We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Found a coupon for this hotel and decided the rate made it worth a try. It was great. Lovely large room with excellent bathroom layout. Clean and comfortable. Dinner at the Sunset Grill was very tasty and our buffet breakfast (included with room) was delightful-real linens, glassware and cutlery on the tables. Full array of breakfast items hot and cold provided. Access to and from hotel was very easy off I-81. Will stay here whenever in Wilkes Barre in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers on more scenic side of mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHotelCorp, Jilly Harris, E-Commerce Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful testimonial. On behalf of the staff at East Mountain Inn & Suites, we are glad you had the opportunity to stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    161
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
180
195
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a very nice hotel that looks like it has had some recent updating. When we checked in, the employee at the desk (Charlie) was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast in the morning was good. A sign directing people to the pool would be nice, although the staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MJayhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and acknowledge our staff. Yes we have renovated our whole fiest floor. Thank you for noticing. Charlie is one of our best employee for customer service. He will be so happy to see this review. I hope you can stay with us again in the future. Sylvia Decker, Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Co., NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I travel for personal pleasure. The Best Western Plus East Mountain has been home base for several trips as I visited and photographed homes, schools churches cemeteries and historic places- family sites from Scranton to Berwick. East Mountain Is in the center, very close to routes I-81, I-476, 309, 115 and 11. It is a pleasure to return to the Inn and get a relaxing deliciousmeal- morning, noon and evening, I have enjoyed the evening lights across the valley; I have watched snow transforming the view.

Room Tip: Being able to schedule for a three-day promotional rate is a strong plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage_and_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Glad to hear you have enjoyed your past stays here with us. It has been our pleasure. Yes we are very close to all major highways. Right off I-81, Route 115 and the PA turnpike 476 is right up the road. You are right about the views. The view from one of our top floors when the snow has just fallen is amazing. Thank you!! Sylvia Decker, Best Western East Mountain Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

All positive attributes of this hotel were overshadowed by the uncomfortable beds. If you can get over that, the hotel is a good, clen, no frills property. Good for our overnight stay on the way down to va.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrenwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't like our mattresses. Most of our rooms do have new pillow top mattresses. Thank you again!! Sylvia Decker, Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed one night and for the most part I enjoyed my stay, especially for the great rate that I was quoted. The room was large and clean. There was a very faint smell of I think it was mold that I smelled when the room heated up at night. It wasnt enought to really bother me or for me to complain. The hotel's free buffet was enjoyable. Check in was quick and efficient. Finding the place was very difficult. After typing in the hotel address in my gps I ended up in a residential area. I went to the hotel website and an address for gps devices was listed and I was only 2 miles away. I should have looked at the website carefully. My only complaint was the size of the bath towels. They were closer to the size of a hand towel. Other than that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Regarding the smell of the heater. The winter is our slower time so all the rooms don't get used as often. This maybe why the smell accrued. We will be renovating more rooms soon in the fall/winter. We would have gladly moved you to a different room if you had wished. Yes we do have a problem with our address for GPS. Our mailing address of 2400 East End Blvd. doesn't work in most GPS machines. 600 Wildflower Dr. Wilkes-Barre PA 18702 will get you to us. We are trying to get this problem resolved but have been having some issues. Sorry you had a problem finding us. We are working on it. Sylvia Decker, Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn & Suites in the Wilkes-Barre area was a perfect stop for an overnight stay. Atop a hill, the hotel was easily accessible from T. It was located within three minutes of the Mohegan Sun Arena and within five minutes of the Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs. It had a very nice indoor pool and jacuzzi area that opened early (6am) and closed late (10pm). The hotel had a hot breakfast buffet, another plus. The bed was clean and firm, the room was well lit with ample lighting sources for reading. The lobby was spacious and the desk attendant was extremely friendly and helpful. My only two complaints; a toilet bowl whose seat cover refused to stay up (a menace to us guys) and the remote for the TV was missing. Otherwise, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are sorry about the seat not staying up and the remote missing. I will speak to my maintenance and housekeeping managers about these two issues. Thank you, Sylvia Decker, Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I enjoyed my stay 2 weeks ago and will stay again. Friendly service, clean beds, excellent breakfast buffet, and quiet rooms. Not the biggest on Best Western, but this one sure knows how to do hospitality the right way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaD41, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Wow!!!!! Thank you so much for the kind words. I hope you will stay with us again soon. Thanks again........Sylvia Decker, Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
655 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing