We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel stay and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
West Milford
2 reviews
“hotel stay and staff”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

the hotel stay was excellent overall. the only problem we had was finding the hotel. when checking in i was asked if the holiday inn sign was easily seen. i had to say no. this in itself is not a reason for me to dislike my stay or my choise of holiday inn express.i would like to take this oppertunity to rave about the front desk clerk,Zakija. She suggested a great restaurant in the area and she was spot-on!!!

Room Tip: rooms near elevators great for seniors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    99
    51
    14
    5
See reviews for
83
76
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington,pa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel closest to casino and racetrack. Check in was a breeze. Room was super clean and very modern. Great beds and pillows as well! Plenty of restaurants,gas,and dunkin donuts nearby. Highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area. Only complaint is that it is slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcpa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Road
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

From the moment I finally found this hotel (it is located on the side of a mountain, behind other buildings - a little difficult to locate) The front doors were locked - and the front desk agent was over at the other end of the lobby getting coffee, taking his merry time to get back to let me know.

Bad attitude, unprofessional, and I got all of that from just a few minutes of him saying...
Reservation?
Name?
Credit Card?
Sign here, here, initial here, sign here.....
Here's your key.
Thanks.

That was the summary of the conversation.

While I don't expect to leave the front desk being 'best buds' with the staff - I do expect at least a hospitable greeting.

When this building fulfilled its usable life a Hampton Inn, it become a Holiday Inn. If you have ever stayed in a Hampton Inn that was built in the early 90's - you will know what to expect at this hotel.

While the exterior of this hotel isn't readily recognizable as a former Hampton Inn, just walk the halls!

My room was very cramped - and there was WAY too much furniture.

The wi-fi was in and out, and I finally had to call because my laptop said the issues was with the broadcast hardware (Thanks WiFiX) When I was on the phone, the agent said that there were 4 other guests of the same hotel on the phone, and said they had been receiving other requests about this hotel.

OK, I know, I have a ton of complaints above... but really the hotel isn't all bad, the rooms are comfortable (though cramped), the beds are reasonably comfortable, and the property has nice amenities, and has a great location (once you find it!).

I would stay here again as long as I could get a decent nightly rate.

Room Tip: As for a room on the front of the building - the back of the building faces the mountain... without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear admit_it,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our staff. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are very unhappy about your experience. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great stay, great staff, close to casino, cookies all the time, they will bend over backwards for anyone, best hotel option in wilkesbarre area by far, never without a smile, love the biscuit and sausage gravy breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbear3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel also provides a shuttle to and from casino staff is very professional and friendly Very clean and service is great. Breakfast the next morning was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel to all I'm planning another trip to area and will again stay at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very comfortable hotel that includes hot breakfast (eggs, pancakes, etc.). Very friendly staff and reasonably priced. If you are a casino or horse racing fan, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs is literally one mile up the road on the same road.
If you stay at the hotel, you can call the hotel directly (get their phone number off their web site) and ask for the "casino rate" which is really reasonable.
The hotel is also close to Wilkes-Barre downtown area and most of the shopping malls - and there are plenty of them as well as many different eateries nearby.
On the same road as the hotel is a discount store called "Ollie's". Make sure you stop in for some great buys.

Room Tip: Unless you need a king size bed, ask for two double beds. Sometimes the rooms with the king sized b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blade926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Front Desk folks not only offer just baked cookies every day, but smiling faces to go with the cookies. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good and included in the room rate for everyone. What's not to like? We stay there often. They readily accept the Roomsaver coupon so we stay there for $69.00.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomatopastePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing