We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the need to go to Wilkes Barre for business unexpectedly and discovered that almost every hotel was booked to the roof. I was not willing to pay $200 for some of the available rooms and booked instead with the EconoLodge @ the Arena.
- The property is not much to look at from the outside since it is basically a parking lot and the hotel
- The desk staff was helpful and efficient
- The rooms were immaculately clean
- The decor was downscale but well suited for the budget minded traveler - the decor was similar to other Choice hotels in the rooms
- The halls were utilitarian with fluorescent lights in the ceiling
- The sink was immediately inside the door which was odd but gave you more space in the room
- The management wanted feedback in writing on your departure concerning your stay and had a contest with prizes to encourage your participation
Overall I would return again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear George,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for your insight on your recent visit to our hotel.
Your feedback was very thorough and I know it must have taken some valuable time and I truly appreciate your input.
Most of all I am thrilled that you mentioned you would return to us again.
Guests, such as yourself, are invaluable to our business and the hotel business in general.

Once again...THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for EconoLodge Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 380 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great value, rooms are clean and comfortable. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Son loved the rubber duck. Will definitely recommend to people traveling up and down I-81. Lobby was welcoming and a great meeting place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel.
All comments, whether positive or negative are extremely important to us. We take each and every one seriously in order to provide each of our guests with the best possible experience.
I hope you will visit us again so your son can add to his duck collection.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This property is conveniently right off the interstate and offered a clean room at a competitve price. An average to good hotel at this price point. Pet friendly, however, means there may have been a cat or cats in your room before you. Be advised if you have allergies.
Property is well maintained and well staffed. The only negative was that the hallway reeked of cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the interstate.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtlijnvainashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time to offer your comments to other travelers.
I just wanted to let you know that we have specific pet rooms set aside as pet friendly. They are located on the first floor and we do our best to use ONLY those rooms for our guests with pets. Unfortunately, guests at times do not make us aware that they have a pet with them and when this does occur, we completely strip the room and do a deep cleaning to try to eliminate any pet hair and dander that may have a bad effect on our guests that may be allergic.
Regarding your comments about the halls and the smoke odors: Our only smoking rooms are located on the 3rd floor. We have 2 smoke eaters installed on the ceiling in the hallway but unfortunately, there are times when our guests do not comply with the policy of no smoking outside their rooms or they will actually smoke in a NON-smoking room.
I do apologize for any negative experience you may have encountered.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's pet friendly, that was our biggest issue. It's amazing. Clean, great continental breakfast, hot water, great shore, microwave, fridge and tv, that Work!! The beds were comfy, and the air conditioning wasn't too noisy. It's a great value and we recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bobbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Bobbi,
Thank you so very much for offering your positive feedback about your recent visit to the Econo Lodge Arena.
I loved your "It's amazing" comment.
I've shared your comments with our staff and believe me they truly enjoyed hearing those words too.

Once again, Thank You!
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel is situated at blackman st & 309 exit off rt 81. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms was very nice we had a King bed non-smoking also they have mini fridge and microwave in rooms. clean and quiet great maid staff. Free breakfast, free wifi. nice clean and inviting breakfast rooms with flat screen tvs for news etc. Miss Helen does a great job serving the guests! Great place to stay! will stay here again when coming back to NEPA for a visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback!
I have shared your comments with my staff, especially Helen (her name is Joan) and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a pet-friendly hotel, and not having a pet, I must say I never heard one; nor did it smell like pets. Actually a nice-smelling motel. Very clean, easy to find and extremely friendly. So many chain restaurants in the area. Perkins in front of the hotel. Very close to the highway, but we could not hear it. The air conditioning did not go on and off keeping us awake all night. Nice, steady, relaxing hum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leetl319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I I strongly recommend to anyone traveling to the northeast Pennsylvania area the Econo Lodge Arena om Wilkes-Barre, Pa. I have been staying at this location an average of twice per year for the past seven plus years when traveling from central Florida to Wilkes-Barre area to spend time with my kids. From the very first stay I was not only impressed at the value for my money but with each and every aspect of this location. I have continued to recieve what I feel is the best VIP treatment possible on each of my stays. The entire staff of the hotel (no exceptions) treat you like family and consistently go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is pleasant and relaxing. The hotel facility itself exceeds ones expectations from security to even the menu on the continental breakfast offered daily 365 days per year. I am also pleased that the employee retention at this location is what I have to believe is well above average as the majority of the faces I see on my visits have been there as long or longer than I have been coming there. I genuinely feel that this has become my "vacation Home" and that the staff are more than employees, almost "family". Do not waste your time shopping the competition as this location is truly in a league of its own! Bruce Hitt- Lakeland,Fl.

Room Tip: Rooms one either end of the building are great if you enjoy private access to the building via exter...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#12 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $54 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing