We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, great staff, pet friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Clean, great staff, pet friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

One should not expect much from a budget motel, but this one delivered on cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. Pet friendly, and for that we recommend it to those of you traveling with pets. A good accessible location right off of I81.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, General Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedule to offer potential visitors your personal comments about the hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.


Carol Plevick
AGM/DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    141
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
94
128
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Clean room. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was the usual continental breakfast but was very good and well stocked.
Minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena and several restaurants. I got 10% off my bill at Ruby Tuesday by showing my keycard (Manager told me about that.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Paula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Regards,
Carol Plevick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed our visit last time so we tried it again! One year later and it was still a very pleasant place to stay. We used our points and got a free room and didn't know what they would give us but they gave us a very nice room in a super quick part of the hotel on the 3rd floor away from the elevator. It was considered a suite and we had a couch and chair and also refri and microwave. Everything was clean and we had enough towels for 6 people! Breakfast was okay. It was clean. There was an older lady keeping everything filled. There were basic things like hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, waffles, cereal and beverages. (The only maddening part in the dining room was another guest who apparently thought free breakfast means free lunch and dinner too as she went to her car and got a cooler and large coffee thermos and she filled her cooler with yogurts and other foods..not just one or two but at least 4 or more! Then she emptied out the coffee pot. It was so greedy! She even had the nerve to tell another guest to hurry up and take some food before the dining room lady hollered at him for taking too much food! Apparently this guest had done this before. I wish the hotel help had caught her doing this.) But besides this one guest, everything else went well and we enjoyed our visit. We would go back again.

Room Tip: A nice Perkin's restaurant is in the parking lot and it has excellent food and desserts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myajenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
We consider our guests feedback, whether positive or negative, an important tool to maintain our award winning status.
Hope your next visit is even better....

Kindest Regards,
Carol Plevick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

After all these years, I still cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I won't repeat here, but I will add some comments. It is STILL the same people serving up the same quality work in all aspects with even more improvements. There's a lot to be said when there is no employee turnover from housekeeping to management. Mattresses and extra pillows in the closet are encased in bedbug-free casing. There were fresh flowers on every table in the breakfast room - what a great touch! Free Wi-Fi even. I do want to add that I found two new restaurants that might interest repeat travelers or those staying more than one night that are not partial to chain restaurants. Haystacks is 2 minutes on the same street and is good family fare at very reasonable prices especially good for breakfast and lunch. For dinner, an unexpected find on Main Street (very close and easy to get to and also reasonable) is an Asian joint called Akeno Sushi - incredibly fresh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiphosuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really nice place to stay. I never have a problem. My go to place when I vistit Nanticoke. Close to everything. A lot of great place's to eat. The deli on Blackman st is really really good! TGI Fridays is a nice place among other local bars.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room is nice, unless you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Econo Lodge Arena twice within one month. Both times were really pleasant. In comparison to other hotels in the same area, it is cheaper and offers accomodations that are as clean and pleasant as others. The registration was easy. The members of staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were quite good considering they were included in the price. The departure was also without a glitch.
The restaurant recommendations for dinner was also very good.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a reasonable room for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton Ga
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here while going to a family funeral, and the folks were all very nice here, as well as being very efficient, and quick. The room was very nice, clean, and no overly cloying smell like some other properties. The housekeeping staff was courteous, and did a great job,with a few exceptions. Breakfast was very nice, and kept stocked well.Check in was quick and efficient.

Yes, I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaproth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#15 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Property: EconoLodge Arena
Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing