We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”
Review of Hillard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I are B & B lovers and stay in them when ever we get the chance. If staying in Wilkes-Barre, definitely stay at the Hillard house. We spent 2 nights. Gordon and Cecilia are terrific hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the gold room which was very comfortable. The Empire style home is a gem and conveniently located to many area attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I traveled to Wilkes-Barre to see Elvis Costello at the Kirby Center and were looking for a downtown B & B within walking distance of the venue and also of restaurants. Trip advisor led us to this wonderful gem and the owners Gordon and Cecilia. The house is just a few short blocks from city center (which regrettably, is not much to write home about) and is a grand old "they don't make 'em like that any more" kind of house. Our room was the Gold room and was very well appointed and tastefully furnished. My wife especially loved the chaise lounge chair! Breakfasts were well done-coffee was strong hot and plentiful, and the food was served on beautiful peacock plates.
We highly recommend this house, and hope that Wilkes-Barre downtown will continue its city center revitalization which is much needed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jrankney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just arrived home from a week-end in Wilkes-Barre Pennsylvania where we were seeing the Breeders Crown Horse races. We chose this B&B through trip advisor ratings and were not disappointed. Our host and hostess Gordon and Cecilia Williams were a great team, preparing fantastic and very filling breakfasts to start the day and then even greeting us with an umbrella on one rainy nights return to the inn!!! Cecilia then accommodated my crazy rushed wrapping of Christmas presents with boxes and scissors to fit all the presents !!! Above and beyond!!. The history and many antiques within make it a fascinating place to explore. The rooms are comfortable with all the amenities you need including WI-Fi for those who cannot be without computer. So we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone considering staying in the the northeastern area of Pennsylvania . Gordon and Cecilia , thank you so much!!! Paul and Vicki from Whitby ,Ontario .

Room Tip: all rooms great , my brother and his wife were on the third floor and there are stairs but this sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our second visit to Hillard House. The hospitality shown by Cecelia and Gordy is ideal.
They know how to make your stay special. We've stayed in two different rooms and the beds are comfortable, with plenty of comfy blanks to keep you warn on a cold night. There are small refrigerators for use in each room.
Breakfast is served in an attractive dinning room, on a beautifully set table. Coffee is hot and plentiful, or tea if you prefer. There is also juice and water. Breakfast has been a delightful three course meal, of fresh fruit and homemade fare.
Look around the house, too. It has a lot of original fixtures.
There is a front porch area with seating if you'd like to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or have a glass of wine? The yards, front and back, are full of foliage to enjoy.
Can't wait to see the finished back porch area when completed.
Thank you Cecelia and Gordy again!

Room Tip: There is an elevator for luggage (not people, just for luggage). Have room air conditioners for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this lovely B&B over labor day weekend. Cecelia and Gordon were welcoming and warm hosts with lots of local knowledge. The house is beautiful and our room was spacious and clean. Fantastic breakfast! If you looking for a place to stay in the Wilkes-Barre area you can't go wrong at Hillard House.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ljmccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed here and we highly recommend Hillard House. The proprietors Cecilia and Gordon were so gracious. We arrived late at night (midnight) and they had stayed up to welcome us and take our luggage upstairs. We stayed in the blue room and it was very nice. After 2 days they upgraded us at no charge to the Duchess Suite as it was going to be empty. It was beautiful! One day we decided to go to New York City and didn't know much about it, so Gordon bought me a travel guide book. Unreal! The breakfasts are to die for, as others have posted. The beds are very comfortable and that is saying a lot for me. I usually have an aching back when I stay elsewhere. It is spotlessly clean. We came for a funeral, but brought back beautiful memories.

Room Tip: If you can afford the money I would do the suite. It is 2 very large rooms with couch and easy chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night with Cecilia and Gordon and wish we could have stayed a week! They are gracious, kind and informative hosts who have an amazing converted home. The breakfast was incredible as advertised and they serve you at a communal table which was quite nice. The outside and inside of the house is gorgeous with a beautiful staircase hugging the entry hall. There's a nice front porch with a swing and large sitting chairs as you are located across from the river. There's no river view but the location is very, very nice and neighborly. I can't say enough kind words about Gordon, Cecilia, and their wonderful home and hospitality. I would hope to pass through Wilkes-Barre again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Property: Hillard House Inn
Address: 58 W River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillard House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hillard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing