We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberling City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Though the address provided on the Internet - and even on the reservation confirmation is WRONG (making it difficult to find!) the facility itself was terrific and we enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was good, too. Definitely a place we would stay again if we get back to this area!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    151
    36
    19
    10
See reviews for
174
185
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande, New Jersey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I spend 3 or 4 days at a time working at the Pocono Downs casino several times a year, and I have been gradually excluded from several decent hotels in the area as they go totally non-smoking. I tried the Best Western on a recommendation from a friend, and not only do they still have smoking rooms, but all the amenities I require...good wireless internet, room service, a very friendly lounge, clean spacious rooms for work, and a pleasant helpful staff. The hotel is a little hard to get into (if you come in any way but from route 115 you have to drive through an apartment complex), but the route is well marked. This is going to be my new base of operations in Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Absolutely the most pleasant hotel in the Scranton Wilkes Barre area. Clean and spacious. Awesome views of the valley from most of the rooms. Very fresh, albeit simple, free buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff.
Easy parking. Easy entryway/
I thought the place was brand new. Then I found out it was about 15-20 years old. Thats tells you how well they maintain it.
Will plan to stay there whenever i travel in that region. This place somehow has only a 2 1/2 star rating - the same as others which are much dingier and nasty. This place deserves at least a 3 star rating if not more.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the valley (West ) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lampdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona,NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

this probably will never happen to you but-my father was rushed to geisinger hosp and my wife and i went there from nj about 2 1-2 hrs away in a snow storm we checked into this hotel -it is next door to the hosp -at about 7 pm after a long and stressful day looking for a good nights rest. we were awoken to fire alarms at 5 am-a call to the front desk said sorry for the inconvienence but there was a fire in the 1st fl laundry rm but it is ok now-but the fire alarm kept going off and the hallway was full of smoke.we had to leave the hotel-with no shower and no breakfast-we left our cell # WITH THE DESK AND AFTER NO RESPONSE ALL DAY WE RETURNED TO FIND THAT ALL OF THE GUESTS HAD BEEN CHECKED OUT-OUR BILL WAS REDUCED FROM 105 TO 65 WE WERE INFORMED THAT IT WAS OUT OF THEIR CONTROL AND THAT IT WAS THE BEST THEY COULD DO WELL IT IS IN MY CONTROL NEVER TO STAY AT A BEST WESTERN HOTEL AGAIN AND TO INFORM ALL OF MY FRIENDS

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRUHNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHotelCorp, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for expressing your concerns about how we handled the situation with the dryer fire. We understand how trying a situation such as that could be, especially under the circumstances in which you were staying with us. We regret and sincerely apologize that we did not meet your needs during your stay with us.

In consideration of your concerns, I have spoken with the manager and front desk personnel on duty at the time of your stay to address the situation where you did not receive a call. We apologize for any inconvenience you dealt with during your stay. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future. It is our goal to provide our very best to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

stayed new years eve to take advantage of shuttle to Mohegan Sun Casino.........mistake! kids every where; in the elevator running around the hall When we decided to take the shuttle..that run every half hour according to our check in gal; we wait 20 minutes for the 530 shuttle.....at 5:40 and no shuttle, we went to the desk they made a call and the cleaning lady came to the lobby...cart in hand...dropped the cart then drove the van! now that's multitasking! Came back to the hotel at 11:30...the bar was closed! (guess the kids were tired) Morning buffet ...included in our $180 per nite room.....but we couldn't get any where near the buffet due to the lines...of ....you guessed it....more kids! . Bed was hard as a rock; but the room was clean and the views were nice...........but we'll look for something else in the area next time we stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaM_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We got an absolute great deal on Priceline. Lauren who was at the front desk was able to give us an oversized king room since we were staying so long and we truly appreciated it. Would recommend staying here if you get a good deal. The lobby was very pretty , pool area nice and big, and the staff extremely friendly. Only problem we had was with housekeeping. They should have a check list of what needs to be replaced in the room. One day we asked for extra towels and received NO towels. The next day no coffee. The next day no coffee cups. IThis was even after leaving a tip for them each day!) Of course, we were able to find someone in the hallway to provide the missing items. The breakfast buffet was ok but the food a little cold. I highly suggest that you order off the menu and get a nice hot cooked meal. They credit your bill for $8 if you don't use the buffet, so it only ended up costing $2 more. Would stay again the next time we are in Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freeway12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Easy access from Hwy 81 and surrounded by beautiful grounds and large parking area.
For the price with a discount coupon, you could not ask for more given that a hot breakfast was included in the price. We enjoyed the restaurant area for breakfast with very good food and service.
The reception was very friendly and to the point.
The room was a large king with an oversize bathroom. Very clean however my wife did not like the dark colors of the room... need refreshing.
I would highly recommend this hotel specially if you can get a discounted price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Property: Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Address: 600 Wildflower Dr, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-7928 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing