We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cafe an American Bistro

The Cafe an American Bistro
Ranked #23 of 275 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have eaten here several times as well as hosted private events utilizing their catering services. The food is always good. They are very easy to work with when planning a private event. We used the room adjacent to the bar that holds 75-80 people. There is also a smaller room available. The catering menu has a nice array of choices and special requests were easily accommodated. Prices are reasonable. The entire property is very clean. There is plenty of parking. It is a nice alternative to the nearby casino restaurants or the same old chain restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Comfy Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My family has been eating here since this location opened. Lunch, Dinner, Private Functions, and Catered Meals, we have done it all here.
Over the last several years many menu items were added, removed or tweaked for improvements. The portions are adequate and I find that there is something for everybody. The restaurant has a warm ambience at night and I enjoy stopping in the evening for a light bite and a drink at the bar.
The staff is warm and I find quite often a conversation comes quite easily with other patrons sitting at the bar. I encourage all to give it a shot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glad we found this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a long day of travel, my colleagues and I stumbled across this terrific restaurant! Right off route 315, this place has excellent food (ask for the filet with the gorgonzola on top!) and many homemade desserts. It was great to be able to have a conversation across the table without loud music or a noisy atmosphere. Quite a nice wine list as well. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nobaggagebetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDawe, Guest Relations Manager at The Cafe an American Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Betty, Thank you very much for your positive review of our restaurant. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our visit on 12/7 proved very disappointing, and we never had an opportunity to even order. We arrived to find a very curt attendant who made it very clear to us that she was too busy to be bothered with new customers who did not know the "routine" of the house. We were in the area to do some business, where they referred us to the Cafe for a nice lunch. There was only one table there when we arrived, yet it was obvious she did not want to take any time to answer our questions. We decided to be seated, then go back to place our order. All of the glass -topped tables appeared to have been wiped with a greasy scrub rag....her retort to this....we just came in, you know. We finally decided to leave, and I made it very clear to this person that I would make every effort to contact the owner to let them know of her actions. I was also very embarrassed for the business who gave a high recommendation. I told them they may not want to refer their customers to the Cafe...it makes them look bad.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryRoadGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDawe, Guest Relations Manager at The Cafe an American Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I was saddened to read your review. Know that we are not known for bad service, and will be sure to look into this. Would you please contact us at 570-821-5900 and ask to speak with Jeff or e-mail us at info@thecafe315.com with the name (if you recall) of the person who you had the negative interaction with?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forty Fort, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MSAsafetyman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I just attended a meeting at The Cafe and the service and the food was so good, we booked our next two meetings there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MSAsafetyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe an American Bistro also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to The Cafe an American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing