We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week and a couple days on business. The hotel is a bit dated in the lobby and has strange decor in the breakfast area/restaurant but they are renovating currently in those areas. The rooms however are GREAT! We had three King rooms, one a little larger with a couch and a bigger bathroom for $5 extra a night. They all had comfy beds, nice flat screens, and great water pressure in the shower. The breakfast is OK--eggs, cereal, fruit, waffles, etc. We did not eat at the restaurant so can't provide any input there. The staff here are very friendly and helpful, always checking to say hello! The hotel is nicely located right by the public square, you can walk to a variety of restaurants and shops! Overall I recommend this hotel, we miss now that we are in our new location!!

Room Tip: Get a King with the couch for a little extra a night--it has a lot more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilybird7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    171
    45
    27
    8
See reviews for
219
213
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Genettis for 3 full weeks... The staff was beyond awesome!! Micheal at the front desk loaned me his phone charger as i had left mine at previous hotel.. They were beyond kind and caring. Also another Micheal who i think was part of the wait staff was a DOLL!!! He went way out if his way daily to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of !! Breakfast was good, I am actually going to miss the french toast. Bill was friendly and very on the ball every morning!!! Though the hotel is dated i found it very charming and clean. If I am ever back in Wilkes-Barre I am defiantly staying here again !! Family owned and not a typical chain, I felt welcome and cared for here!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel was freezing cold and the lobby REEKS of smoke, since you have to walk through a smoking bar to get to the restaurant, Oyster. Breakfast is very good, especially for a free one, and the morning waiter, Bill, is hilariously terse and grumpy- he's a lovely guy and an excellent server, just sort of long-faced, as opposed to Michael, the charming and cheery banquet manager (or captain) who is tremendously helpful and an incredible representative of Genetti hospitality, as is the "other Michael", the night manager, and Sam, the GM. All our needs and wants were attended to promptly, happily, and generously. These people headline a great staff, and I'd be delighted to stay there again.

Room Tip: Laundry facilities are on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larksville, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I chose this hotel because the price was right and I was right in the middle of downtown Wilkes-Barre close to the Public Square. Parking was gated and right in the back of the hotel. When I checked in the staff was friendly. But what really impressed me were the rooms. They were beautiful! Very modern, with large flat screen tvs, and the mattress was so comfy! And it looked spotless. The bathrooms had heat lamps, which I liked. Ive stayed in bigger hotels in the area, and the room does not compare. The lobby itself was outdated - but in speaking with the front desk girl I found that they're redoing it by the end of the year. The breakfast in the morning was awesomeee - a buffet. The breakfast worker, Bill?, was so helpful and genuinely nice!

I stay in the area often and am choosing to stay at this hotel from now on. I'm glad I stayed and can't wait to see the new lobby that matches the gorgeous and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedee_0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This grand lady is jshowing her age. The best quality us its proximaty to Wilkes University. Time has moved on but this hotel has not moved on. A small example, rather than vending on all or certain floors, it is off the lobby with the game machines. Ok twenty-five years ago - now - not so much.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
When I visited, there was a wedding reception in the main room of the convention center with friends and family staying in the hotel. My room remained quiet and I slept undisturbed.
Had very nice dinner in the on site Oyster Restaurant. The specialty is Italian cuisine. Cannot say the same for the complimentary breakfast served buffet style in the same location. It was not so much the quality of the food but the lack of attention to keeping things current. Cereal with no milk. Scrambled eggs hot, breakfast meat missing. Perhaps the number of staff to guest ratio was out of balance. Not sure if a week day might be better.
There is a cocktail lounge between the dining room and lobby. Some furnishings have seen better days, a general commentary on the hotel in general.
There is parking with access controlled for guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We realize that guests expect modern and up to date accommodations. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and are in the middle of major renovation. We expanded our lobby and upgrading floor and wall coverings, business center, two fireplace and many other upgrades. While some hotels do provide vending on all floors, our property utilizes one main vending area with soda vending on every other floor due to having 72 rooms. We realize breakfast is the most important meal of the day and a substantial breakfast should be provided. We are disappointed to hear that details were missed. Menu additions and added training for our staff has improved our breakfast since your visit. We are happy to hear that our staff was most helpful and friendly during your visit and take pride their commitment to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy our many improvements. When our improvements are complete everyone will be forever happy.

Sam Wagner
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had an advance reservation, so we had to stay at this hotel. Dark, old, gloomy, & shabby would be an understatement. The promised hot breakfast was one of the worst we've ever been offered. The restaurant room was dark & gloomy, and the buffet consisted of hard dry grits, gravy, biscuits, precooked scrambled eggs with a red sauce stirred into them, and a few of the usual other items. I asked the only waitress (also gloomy) if eggs could be ordered, and she stated that the only food offered was the buffet. When I complained to the front desk, the manager told me that eggs could have been cooked to order & he offered to have a breakfast cooked for us. Too little too late....we had checked out and planned to be on our way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

5*****! I was treated royally at this Best Western Hotel. The service from the staff was outstanding. My room was both spacious and comfortable AND I enjoyed a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Tell them Harold from HaroldSays referred you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing