We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay!!!!!!! It deserves more than 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
heislerville nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved our stay!!!!!!! It deserves more than 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband & I stayed here with our 2 children 6 yrs & 20 months & 2 dogs (Italtion Grey hound & American Pit Bull Terrier) . My husband is working in Dallas Pa & when we got here we couldn't get into out campgroud till the next day so I called for a reservation for 1 night. I spoke with "DORI" she was so helpful and pleasant to talk to. Dori made us feel very welcome she brought us an extra blanket for the dogs & gave us a doggie bag full treats. This is the best experience I have ever had at a hotel. They never "discriminated" against the dogs I owned (because "pitbulls" are looked down upon everywhere). We also had our camper with us & Dori let us park in the bigger parking lot & had it in camera view. Also the "WONDERFUL LADIES" that keep this Hotel looking beautiful "STEPHANIE, SHELLY, ANA, DAWN, THERESA" deserve gratitude for there hard work & they were so nice to us. These girls work very hard & deserve to be treated kindly they work just like the rest of us to earn a living so if you see them give them " A THANKYOU" keeping this hotel so nice!!!!! If we ever need a place to stay again in this area this is were we are going!!!!! THANK DORI for all your help and making us feel so welcome you are such a people person & I thankyou so much for your hospitality!!!!!! To my "Cleaning Ladies" Keep up the good work thankyou for the nice clean room!!!!!! SINCERELY AMY, RAY, CHARLEE, GRACIE & "ABBY & CAMI" CONRAD

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean also because we had dogs they have designated rooms for pets due that some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    172
    45
    27
    8
See reviews for
221
214
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Room was ok. Hotel was pretty full, so we could not be switched to a room with a king bed. We shared a double. Bed was very uncomfortable. Heard at least two different dogs in the hotel barking at night. I'm guessing people sneak them in. Walls are thin. Loud kids and dogs made for a long night. My wife and I did not get any sleep. Breakfast was very good. Free internet is a nice addition. It can cut in and out though. Not a great area....but we didn't really find ANY great areas in the city. I guess at $40/night I can't complain too much. Booked on Priceline - name your own price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are disappointed you didn’t get a good night’s rest and unable to provide you with a King room due to our occupancy. While our hotel is pet friendly we require pets (and their owners) to be on their best behavior we are sorry they weren’t. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our free hot breakfast buffet. Our wireless internet is being expanded for better coverage and faster speed. We hope you will visit us again in the future to see first-hand our many improvements. Thank you again for visiting us and sharing your experience.

Sam Wagner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

If your able to be there on a Thursday from May to November you have to go to the Farmers Market in the town Square and any other time visit some of the amazing eateries surrounding the square. The staff at the hotel were some of the best I have encountered.

Room Tip: Orbitz will give you a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnusx1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very dissapointing experience this weekend. I drove for four hours through torrential rains to surprise a childhood friend and her daughter as they had come up from Virginia for an annual family reunion.This hotel group needs to brush up on their committment to service. I had called the hotel directly and was lucky enough ( or so I thought) to reserve two nights in one of their last available rooms. At check in they only had me down for one night and when I caught the mistake, the young woman at the front desk ( who was paying more attention to a puppy she had behind the desk and passing employees than on hotel guests) corrected it , but quoted a new higher rate than I had been given on the phone. Her response was "...well, that's what it is, maybe it will be lower when you check out". This was not a good sign of good things to come at the Best Western Genetti.
I was told to drive through to the side parking lot..of course, it was full. I drove around the block , braved the rain again and entered the lobby again to ask where I could park...no apologies from the desk clerk that she had directed me into a full lot or that now I was really wet from the rains and my second unsuccessful entrance at the hotel... to make a long and ugly story short..I had to request that she get someone to accompany me in my car to the lot ( as it turns out, the lot has no sign to indicate it's the hotel lot ..only a $3.00 a day sign). A very kind and professional young man came to my rescue..Ahmed saved the day.. he helped me figure out the lot and manage my luggage. Ahmed was the only "best" that I saw at this hotel.
The hotel smelled like smoke in many of the public spaces. Quite unappealing.
I ordered a salad and soup from the Oyster restaurant. The salad looked lovely, but was literally swimming in a cup of dressing..I've never seen anything so awful. I was too disheartened to even try the soup. Breakfast was a disaster as well. Even though they knew the hotel was fully booked, they seemed to be prepared to feed a small group. A nice blonde woman was apologetic..but she was definately understaffed and overwhelmed. On the positive side, there was a sweet inspirational saying that was propped up on the bed pillow..... sad to say it wasn't enough inspiration to fix all that went wrong at this hotel.The experience was so bad, that I left after one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticuTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night July 30th, 2011. We come here when attending shows at River street Jazz cafe. Wilkes Barre is a trek for us from the Phila. area, so we need to stay over. Best Western Genetti meets this need perfectly. The rates are reasonable, it's clean, easy check in and out. Also, they have a nice outdoor pool and free parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuervoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Genetti, early Friday morning through early Sunday. On Saturday evening I had planned to enjoy drinks and a cigar in the "cigar friendly" lounge with an uncle who was attending the same family reunion. However, the lounge, as well as the pool, were rented out for a private function so were not available for the guests of the Genetti Hotel. What kind of classless operation treats its patrons that way? I will never return to this hotel nor will I trust Best Westerns in the future. Also, the noisy A/C and lack of attention to detail in the room made the room a very poor value for >$100 a night. Look elsewhere when next you visit Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_in_Texas50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swagnersir, Manager at Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are disappointed you were unsatisfied. There are certain times our pool, restaurant or lounges are closed due to special events. On these rare occasions, we make every effort possible to notify our guests that are arriving on those dates. Unfortunately we fell short in our efforts and have since taken additional steps to notify our guests. We sincerely apologize that you weren’t able to enjoy our lounge. There’s no doubt you would have been thoroughly impressed with our service and selection of beverages. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed all your expectations.

Sam Wagner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Decent location near restaurants and shopping, and though the colonial meets 1995 decor is strange, it's obvious the owners care about and care about the place an keep it in good shape.

The rooms are large with big LCD TVs, mini fridge (though no freezers) and comfortable beds.

Bathroom was smallish and as others have noted poorly lit inside (unless you turn on the heat lamp.) Water pressure and temp are good, though the shower/tub walls did need a bit better cleaning.

Free parking and free breakfast voucher make up for those shortcomings though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 77 East Market Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service Hotel, located next to the F.M. Kirby Center and few blocks from Wilkes University and King's College. Well appointed rooms feature flat screen TV's, free wireless high-speed internet access and spa-like pillow top mattresses. With banquet ball rooms accommodating up to 2000 people, this is the perfect place to celebrate. A free hot breakfast buffet is served every morning to our guests in our own restaurant Oyster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genetti Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing