We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband & I stayed here only one night on our travels back to Georgia after dropping our daughter at RPI in Troy, NY. The hotel is back off the road & up on a hill, so the views from the front facing rooms are very nice. We had a room with 2 queen beds so space was a little tight, but the room was very clean, beds comfortable & really quiet. The bathroom was really beautiful-very clean, with triple mirror, good lighting for the ladies, & a vent. Also had one of the larger hotel room refrigerators, microwave & coffee maker. Breakfast was pretty good-yogurt, cereals, sweet rolls, etc.

There are a lot of food options near the hotel & a large mall as well.

Would definitely recommend this hotel & hope to be back as we go back & forth to New York state over the next few years!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    101
    51
    15
    5
See reviews for
86
77
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay over the weekend. I did'nt really find anything to complain about. The breakfast was better than I expected. Saturday, omelets & sausage patties, Sunday, scrambled eggs & canadian bacon, good coffee, nice atmosphere, just a little crowded. Zakiya, the lady at the front desk, fantastic. Very friendly, respectful, welcoming.

Did'nt get a chance to use the, pool or jacuzzi, but, My kids & I enjoyed the fitness center. Will be going back again in a few of months. Went for the casino, ended up in Walmart and Red Lobster!

Room Tip: It is up a hill, a windy road, don't blink, you will miss the entrance to the driveway. Great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blazing777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, VA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hard to find from highway, but worth the search. The room was large,fresh smelling and very clean. Towels were big and fluffy, and the room had all of the usual conveniences. Computer access was easy and hotel staff was very friendly. After driving a distance in the rain, they treated me like family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is a great location. You will miss the driveway if you don't know you are looking for it so I suggest looking at a map street view before you go. Fast checkin, clean rooms and building but small rooms. The bed took up most of the room. Two people cannot walk past each other anywhere in the room. Views from the hotel are great though. If you are looking for a great place and don't care about tripping over each other, it's a great place! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Upon my arrival I thought the location was very cool how it was secluded on a hill but still so close to the main road. The front desk girl was less than amused and quite rude when she checked me in, and not very helpful when I later asked for directions to a store. She slammed the directions on the counter and said "good luck" when I asked if a liquor store was close by. I don't know, maybe she was just having a bad day and needed a drink herself. We were stuck in a smoking room which was because of our stay being at an employee rate, but man was it smokey!!! Overall, our stay was good. We loved the shuttle service, and being so close to the casino was fantastic! I would like to commend the housekeeper the morning we left who chased us to the parking lot right before we pulled out to give me my makeup bag that I had forgotten in the room! I wish I knew her name. I just remember she was a very petite girl with short hair and extremely kind! Thank you, thank you, thank you, housekeeper!! :) I truly appreciated that!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestopinion1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stop here for the night will driving home from Florida. 1st off the hotel is extremly hard to locate.It's on the top of a step hill not at all visable by the street below.

Front staff very friendly, check in took less than 5 minutes. Hotel is clean, exercise room nice as well.

My problem with the hotel was the size of the room, I travelled with my wife and 2 kids aged 7 and 9 and honestly we did not fit in the room. Two average size beds and zero room to move around. It was a freakishly small room, never saw anything like this before in my life.

It is a fantastic hotel for a business traveller or someone travelling alone but skip this hotel if you are more than two people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Danny K,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our fitness center and our friendly staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology since we fell below tour expectation regarding the room size. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the HIE in WilkesBarre for a weekend in July. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. We asked for extra towels from housekeeping and they generously obliged. The pool and spa were clean and kids enjoyed their time spent there after a long day at a convention as did the adults. Easy access to Rt 81. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppletop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.9 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Address: 1063 Highway 315 Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing