We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We still love this place!”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is an update from my last review. We had a king suite. The room was spotless and in excellent condition. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was great with enough water pressure and the shower head had assorted settings. We really enjoyed the HOT breakfast they now provide, with scrambled eggs and hot already-made oatmeal. The sausage patties looked good but didn't try them, a little heavy for us. Happily ate the big ole New York style bagels though. Our only complaint was that the Internet was a little difficult to connect to through our iPads, you had to frequently log in, and it was S.L.O.W. Won't stop us from coming back but if I were trying to conduct any business I would have been frustrated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Woodsdweller...

Thank you so much for taking the time, not once, but twice to offer your feedback about one of your many visits to our hotel. Guests, such as yourself, are an invaluable source in order to maintain our award winning status. The gift of time is so valuable these days and I very much appreciate that you gave us yours.

We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Hope you had a wonderful holiday and an even better New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 389 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have stayed here several times on our way to Florida and back. The rooms are always clean, beds are very comfortable, and the staff is Excellent. It is very convenient to the interstate, and has a Perkins restaurant next door. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoonerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive feedback about your experience here at the Econo Lodge Arena.
It's does my heart good to know that with the many choices between here and Florida ...you chose us!
Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Every fall, my intrepid canine companion and I drive south and this hotel is always our first stop for the night. For years, we searched for a clean, well run, pet friendly hotel, but no more. Staying at the Econo Lodge Arena is like visiting an old friend. It is very convenient to the interstate, easy to find, very clean and very well run, each year I notice updates and quality maintenance work, the beds are wonderfully comfortable, the showers are excellent (plenty of water pressure, plenty of hot water, shower heads of good quality), most of the front desk staff has worked there for a number of years, the housekeeping staff is very good and the breakfasts are tasty and plentiful. Add to this the small cafe' at the "no pets" hotel next door (right in the same parking lot, so no driving to get a meal) which has good foodm reasonable prices and a liquor license, and the fact that pets are welcome, and you have the reason we have been staying at the Econo Lodge Arena for a number of years. Even though we only stay one night out of 365, the nice folks at the front desk always remember my dog and he greets them like he just saw them the other day. There is a convenient corner off the parking lot for one's pet to "do their business" complete with plastic bags and a trash can, something almost no hotels provide. Those of you who have been seeking a decent hotel in the Scranton/Wilkes Barre area, look no more. This is the place. Oh yes! Just one more thing: some "economy" hotels have downsized their pillows which is absolutely baffling to me. The pillows here are high quality and normal sized, not some little teeny things you need four of to get to sleep!

Room Tip: If you have special requirements, simply advise the front desk when booking your room. They are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Auntie194...

Those two tiny words, "Thank" and "You" are not enough to express my gratitude after reading your review of our hotel.
This one quote means more than you can imagine:
"Staying at the Econo Lodge Arena is like visiting an old friend"!
My heart almost exploded with joy!
You not only made my day but I think you actually made my year.

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from a cross country trip to visit family. We had our son's dog and stayed in one of the rooms reserved for pets. Not being used to traveling with a dog we were somewhat concerned about what kind of room we would end up with. We were very pleased. It was first floor, clean well appointed and not shabby at all. Continental breakfast was fine. This is a good place to stay if you are traveling through and need a room accessible to the interstate. It is right off Interstate 81 and very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl12061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wanting to spend some time in the Poconos mountains leaf peeping we made reservations at this Econo lodge in Wilkes-Barre Pa. We were only going to stay two nights and ended up staying three as the place was way better then I had expected. The People behind the desk were very helpful with all kinds of info about the area. The place was very clean room was spotless and the breakfast was very good as well as a very competitive price. What more would any body want. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klink1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for the 5 Star ranking.
Your feedback is shared with our entire staff and I am sure they will be thrilled to read your comments.
I hope you'll consider visiting us again should you decide to peep at God's canvas again next year.
Thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to rest to break up a long trip to NH, so we arrived late and stayed just one night. This is an excellent budget hotel! The lobby, halls, and room were all very clean. The hotel seemed very safe, the exterior was well lit and you needed a room key to open exterior doors. The room had a clean mini fridge and microwave. Good hot water and pressure in the shower. Some of the furnishings were dated, but well maintained. The room was quiet and the beds were very comfy. The staff was friendly. The breakfast had a selection of cereals; breads, bagels, and waffles for toasting; a nice pot full of warm oatmeal; hard boiled eggs; and juice and coffee. Served in a clean pleasant eating area with plenty of seating.
Definitely reccomend, especially of you just need a place to rest on a trip. Very conveniently located right off the highway.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the positive review and especially for choosing us on your way through the area.
Guests, such as yourself, willing to take time out of your life to offer your comments are invaluable to us and to the many travelers that visit Trip Advisor.
Thank you once again and we hope you'll visit again should you be in the Wilkes Barre area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and i stayed here one night while passing through Wilkes-Barre. The gentleman on the front desk was very friendly and changed our room to the front of the hotel on the first floor when I asked for quiet. It was too! He could not provide a map of the area but did print out directions to downtown and offered a couple of suggestions for a restaurant. The hotel has clearly been in place for a long time but is still clean and fresh. The room was well equipped and the continental breakfast was quite satisfactory. Very good value for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: First floor at the front for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello Tony...
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Econo Lodge Arena.
I was thrilled to hear your visit was pleasant and comfortable for you and your wife.
If you are ever passing through again, I hope you will stop again for a visit.
Until then....Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#12 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
605 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $54 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing