower level, it's easier to access your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonicachic311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#15 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
0.7 mi away
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena

Property: Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Address: 1035 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing