We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not tell me that it was a construction site!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh area
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Did not tell me that it was a construction site!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked a room at this hotel for a getaway weekend which included a Wilkes-Barre Penguins game. When we arrived, we encountered various construction vehicles in the parking lot. In the lobby there was a large display announcing the remodeling program they were in the mist of (apparently they will also be re-branded). The sketches of the new rooms looked rather nice but unfortunately the room we got was a "before" one. The furniture was beat-up and the bed had a crater in the middle. To add insult to injury, the window was blocked off with heavy plastic for our "safety & privacy" during the construction. I guess the workers had been looking into the guest rooms from outside. If I had not been tired from the trip and since it was late (we went to the hockey game before checking in), we did not complain or ask for a different room. The next morning the free buffet breakfast was adequate but I would not have paid for it otherwise. The bottom line is that we should had been informed of the construction beforehand and the hotel should have given a discount for the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeler_Pens_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    162
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
181
196
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilke-barre, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great hotel at a great price. the kids loved the big pool that they have here. Also the fitness room and computer business area. I would recommend staying with them. The room was not as clean as I thought it would be, though. Also there was no maid listed on the envelope on the table in the room to know who waited on this room. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is currently being remodeled but it did not affect our stay. We had a King Suite with a balcony. Even in winter, the view is awesome. The suite is roomy and gave the kids an area to hang out and mom and dad some privacy too! The pool is large, has a 12 person hot tub and a very nice sauna. Breakfast was typical but the Sunday Brunch is a must! Plenty of shopping, dining, malls, cinemas, and skiing in the area (Wilkes-Barre, Montage, & Scranton. Very easy access on/off I81. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Quackers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Co., NJ
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Been a while since first reviewed East Mtn. Inn; Its first selling point remains- location central to the Wyoming Valley. We (father/son) hit bonuses with our two rooms. Upgrade for more space and appliances surprisingly yielded two room suites (with super quiet HVAC).

Part of the exterior was sheathed in plastic for remodeling as part of transition to new management and redecoration- this may have given us the suites. We were not at all disturbed by the work going on.

Wildflowers (luncheon) and The Bistro (evening) offer some lighter, heart-healthy fare which help reduce the sodden feeling of eaten too heavily when travelling.

It was again pleasing to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage_and_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackney, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great hotel....good value for the money. Breakfast included was great. Only downfall is the room smelled like smoke, even though it was a smoke free room. We also got a handicapped room and did not ask for one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank richardhN7753US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Everything was very clean and nice. Great hotel stay during a basketball tournament. We loved the two room suite for just a small extra fee. The breakfast buffet is great! Loved it! It sits atop a hill with a nice view of the valley.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were happy to arrive at this lovely hotel after a long drive through the snow. It is beautiful, and our suite was excellent. French doors separate the bedroom from the living room/kitchen. Everything was lovely, from the carpet and art to the linens and towels. A free breakfast was included; French toast casserole, sausage links, scrambled eggs, and home fries were great. The lobby and restaurant were cute and inviting. Although construction is underway, it did not interfere with our experience at all. There is covered scaffolding on the hotel's exterior. Our room was not in an area where work was underway. We didn't have time for the bistro, fitness center, or pool, but they looked very nice. The computer center was convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: 4th floor was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
664 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing