We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillard House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Property is well-maintained with just the right blend of old/historic and updated. The elevette was a treat to see! Our innkeepers were friendly and welcoming; very helpful for dining and nightlife suggestions. The location is right along the river, with a brand new river walk. Excellent for easing the digestion after a terrific meal in downtown. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend this B&B. It was an excellent value, located in a safe area with plenty to do over a weekend.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is quieter than the Gold Room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpedspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Charming house. Could not have had a better stay. We spent two nights at Hillard House and plan to return next year. Hillard House just has great charm, which was enhanced by our hosts. The breakfasts they prepared were amazing!
We were given dining places to eat within walking distance. It was very safe to walk at night because of the campus security, but also being a college town, there were plenty of people out and about.
Thank you, Cecelia and Gordy. And..., thank you for having an elevator for luggage! See you next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Is a fantastic place, being from Virginia we have some nice b&b's,the Hillard House completely suprised us. beautiful house,well kept,clean,organized,and some really great inn keepers.oh and awesome breakfasts.the city of Wilkes-barre is also a very nice,friendly and extremely clean.and The F.M Kirby is a heck of a place to see a show.

Room Tip: Gold room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautiful house, gracious hospitality in a neighborhood chockablock with beautiful homes and historic buildings nearby, to walk off your delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 on the third floor, the only room on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRCPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This b and b is located in an exquisite house--historic, beautifully kept, spotlessly clean. Very high ceilings throughout, gorgeous antiques, beautiful chandeliers. Everything tasteful and a delight to the eye. It is in downtown Wilkes-Barre--not a major tourist destination, except for the university, but a good way point. The hosts are knowledgeable and helpful, and asked if we had food allergies or preferences. The breakfast--eggs Benedict--was fine. Off street parking. One of the best bed and breakfasts we have visited.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

In traveling from Upstate NY to Washington, DC, we looked for a place to stop for the night. We found Hillard House, and had a comfortable stay. The inn is in a large house built in 1865. It has a lovely garden and comfortable rooms decorated with antiques. Cecilia and Gordon were great hosts and really knowledgable about local history. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is located within the boundaries of the Wilkes University campus and along the Susquehana River. The only downside (and not much of one) was the location about 10 to 15 minutes off Interstate-81. Gordon's directions in and out were easy to follow and spot on.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_guy_and_wife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife Sandy and I travel to the Wilkes-Barre area rather frequently. The Hillard House provides us with a place where we can settle in, attend to family matters in the area, sleep comfortably, and have a delicious breakfast and pleasant company in the morning. The nearby walking paths along the Susquehanna River provide opportunities for exercise ranging from leisurely to vigorous, and the views are quite wonderful. Simply put, Cecilia and Gordon do a great job. Gordon is also a virtual docent on many aspects of the history and geography of the region should that be of interest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#9 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Property: Hillard House Inn
Address: 58 W River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillard House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hillard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing