We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be stopping here sgain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Won't be stopping here sgain.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have no problem with the brand and almost always stay at HIE but should have opted for the Marriot brand this time.
Hard to find, rooms and bath too small for more than one person. They put us in a handicap room where TV was on the left of the bed in front of the art work instead of on wall at foot of the bed. Bed was like sleeping on a rock and both my husband and I woke up with backaches! When you turned on the bathroom sink the water came out like a fire hose! The noise level above us startled and woke my hudband who slerps like a rock at 5:10 am and even after calling the front desk the noise continued. I heard running water and the ac all night. The check in staff was unfriendly but professional. They did offer free on demand shuttles within a two mile radius and the breakfast staff and checkout staff was sympathetic to our problems but only an "I'm sorry." Those few things and the fact that it was clean and the brackish pool was a pleasant surprise kept me from rating it "poor!"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear reddskyy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I apologize we did not make you feel this way. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you had expected and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise challenges and room accommodations. The appropriate management has been notified and these concerns will be addressed and corrected. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you should your travels bring you back our way.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    101
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
86
77
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

this stay made me a gold member so i was excited, i even wrote it in the special remarks when booking my stay. upon arrival the girl was using the computer you could hear her typing away- even though she did acknowledge my presence and say hello she didnt stop. so i just slid my id and credit card near her and waited. afterwords she was pretty nice though.

We were upgraded which is always nice. i was well aware from all the reviews that the room would be tight. sure it was smaller then any other place ive been but PEOPLE please, i am NOT a thin girl but i was able to walk perfectly fine from the window to the bathroom past all the furniture with no problems stop over exaggerating.

the hotel has a free shuttle to the casino, which we took with no issues and picked us up quickly. we tried the pool/hot tub which was surprisingly a mix of chlorine and salt water. and breakfast was pretty good had more options then other places ive stayed at.

i would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ittybittyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear ittybittyxx,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
268 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for one night on our way to New York. Our room was spacious enough but just a bit tired. The carpet looked like it needed to be replaced. The bathroom was very small and could do with an upgrade. Staff were helpful and friendly enough. The breakfast was ok. Our GPS couldn't find this hotel. We could see it on a hill but was not easy to get to. Have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express, this one was just average, not as new as some others we have stayed in.
We were on the 4th floor and every time the adjoining room turned on a tap we would hear it, which made sleep a little difficult. Bed was comfortable enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LengraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear LengraMelbourne,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. However, I would like to apologize for any disturbance you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Rooms are incredibly small with too much furniture. Desk is so close to the bed even my 2 yr old could not sit in the chair. Since we were cramped with 2 adults, 2 yr old twins and a baby, I can't imagine trying to fit in a family with older children.
Upon checkout I informed the clerk that the shower drain was clogged. He couldn't even be bothered to look up from his computer to look at me. I received no apology or a Thank You for bringing it to their attention.
We make frequent trips from CT to MI each year and have stayed in many hotels along the way and I am certain our family will not be be staying at this HIE again.
On a positive note, the breakfast was tasty and breakfast staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicbrasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear nicbrasy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is great to know that you found our staff to be friendly and the breakfast served suited your liking. I sincerely apologize though that the room you were given did not meet your liking. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Once again the Holiday Inn Express hotel met all our expectations. We were greeted very warmly. We had some accommodations that we requested and were accomplished. The bedding as usual in the HIE hotels are very comfortable. The breakfast was very adequate for first thing in the morning especially if you're traveling with kids. Breakfast in the hotel gives you the opportunity to go back upstairs and relax a little more or get ready for an adventurous day. We were in town for a convention so the stay at HIE was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daero93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful mountain-top view, comfortable bedding, breakfast is fine with many choices. Love the cookies at the front desk. Rooms are a bit tight and tired, but very clean. Ask for an odd-numbered room for the view. Signage to the hotel was fine - no problem finding it. Lots of local choices for meals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADDKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Member of Holiday Inn group. Found staff helpful, well informed, used Cupon in travel books. Room-neat, clean Refrig micro; loved the welcome baked cookies & coffee; breakfast hot good variety of choices; heated pool clean & small w accessible hours. Recommend it lots of quality for the price. Would stop there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YALP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
655 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing