We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown location; dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Downtown location; dog friendly”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place was fine for a night and an option different than the off-the-highway mall world hotels. The desk clerk directed us to a nearby restaurant we could walk to which was fine. Later we got a bit creeped out walking the dogs outside of the hotel grounds. The pretty little park has become the homeless hangout and we were approached. The outside pool area of the hotel had queen sized beds to hang out on but we didn't because the sheets looked rumpled and unkempt. Who was to stop the entire city from hanging out and doing whatever on those beds? There were no gates or locks, just opened right on to downtown sidewalks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    184
    50
    28
    10
See reviews for
242
224
55
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
kingston, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at this best western for a convention and we also made it a get away for My husband and I. I couldnt of asked for a cleaner room . Employees were very polite and housekeeping was wonderful. I must say for the first time in along time. I enjoyed every minute of my stay at this Best western.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This establishment is a little bit of a time warp but I could fault nothing.
Check-in was very efficient and the receptionist lady was very friendly and helpful. Car parking is through a boom gate to the rear car-park and there was excellent parking with easy access to the lobby.
We had room on third floor and there are 2 elevators and never had to wait for them.
Room was nicely laid out,clean and comfortable. Everything worked perfectly in the room.
Hotel is quiet and we had a great night's sleep.
Internet Wi-Fi was excellent.
Breakfast is in the restaurant and the decor is a little surreal since it is also used for wedding receptions - lots of brass railings, statues, piano etc. Breakfast was really first class. Real china crockery and stainless steel cutlery sets of the nice selection of cereals and hot foods which included thick slices of gammon ham.
This is a well run hotel and it is nice to stay somewhere where everything works faultlessly and proceeds according to plan.
I would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending the motel to other people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Syracuse, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

OMG Simone A @ the front desk was like a guardian angel in my time of need. She gave me a great room at a great rate and a lot of encouraging words that gave me peace of mind through the night. This woman is a true gem at this property.
This property is very nice. The rooms are wonderful and very clean. It is also in a very nice area of the city. Wonderful job Mr. Genetti. Give Simone a promotion and a raise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Our high school class held our 50 the reunion here the weekend of June 20th. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was also very clean. The hotel does allow smoking in some rooms and I was worried the place would smell of cigarette smoke. I was surprised and pleased that I could not smell cigarette smoke in any of the common areas or on the sixth floor which was nonsmoking. The complementary breakfast was good. The dinner served at our reunion was very good. The hotel is convent to downtown stores and the river park. Chris at the front desk was very helpful. We plan on staying here on our next trip to Wilkes Barre.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaiona46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The front desk staff was professional and pleasant, restaurant very clean, food hot, tasty and clean, the bed very comfortable, bathroom very clean and modern update high toilet and a good hot water flow. I give an overall rating "excellent" for the whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frackville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends. Very satisfied with everything. This hotel offers all the best in everything anyone would look for in a top rated hotel. convenience to outside restaurants and shopping in the area all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
673 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing