We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Picked this hotel because of the many good reviews found on Tripadvisor, and I wasn't disappointed. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Plus, you get 10% off at the Perkins Restaurant right in front of the hotel by showing your room key, which was also very good. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swinsonm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to offer your review of our hotel.
We appreciate it more than you know.
In this age of social media, It is imperative for a successful business to listen to their customers whether positive or negative.
In the hotel business, former guests that are potentially repeat customers are our lifeline.
Thank you again for your kind words and especially for the high ratings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 389 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while passing through. Asked for a quiet room and was placed on the top floor which is half non smoking half smoking...but what non smoker wants to share with smokers? Alas despite the smokey hallway the room smelled fresh. Other guests were loud in the hallway throughout this saturday night. Earplugs recommended. In the morning the shower refused to get hotter than lukewarm much to my dismay. Grabbed some mini yogurts from the breakfast offerings and headed to the dunkin donuts across the street where (bonus review) they made my coffee wrong. Onward I went.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Violet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Violet R,
Thank you immensely for taking time to offer your review of the hotel.
Guests feedback, such as yours, are an invaluable resource to improve the overall guest experience.
We use it as a tool to maintain our award winning status.
I am so sorry your experience wasn't quite what you hoped for.

Unfortunately, when the hotel is busy it can sometimes be noisy. I can only suggest that in the future, you contact the front desk as they may be able to get the noisy guests to quiet down.
We do have a strict quiet time policy and if someone does not adher to it we need to know when it is happening.

I am a Regarding the luke warm water temperature you experienced... Did you report it to the staff?
Sadly, we can only address these types of issues when we know about them and the date of your stay nor the room number is available on TripAdvisor.
In the future, please don't ever hesitate to let hotel staff know whenever you have a problem.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Okay, so I was a tad worried after booking this hotel. Overall the reviews are positive. I'm a loyal Choice Hotels customer but my last CH stay(at the HORRIBLE Roadway Inn in Allentown PA) had me nervous about future CH properties that seemed too cheap to be okay.
The Econo Lodge Arena in Wilkes-Barre, PA is outstanding! So happy with my visit.
First off all the stay was about $66 including tax for one night in a room with two double beds, fridge, microwave, tv ect & breakfast. That's $33 per person which is less than $10 more than the last awful hotel I stayed at.
The hotel was clean, bright, cozy and inviting. Clean parking lot and had no trouble finding a spot close to the front .
The hotel staff was ALL friendly. The employee at the front desk who checked us in, the two employees at the front the following morning, the two housekeepers I bumped into in the elevator and hallways, the breakfast attendant. All pleasant.
Quiet hotel, no problems with sleep quality, comfortable bed with soft, fresh sheets.
Nice view from our room(#205) which included the parking lot and highway but also some mountains or escarpment.
Details in case you're interested:
The TV is old & outdated, no flat screen but it worked and was perfectly fine for us and still had a large screen. You can also rent a VCR or DVD player for $10. We used our TV and were thrilled to have it.
Breakfast room is medium size and very open with window walls on one side looking into the little lobby. The breakfast options were: cereal, oatmeal, waffles, toast/bread, bagels, mini muffins, fruit like apples and oranges, powdered scrambled eggs, small yogurts in raspberry, strawberry and peach flavors, juice such as orange and cranberry, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, milk, and non-dairy spread and peanut butter for toppings.
Outside the hotel is a busy street with plenty of restaurant and stores. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the Casino.
Great stay, very pleased with how it turned out and I'd definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hauntingsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Wow....just WOW !
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay here at the Econo Lodge Arena and especially for being a loyal Choice Hotel customer.
I am thrilled that you had such a positive experience during your visit with us.
I will surely pass on your remarks to our staff. They will be thrilled...

I can't get over the detail you put into this review and for that you have my sincerest gratitude.

I hope you get to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My first review and a long overdue one.
Stayed here with my wife and in-laws in June of 2013 when we did our trip across PA, NY and DC.
The rooms are very clean, staff helpful and the breakfast fresh.
An awesome deal for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for remembering us and taking the time to offer your perspective about your visit in June.
I'm happy to know we left a positive memory with you.
Since you were here in June we added a hot breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage.
Hopefully you'll get to visit again soon...
Thank you again for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Can this place get any better?! For the same low price, they've now added even more to the breakfast. This weekend, they were serving scrambled eggs, sausage patties and hot oatmeal with all the fixings. This is on top of what they've already been serving. This place is an incredible bargain.

The only reason why I've knocked it down from 5 stars to 4 is that they've changed cleaning products and the rooms are a bit overwhelming for an asthmatic - however, they will change your room if they aren't full and it's just too uncomfortable. I recommend bringing a scented candle and opening the window for a bit. Also, stupid complaint for these great prices, but the Kleenex is like sandpaper.

Room Tip: Laundry is on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiphosuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.
The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.
Just to let you know...we are in the process of changing our paper products. Hopefully next time you'll be able to give us the #5.
Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Econo Lodge is clean and comfortable. It is easy access to the highway and has plenty of amenities nearby. We found the staff to be helpful and courteous. This was our 2nd time there and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ontheroadwithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your views about our hotel.
I know that time is such a valuable resource and we truly appreciate that you shared some of yours to let others know you were happy with your visit.

We use our guests feedback, whether positive or negative, to try to improve the overall guest experience and in order to maintain our award winning status.

Once again.... THANK YOU !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently. Our plan was to have a weekend away and enjoy the new Mohegan Sun Casino. This hotel was conveniently located right off the highway and only 5 minutes from Mohegan Sun. It was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly.I can't believe we had gotten such a great rate for such a beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding our hotel.

We truly appreciate and value your feedback.
Your comments serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and in order to maintain our award winning status.

I can't begin to tell you what a pleasure it is to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#14 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#12 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
605 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing