We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two days and it was mostly good. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful - they were kind enough to let me check in a few hours early, as I didn't feel well. The room was a little small but nicely furnished & very clean. There was a good-size mini-fridge but no microwave (they have a restaurant). Good wifi, cookies in the lobby, no trouble parking in the back even though a couple wedding receptions were going on. Nice breakfast buffet of scrambled eggs, hot side items that seem to change daily (French toast, pancakes, sausage, ham), some granola, yogurt, fruit. Had everything we needed.

Two negatives: either the walls are thin or there's no soundproofing in the connecting door - I could hear every word spoken next door. Luckily they were fairly quiet, and we tried to be, too. The other is that on the 2nd day, our room was untouched - no cleaning, fresh towels, bed made, nothing. At about $125 a night, they could do a tad better on that. Overall, though, it's friendly, comfortable, in a good location near the river (where there seem to be summer festivals and concerts) and a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Valderi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 768 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked Genetti's because it was the venue for a family event; otherwise we would have stayed at one of the newer hotels by the highway. All in all, however, it was a good stay but not without bumps.

Check-in was slow, but we found out later that they had a new computer system. They were polite and apologetic. It was a busy weekend at Genettis between a boy band concert at the Kirby and a Cage Fighting event at the hotel. Ventilation did not hide the cage fighters' pot smoking.

Our room was adequate- a bit dark but clean. Beds were comfortable. The room was as good as one would expect.

One elevator was not working, but management did not turn it off. Instead, people would get in, press the buttons - the doors would close for about 30 seconds and then reopen. Then everyone would shuffle to the other lift.

the workout room is large with a variety of equipment. HOWEVER, there were no towels nor anything to clean the equipment. I walked on the treadmill for about 15 minutes but found it "sticky." I washed my hands and went for a walk outside, instead.

Our event included a dinner reception by the pool. The tables were lovely- white linens and large blue bows. The food was delicious and the bartender friendly.


All in all a nice stay- not stellar, but adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed here for several conventions and have had very good experiences. The hotel was clean throughout, the staff was friendly and all of my concerns were addressed promptly. Being directly downtown, the parking is less than ideal, you actually park behind the hotel in part of a multistory garage that is shared with the city. Parking is free and I never had trouble finding a spot. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Horrible stay!! We had ants in our room when we checked in. Although we were offered to switch rooms after several complaints, we denied because the elevators were broken completely and we were not about to lug our things up and down the steps. Front desk blamed us for the ants cause we had food and drinks in the room, even though ants were there upon check-in. The elevators were down. Parking was horrible if lot is full, and people were approaching front desk asking where to park the hotel staff was snappy and nasty, saying it was the least of their worries with everything else going on. Very thin walls also if you have noisy neighbors. Needless to say we will never ever return!! And do not recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bboronski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.We are recognized by AAA and Best Western International for excellent service and outstanding accommodations and treat all adverse comments seriously.

When we reviewed the details regarding your stay, we found the following.

You checked into our hotel Friday afternoon, and did not make us aware of an ant issue until the next day. On Saturday, our guest service agent apologized about the ants and offered to move you to a different room. You declined and asked us to clean the room, which we did. There was no elevator problem when we offered to move you. The elevator (regretfully)became inoperative AFTER you declined to move your room. When we reviewed our parking lot video, we found the parking lot was never full at any time during your two day stay. One of your visitors did initially park in the city parking garage. When he asked the front desk about parking, he was directed to our free guest parking area. He immediately moved his car to our lot.

We regret you did not find your stay with us satisfactory and to make amends for your disappointing stay, we are offering you a 50% discount on your next one or two day stay with us at the Best Western Genetti Hotel. Please contact me directly in order to make your reservation so you receive the offered discount.

We hope to see you soon

Sincerely,

Sam Wagner
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

very friendly staff hotel located in the downtown are but very clean got everything we needed including a pack and play for the baby also included was a full breakfast the beds were very comfortable also a very quite and peaceful place

Room Tip: always remember to tip waitress in breakfast room as tip is not included in room charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aedanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while traveling back home. we orginally stopped at a Best Western that was booked. We called this one and they were very helpful. The night clerk had our rooms ready when we got there. I.believe her name was Vilma. she was excellent. We would defknetly stay here again if we had a reason to.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have had several occasions to stay at Genetti's. This visit was family gathering for a memorial service. I did not realize I needed to make dinner reservations. There were nine of us. The staff quickly did everything they could, and the dinner was excellent. The Host made a special effort to speak with my aunt, our matriarch. I have never been disappointed when staying at Genetti's!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $91 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing