We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise: Plus is the right name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise: Plus is the right name”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Best Western Plus was utterly hospitable. Room up to snuff as usual. The bistro bartender, John, helped us find a great restaurant nearby, Pazzo's. The mountain setting was serene and the hot breakfast buffet was tasty and correctly served. The server followed old fashioned but still correct high etiquette by serving from the left and removing from the right. When was the last time you ate someplace where the servers even seemed aware of this nicety? I don't think we could have asked for a more knowledgeable, helpful, correct staff. Next time in Wilkes Barre we know where we will stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side from the parking lot. Views are lush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWHCanton_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at
the Best Western Plus-East Mountain Inn & Suites.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate your valued
feedback. I will let the staff know how pleased you were with their service.

Again, thank you and we hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    162
    40
    19
    10
See reviews for
181
196
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Initial check in was fast and efficient. Lobby area was neat and clean. Breakfast/dining area was open to the lobby and would have been better if it were somehow enclosed. Room was not very spacious. Bed was comfortable, but sheets were not very good quality. TV was small and outdated(CRT) and remote was difficult to use. The heating unit was hard to regulate and was very loud. Door to room did not close properly and we had to ensure that it was closed whenever we left the room. The hotel can be difficult to find, so make sure you've done some research on the loaction. On a positive note, the breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThadZab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have incurred while staying with us.
We are in the process of renovations through out the entire hotel.
We ususally get great feed back on our open airy lobby and restaraunt areas.
If you could let us know what room you stayed in while here, we can have the door checked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This East Mountain Inn Best Western was perfect for an overnighter on our way down to the Smokies. Our sixth floor room was clean and had a beautiful view. Rocking chairs near elevator to relax and look at mountain view is a nice touch. Food in Wildflowers restaurant was excellent, well priced and service excellent. Breakfast buffet was very good, although service was spotty trying to get more coffee. Other personnel cordial. Would stay again, no problem.

Room Tip: Higher floor, mountain view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowsporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Sales Executive at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel for your stay.
We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was your average budget quality hotel. It was clean in appearance but lacking the contemporary and stylish appointments of newer hotels.

We stayed in a renovated room which was OK although the bed linens were on the cheap side. The bathroom was in need of a makeover. It had the old style counter top with the huge mirror affixed to the wall, drop ceiling with rust on the tracks and a bottle open mounted on the door frame.

The common areas were decent. The check-in desk area is a bit dated. The indoor pool area was large and clean. They also have a complimentary breakfast buffet in the lobby restaurant.

If I return to the area I would look to spend a little more to stay one of the other chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are in the process of updating our facility and have been for about a year now. We have just become a Best Western PLUS and we are continuing to upgrade. We are waiting for all new linens to be put in all our rooms for November of this year. We do get many reviews about how clean the hotel is. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and breakfast and we hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a return visit for us to this hotel. We were here last year, before a huge renovation. At that time, we were very pleased with this hotel. It got better! A complete renovation of the rooms has improved the quality of the stay. The Bistro offered great food for a reasonable price. Breakfast was good, and plentiful. Beautiful grounds add to the experience. Stay here! You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a "valley view" room for a beautiful view of the Wyoming Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabevirginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for continuing to come and see us and your great review. We hope you will come again soon. We appreciate our valued guests and we will continue to make your stay pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a first class hotel, clean comfortable rooms, a nice restaurant and a good full complimentry breakfast ---- if you can find it!
If you try to find 2400 East End Boulevard you wind up in the parking lot of the V A Hospital over 5 miles from the property! After driving up and down Mundy Street (my GPS kept telling me to reverse directions) I finally called the hotel. The reply was "Oh, you need our GPS address". That turns out to be 600 Wildflower Drive.
How a business can have one street address for mail and another for business is beyond me. If you go to AAA (as I do), TripAdvisor etc. you are given the East End Boulevard address.
When I asked the desk clerk to explain how USPS, FedEx, and UPS find them using the East End address her reply was "Oh, they just know where we are".
Well, they may know but my wife and I couldn't figure it out. I told the desk clerk I would have been livid if this had occurred in the winter in a snowstorm.
It is inexcusable that you have an address listed for this property that does not exist!
Once again, this is a great hotel if you can find it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHotelCorp, at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you had with finding our hotel. We have been in the process of getting the address changed on all channels due to similar situations, which is unfortunately a lengthy process at times for some of them.

We are glad that you did enjoy your stay once you found us and hope that you will stay at our hotel again. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we are working diligently to get our address changed as quickly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nothing major - was a good room. Odd mixture of smoking and non-smoking on the same floor, so the halls smelled of smoke, but our room was OK.

Nice big bathroom, 4 towels - liked that, hate when only two towels. Bed and linens were a bit dated/worn.

Tried calling down for a wake-up call and no answer - went downstairs and phones were ringing and front desk staff was nowhere to be found.

Breakfast buffet was better than I expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwfdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
905 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing