We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Choice Hotel Property”
Review of EconoLodge Arena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
EconoLodge Arena
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Like many other travelers, I've had a terrible time over the years finding a place to stay in the Scranton area while driving south for the winter months. My requirements do not seem unreasonable: 1. Pet friendly, willing to pay a fair fee; 2. Close to the interstate; 3. CLEAN; 4. CLEAN; and 5. comfortable beds. It is very, very difficult to find decent lodging using this criteria. So, as usual when confronted with a travel dilemma, I turned to Trip Advisor and came up with this establishment. This is a first rate, economy style hotel, with excellent staffing who appear to have worked here for some time, very efficient housekeeping staff (again, also seemed to have worked there for a while), the bathroom had an excellent shower and good towels. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. All this and pet friendly, too with a pet fee of only $10. And the room was as clean as a whistle. They even have postcards at the front desk, and as a user of the United Stated Postal Service I was glad to be able to buy and send half a dozen of them. The hotel could use a bit of an update: bed linens could be a teensy bit nicer, flooring could use a redo, but all in all, an excellent value. It's good to have located a dependable stopover heading north and south along I81. Will definitely return, nice to have Trip Advisor to rely on.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 385 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Anyone who is traveling through the Wilkes-Barre area or who is staying in the area for a bit would be hard pressed to find a more decent place at less of a price. We travel to this area from upstate NY several times a year in order to go to the Mohegan Sun. We stay on average 4 to 5 nights a year at this hotel. Each and everytime our room was very clean, the linens crisp and fresh, the beds comfortable. The AC/or heat depending on season is perfect. They keep the grounds clean and are pet friendly. The staff are always very friendly and have always accommodated our request for an early check in if required. This past weekend a huge snow storm was looming and we wanted to beat the storm and asked for early check in and they were more than delighted. Our room that was labeled as NONsmoking did however have a strong scent of cigarette smoke in the bathroom. This is NOT the fault of the hotel and they cannot control what customers do even though it is clearly marked and IF caught the hotel will charge a nice hefty fee for breaking the rules. But again a minor issue. We travel with Lysol anyway. We feel safe there and we feel safe to leave our pet for a short while if we are shopping, etc. Something we are very very picky about. There are plenty of hotels in the area but if you want a nice and clean, safe feeling hotel that won't break the bank the Econolodge is an excellent choice, I think because of the moderate pricing workers do stay at this hotel but they are very very quiet and well behaved. We have always had a very peacful stay. You can hear a pin drop at night even at full occupancy. Thank you Carolyn for always trying to accommodate a request we have had from time to time!

Room Tip: Parking can be tight but there always seems to be room for everyone, even if you have to squeeze in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitcaseannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Easy to find off I-81. Could use more parking! Rooms small but adequate. Continental Breakfast okay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed here when I got fed up with the Quality Inn. (Avoid that one and see my review if you have any questions as to why)
I actually burned about 150,000 reward points and stayed here almost 20 nights on points and paid the other 10 while I was working in the area.
It is hands down the best Econo Lodge I have seen anywhere. Saying that it is still an Econo Lodge. I know some will say "You cant dress up a pig" but they come pretty darn close here.
The staff is exceptional, which is the first thing I noticed. At a lot of the lower end hotels the staff is unattentive, unfriendly, rude, etc. Not here, they were always friendly with the guests and very personable.
I never had any major issues but they were always very accomodating for me if I needed to have a late checkout as long as I let them know.
The hotel proudly shows there Choice Hotels Platinum awards which are well deserved.
The breakfast is modest, but they always have hot coffee all day.
The rooms are clean but nothing special. The beds are comfortable enough for a nights sleep. I would recomend this place to anyone needing basic lodging.
The area is safe and does not get the creepy people walking around like some if the hotels down the road.
Another bonus is you can walk to Perkins and Taco Bell next door. ( I like Taco Bell quite a bit)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stallion114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

OK, we didn't need to be near the Arena. Good thing we knew exactly where it was because that location was the only thing going for it! Although they had signs indicating there was a major water break, the hallways looked like they had been torn apart by an excavation team. The price of the room did not reflect this, but really should have been lowered. The room had a damp odor from the time we entered, but was alleviated somewhat by the bathroom fan and the air conditioner, both of which were annoying to leave on all night. The thinning towels always felt damp and rough at the same time. On a positive note, the beds were comfortable. The unappetizing breakfast was for people who don't really enjoy breakfast: 2 kinds of juice, coffee, boring bagels, overly sweetened yoghurt, pre-made waffles and green-yolked hard boiled eggs. On the upside, the room had an ironing board, iron, coffee pot and free internet access, and the front desk person was friendly upon check in. However, the check in person was not able to find our names on the guest list when my sister tried to call, but at least she told us that when we were checking out. Next time we will spend the extra few bucks and stay next door!

Room Tip: Might be OK for one night, but no more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeArena, Manager at EconoLodge Arena, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Please accept our sincerest apology for the condition of the hotel during your
visit.
As you mentioned in your review, the hotel had a major water break made worse by
the fact that it was during the Nascar race. The entire hotel was sold out as
well as every hotel in the area. Our attempts to find other accomodations for
our guests was futile.
All we could do is apologize.
You are 100% correct...it truly looked like a war-zone.
We would love to make it up to you. Please call or email the hotel and we will do our very best to "make it right"!
Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotels general condition and cleanliness, given that is was a 'budget' hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepinNTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed overnight when we dropped the kids off at college. Staff was very nice and check in was quick. Room was very large and they upgraded us to a suite without additional charge. The suite had a microwave, vanity with sink, dorm size refrigerator and a king size bed. The rug was clean and the bathroom, including the full size tub that was spotless. Older type tv and Formica counters were mauve, straight out of the 80's and could be updated. The hotel shares a parking lot with Comfort Inn and Perkins which was very good and very convenient. The hotel also has a hospitality room that has coffee and tea 24/7. They also offer a very good continental breakfast. Waffles, bagels and bread to toast, also two kinds of juices, two types of cereal, and yogurt. This hotel is also several miles from the Mohegan Sun Casino. When we asked the hotel desk for directions they provided us with a map and two coupons for $10 worth of free slot play. This was a great place to stay for a very reasonable price and we will be back with our dog the next time we visit the area, as they do accept dogs for a small charge of $10, plus a refundable deposit.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTravelTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#14 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#12 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Arena

Address: 1075 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, Sr 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#7 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $56 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the foot of the Poconos off Interstate 81, the hotel is minutes from the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza. PNC Park, Steam Town National Historic Site and the FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts. Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs is just five miles away, featuring casino gambling and live harness racing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your EconoLodge Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Arena Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Econo Lodge Wilkes Barre
Econolodge Wilkes Barre
Wilkes-Barre Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing