We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in an Okay Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel seemed very new. The staff was very friendly, and our room was perfect. The only thing I didn't like about this place was the location. You have to drive through the parking lot of an office building, which makes it not super ideal. However, the hotel itself was a great place for us to rest and relax before hitting the road the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was a Hampton Inn years ago and now it has been converted into a HI Express.
The rooms are very luxurious with a Microwave, fridge (big one) and a flatscreen.
Many towels, clean, and I got a late checkout until 2.30 PM!
The breakfast could be a bit more varied. Still, why complain when it's free!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I was traveling alone to visit family in the area and found my room to be very clean. The bathroom with the granite tile surround and vanity was very nice, the bed was very firm (which I thought I would dislike) but I got a great night sleep and found it rather comfortable. The breakfast was one of the better continental breaskfasts I have seen in a hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wzdmsekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Wilkes-Barre twice now and been really happy with each stay (was lucky enough to get it through priceline twice). The complimentary hot breakfast is great, service is great, rooms and common areas are very clean, and there's a free shuttle to the nearby casino if you're interested! It looks like a recently renovated hotel, is really comfortable, and is a great deal overall for the price.

The only issue is a first-timer thing - it's hard to figure out how to get to. You can just about see I-81 from the parking lot, but the hotel is behind a business on a huge hill, with a strange windy driveway. So - keep your eyes open when you're going there (and make sure you're there and not the regular Holiday Inn further down the road, which doesn't look as nice) - it's worth finding!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krismsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here one night, 05/28/10, for $89.00 and it was well worth it. The room was clean, up to date, and nicely decorated. The breakfast area was clean also and offered good food and beverages (good coffee). My only complaint would be the bed which was hard as a rock. Otherwise I would stay at this hotel any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayyed with our 2 young children and had a clean room with a decent size bathroom. The was too much furniture in the room causing it to be a little cramped, but it was excellent for the price. We went to the continental breakfast each morning and it was really good. Large variety. Rooms were clean and it was not noisy at night which provided a good nights sleep. we would deinately recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToDineAlbany_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed one night and mentioned we were going to Mohegan Sun and got a good rate. They had a free shuttle service to the casino. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, with refrigerator and microwave and coffee pot. Hot breakfast. Close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#12 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $93 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing