We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed here and we highly recommend Hillard House. The proprietors Cecilia and Gordon were so gracious. We arrived late at night (midnight) and they had stayed up to welcome us and take our luggage upstairs. We stayed in the blue room and it was very nice. After 2 days they upgraded us at no charge to the Duchess Suite as it was going to be empty. It was beautiful! One day we decided to go to New York City and didn't know much about it, so Gordon bought me a travel guide book. Unreal! The breakfasts are to die for, as others have posted. The beds are very comfortable and that is saying a lot for me. I usually have an aching back when I stay elsewhere. It is spotlessly clean. We came for a funeral, but brought back beautiful memories.

Room Tip: If you can afford the money I would do the suite. It is 2 very large rooms with couch and easy chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
45
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night with Cecilia and Gordon and wish we could have stayed a week! They are gracious, kind and informative hosts who have an amazing converted home. The breakfast was incredible as advertised and they serve you at a communal table which was quite nice. The outside and inside of the house is gorgeous with a beautiful staircase hugging the entry hall. There's a nice front porch with a swing and large sitting chairs as you are located across from the river. There's no river view but the location is very, very nice and neighborly. I can't say enough kind words about Gordon, Cecilia, and their wonderful home and hospitality. I would hope to pass through Wilkes-Barre again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Cecilia and Gordon were amazing and friendly innkeepers! The home was extremely clean and decorated with interesting antique items. Honestly it was just an amazing experience. They catered to our every request and were extremely knowledgeable of the area. They provided excellent recommendations for food and fun in the area. The breakfast was insane. Fresh fruit, home baked muffins, Fresh squeezed orange juice, and an Pear crepe....Extremely reasonable prices. Well well worth staying in over a hotel. Do yourself a favor and go!

James and Victoria

Room Tip: any of the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesLukacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is such a cute place to stay. It’s quite an amazing historic property and you truly feel like you went back in time when you stepped in.
We were also served great breakfast with fresh fruit and freshly baked pastries. It’s very quiet - I got a great 8 hours of sleep in a huge bed.
Bonus point for super soft towels.

We were visiting my boyfriend’s parents in town and will definitely stay again here when back in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
388 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have driven through this area many times while on I-81 but never stayed in Wilkes-Barre before. We were lucky to find Hillard House for our stop over. Cecilia and Gordon are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed listening to all the stories about the area. Fascinating! We enjoyed walking by the river close to Hillard House and Cecilia kindly suggested a local Italian restaurant for dinner that was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hillard House. Had no idea what to expect as I did not have a good picture of what downtown Wilkes-Barre would be like. The Hillard House is in a great location and we were able to walk to restaurants and explore historical neighborhoods. The owner/ hosts are friendly but not intrusive and very helpful giving advice about the area. Rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and breakfast is wonderful. We plan to go back and see a show at the Kirby Center which is also a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manzanedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hillard House is a splendid, charming, comfortable, well-appointed, place, run by the most charming and accommodating owners. The Inn is on a quiet and attractive street which is quite close to everywhere in Wilkes-Barre we wanted to go, including the town square and the lovely river walk. All of the details, from the decorations to the vintage elevator reflected a careful and complete eye for detail. The veneer was all Victorian, with the full host of 21st century amenities subtly and accessibly tucked underneath.

The room (we stayed in the gold room) was very comfortable, private, well-equipped and endlessly charming. Like the common areas, it had a busy, yet consistent and tasteful Victorian aesthetic, from the light fixtures and lamps to the wallpaper in the bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable and the bedding was very warm and cozy for the unseasonably cold weather we had for our visit. There was a flat-screen TV tastefully hidden behind a folding screen which had satellite TV which kept us entertained on our down time. There was complimentary water and soda in the small fridge, and lovely bathrobes hanging in the closet, which doubles as a hallway connecting the bedroom and the bath.

Now, let me tell you about Gordon and Cecilia. They were so very nice and welcoming. They treated my fiancée and me like family, but also gave us plenty of space. They provided for our needs and were always a phone call away if there was anything they hadn't already thought to provide (there wasn't; these guys are thorough). We arrived to find cheese and crackers and an apple on the table under glass, which my fiancée and I were glad for after our car ride. They had great suggestions for places to visit and provided pleasant conversation.

Then there's the breakfasts. Oh my goodness. The Eggs Benedict on the first morning were as good as any I've ever had at a fancy restaurant. The next morning there were delicious blueberry pancakes with a touch of lemon zest. Each was served with fruit salad and a muffin - pear on the first morning, banana-nut on the second - that was good enough to write home about.

If I can ever find an excuse to go up to Wilkes-Barre again, I know exactly where I will be staying. If you're a B&B enthusiast, Hillard House is reason enough to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Property: Hillard House Inn
Address: 58 W River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillard House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hillard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing