We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the second year that I have stayed at BW East Mountain during the Christmas holidays. This property gives a magnificent view of the adjacent mountains and the Susquehanna Valley below and this hotel is well maintained by a dedicated staff of professionals.

The rooms are large and kept impeccably clean. While the interior design focuses on rust and brown colors which tends to make it dark, it is well appointed with a large work space and a lounge chair in the king room that I was given.

An incredible addition to your stay is the complimentary hot breakfast that is served daily. A selection of hot entrees, cereals, juices, and pastries comes with your room. It is kept stocked and is always good.

Finally, extra kudos to the contracted plow that did his best to keep the property safe during the snow on 12/29. The steep driveway and the parking lot were being maintained excellently despite the unrelenting snowfall. The morning brought a parking lot that was free of snow and well salted.

If you are a gambler, the shuttle will whisk you off the Mohican Sun Casino and pick you up.

Excellent property and staff. Bravo for a job well done!

Room Tip: If you are new to the Valley - ask for a room overlooking the Valley rather than the back mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your stay with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
We will share your valued feedback with our staff and management. They will appreciate
the positive feedback.

We hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JOE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I will be retiring in early January, 2013 and would be remiss in not adding a review of this outstanding property. I was in charge of a travel team for a manufacturing company, with a satellite operation both in Mountaintop and Hanover, near the East Mountain Inn. I made 116 trips to the Wilkes-Barre area (having just counted my trip reports), spanning 8-1/2 years, and we stayed at the EMI every time. The staff at the EMI became friends (almost family) and I cannot remember one instance where we had any sort of major problem - - - smaller problems were immediately addressed, and all our stays were both relaxing and enjoyable. The EMI has the largest indoor pool that I have ever seen in, or around, any other hotel, the staff is welcoming and personable, and everything you need is right on the property. Wildflowers and The Sunset Grill (remember Trader Jim's?) are great places for food and cocktails, and gas stations and convenience stores are very close by the property. Don't take a chance when in the Wilkes-Barre / Scranton area. Stay at the East Mountain Inn & Suites - - - you will not be disappointed....I never was!!!
Henry S. Blake
Vice President - Manufacturing
COMARK Communications LLC

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doc612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to take your online review regarding your stay with us.

We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with our facility and hospitality for
so many years. We value your review and will share it with our staff and management.

Hope you come back again soon.

Happy Holidays!
Mandy L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

For me with children grown and spred out over the U.S. What to do for Christmas?I decided that a trip to Mohican Sun Casino in Wilkes-Barre would be it.I stayed at this hotel and it was Awesum.. the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast on Christmas eve was Excellant and to come back from the Casino and be given a Turkey sandwich with pasta salad.Way above what one would expect. If you stay in Wilkes-Barre, PA ..this is THE place to stay!!

Room Tip: there Suites are the best.Because of my age and disabilites I dont sleep in a bed ..I slept very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us for the Christmas.
Getting a good night sleep is always a good thing when away from home.

We hope you come back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mandy L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Booked the casino package and couldn't be happier. Rooms were large with updated amenities and decor. Food for breakfast and lunch was above average and reasonably priced. Enjoyed the pool, sauna and spa. The gym has state of the art treadmills that are media integrated. The staff was courteous and efficient. This is THE place to stay in the 570.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Egl367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to take your online review regarding your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality. We do value your oppinion
greatly. We will share your feedback with our staff and management.

We also hope you hit it big at the casino and come back again.

Kind Regards,
Mandy L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is magnificent!!!! It is where our family stays when we are visiting our son at Penn State Wilkes-Barre. We always have the Deluxe King Suite. The hot buffet breakfast is a good bonus and it being free isn't bad either. The beds are comfortable. everything is right at your finger tips, the mall, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to take your online review regarding your stay with us.

We are so pleased you enjoy our hospitality and we value our wonderful guests that keep coming back.
Please come back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Mandy L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
947 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
693 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $99 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing