We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, economy or not.”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Bellefonte, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, economy or not.”
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I don't normally take the time to write hotel reviews, but this Econolodge far surpassed my expectations for an inexpensive hotel. Everyone I dealt with on the staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is exceptionally clean, and although the variety of food at the continental breakfast was limited, it was fresh and of high quality.

The icing on the cake? Free Wi-Fi internet in addition to a computer near the lobby for guest use.

  • Liked — Everything was excellent.
  • Disliked — No Complaints!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve16823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    145
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
132
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed for one night on route from South Carolina to Ottawa with 3 adults in a room with 2 doubles. Booked this solely on the recommendation of TripAdvisor.

Easy to get to off the I81 North and the place was clean and well run. Perkins restaurant across the parking lot was cheap, good and convenient

The evening and morning front desk staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

We found the walls a bit "thin" with a number of guests getting up very early, but otherwise was fine for a one night layonver. I will use this place again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton,Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed overnight at this hotel on 2-17-07.
The service was great.
The room was very clean.And the staff was very friendly.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank OntheGo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

This was a nice place to stay and an overall good value. We did have a pet so we were required to stay on the 1st floor because they do inspect the room before you check out. The only problem we had was the noise from the people staying above us. They didn't seem to be unusually loud but you could definitely here them walking around and closing doors at night. It was nice that they open the breakfast area at 5 AM so you can get a little something to eat if you are planning an early departure. The staff was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from people staying above us.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eden_Village
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We saw the great views of the Econo Lodge and booked a night there with our two dogs. It was a very pleasant experience. Although we don't normally stay in Econo Lodges, we would absolutely stay in this one again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant stay for an extremely reasonable price.

We do wish that Travelocity would add a category for pet owners so we didn't have to jump back and forth from Travelocity's site to a pet-friendly one.

  • Liked — pet friendly, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast
  • Disliked — not a particularly good location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

i would like to take the time to thank the front desk employees down to housekeeping. there servise was awsome. the older women at the front desk was very helpful. Also they really know how to make you feel right at home. Also the room was great i booked a king suite nice to have oversize room with a couchand it was very clean. just in FYI there are no compleymentry toletires at the front desk its in vending and its kind of pricey. there is walmart down the street and i got all my items there for the weekend. there is planty to see and do well there right on and off of i 81 just. also just to let you know the exit to get on to i 81 north to Bighamton/scranton is about a mile down the room its easy to miss lol i know i did. i would highly recomend staying there . other FYI the econo lodge i scranton itself well i was in town that one was on the news and there was stabing there my firend who lives in the area told me that is not a good part of town but the econo lodge w/b is the place to be i know i will be comming back soon also there is a bar you can go to to at the comfort inn next door very convent when u are not from the area as well

  • Liked — close to about eveything in w/b township and close to downtown w/b
  • Disliked — no free toletires at the front des
  • Tips/Secrets — have fun!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iamastudforu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

The Econo Lodge Arena in Wilkes-Barre is not your run-of the-mill Econo Lodge. I've stayed at several Econo Lodges, and most are just your average motel. The cleanliness, service, and amenities rank this hotel right up with the big names, at a fraction of the price. I have family in Wilkes-Barre so I come back every year, and the Econo Lodge has been my regular hotel for the past 11 years.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenGPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
536 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing