We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My favorite part about staying at this hotel was the pool/whirlpool. It was was amazing...not crowded at all, there was even a lifeguard on duty. There is also a very nice sauna. The AC in our room was really cool, the room was spacious and clean. The hotel's location was excellent, drive up onto a hill - few mins from restaurants and shops in wilkes-barre and about 20 mins from the pocono race track. The included breakfast buffet was nice, variety of choices - eggs, sausage or bacon, hash browns, fruit, cereal, yogurt, danish, juices/coffee.

The staff were okay - checking in the person wasn't overly friendly and the night staff seemed a little annoyed when I requested another blanket (the blankets are kind of thin) and took almost 40 mins to have one brought up. Other than that everything was great, I would stay here again and recommend it to others looking for a place to stay in Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbles284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear "Bubbles284"
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Though we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities of the hotel, we were disappointed that our typical friendly service was lacking. We will be sure to review your feedback with our team to provide better training and an improved experience for our guests in the future.

We hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 569 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Most of staff helpful very nice hotel but didn't clean room for 2nd day, before 3pm. and eggs seemed not as warm as should be. breakfast started about 10 min late that day. When checking out , Had to wait and extra fifteen min. to convert bill to points, even though I stressed that at arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear "William S",
I was very sorry to read your feedback and learn of the concerns you expressed. Thank you for sharing your experience, as this will allow us to provide some additional training and implement procedures to avoid these issues in the future.

My apologies that your room was not serviced before 3PM. Though we do our best to service stay-overs early in the day, we try to balance them with our arrivals with a 3:00 check in time and are not always able to provide service early in the day.

We are hopeful that you will try us again during your next visit to the Wilkes Barre area.
Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Awesome room IF you don't need air conditioner. Rooms were clean and large. 4th floor offered a great view. When we got settled we turned on the air conditioner and the musty smell was overwhelming. Tried just fan with same results. Fortunately window opened 4" and it was a cool evening so we at least had some

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaddy4695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear "BigDaddy4695",
Thank you for being our guest for your recent stay. I was sorry to hear about your issue with the Air conditioner but will do some research to determine and resolve the issue. It is disappointing that we did not identify the issue before your arrival and assign you a different room.

We are hopeful that you will stay with us again for your future visits to the area.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean, courteous, easy in/out. A very nice experience, great value., especially with breakfast included. Ours was a family gathering, so many rooms were taken, all found the experience to be a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear "Mary O",
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We were happy to hear that you and your group enjoyed your experience.

We hope to see you and your family for a repeat gathering in the near future.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I wanted to stay an extra day, (had been there 7 nights) it was a special event weekend race at Pocono. They fill up at a premium rate, they were able to accommodate me and keep me in my same room at the same rate i was paying. Great friendly customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear "Robert S"
On behalf of the East Mountain Inn, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for your recent stay.

I was happy to learn that our staff made arrangements to accomodate your request to extend. We pride ourselves on high levels of customer service and are pleased to hear about our successes.

We hope to be your host again soon.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We will recommend a stay at the East Mountain Best Western. Staff was quite helpful; room was very clean. Hotel is lovely. Only thumb down was the way the bed pillows were all punched up to make a sort of ball, instead of the usual flat pillow. Pulling the pillows out for sleeping, we found them to be a bit lumpy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the east Mountain inn, I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found your room accommodations clean and staff helpful.

Thank you for the feedback on the pillows. We will review your comments with the housekeeping department to make improvements in the bedding.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room was dated, clearly hadn't been updated in a while. The gym was nice, indoor pool also nice. Breakfast was not so good but nice that they offer it. I would stay again everything considered especially for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear "T B",
Thank you for selecting us for your recent stay. We are happy to learn that you found the staff friendly and accommodations clean, though we hope to improve your experience on your next stay.

Though half of the hotel rooms have been renovated, we have plans to complete the remaining rooms in the coming months. We are hopeful you will visit us again to experience a stay in the newly remodeled rooms in the future.

Please feel free to contact me if I can provide any additional assistance.

Sincerely,
Angela Alfonso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
950 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
694 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $99 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing