We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts and nice B&B”
Review of Hillard House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillard House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilkes-Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Charming house. Could not have had a better stay. We spent two nights at Hillard House and plan to return next year. Hillard House just has great charm, which was enhanced by our hosts. The breakfasts they prepared were amazing!
We were given dining places to eat within walking distance. It was very safe to walk at night because of the campus security, but also being a college town, there were plenty of people out and about.
Thank you, Cecelia and Gordy. And..., thank you for having an elevator for luggage! See you next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botanicalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This Is a fantastic place, being from Virginia we have some nice b&b's,the Hillard House completely suprised us. beautiful house,well kept,clean,organized,and some really great inn keepers.oh and awesome breakfasts.the city of Wilkes-barre is also a very nice,friendly and extremely clean.and The F.M Kirby is a heck of a place to see a show.

Room Tip: Gold room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautiful house, gracious hospitality in a neighborhood chockablock with beautiful homes and historic buildings nearby, to walk off your delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 4 on the third floor, the only room on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRCPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This b and b is located in an exquisite house--historic, beautifully kept, spotlessly clean. Very high ceilings throughout, gorgeous antiques, beautiful chandeliers. Everything tasteful and a delight to the eye. It is in downtown Wilkes-Barre--not a major tourist destination, except for the university, but a good way point. The hosts are knowledgeable and helpful, and asked if we had food allergies or preferences. The breakfast--eggs Benedict--was fine. Off street parking. One of the best bed and breakfasts we have visited.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

In traveling from Upstate NY to Washington, DC, we looked for a place to stop for the night. We found Hillard House, and had a comfortable stay. The inn is in a large house built in 1865. It has a lovely garden and comfortable rooms decorated with antiques. Cecilia and Gordon were great hosts and really knowledgable about local history. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is located within the boundaries of the Wilkes University campus and along the Susquehana River. The only downside (and not much of one) was the location about 10 to 15 minutes off Interstate-81. Gordon's directions in and out were easy to follow and spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_guy_and_wife_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife Sandy and I travel to the Wilkes-Barre area rather frequently. The Hillard House provides us with a place where we can settle in, attend to family matters in the area, sleep comfortably, and have a delicious breakfast and pleasant company in the morning. The nearby walking paths along the Susquehanna River provide opportunities for exercise ranging from leisurely to vigorous, and the views are quite wonderful. Simply put, Cecilia and Gordon do a great job. Gordon is also a virtual docent on many aspects of the history and geography of the region should that be of interest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hillard House for a recent weekend away to visit friends in the Wilkes-Barre area, and had a lovely time. The house is beautiful, yet comfortable, with welcoming common areas. We benefited from the exquisite vintage mini-elevator, as I was on crutches following surgery. While I had to navigate the few stairs up to the front of the house, it could not have been easier to get up and down from the room. This was a major plus for us, as we love B&Bs, but most of the time you have to deal with many stairs.

We stayed in the Gold Room, which was comfortable, spacious and quiet. My husband and I both found the mattress soft, but I'm sure it wouldn't bother most people - we have a personal preference for firm mattresses.

Cecilia and Gordon were unbelievably helpful. Right from the start when I emailed them with questions, they were responsive and friendly. My husband has some complicated dietary restrictions which Cecilia took in her stride, providing us both with delicious breakfasts. They voluntarily printed us out directions to various locations we were visiting and gave us great advice on nearby local restaurants.

We were also happy to find out that they are ok with having kids stay, as so many B&Bs aren't. We may well be back with our little one (due in 3 months).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabellap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
728 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillard House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillard House Inn

Address: 58 W River St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $137 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillard House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hil lard House Inn, circa 1865, is an elegant B and B located in Downtown Wilkes-Barre PA. Rooms feature queen beds, private baths, cable tv, wifi, fridge,ac.The Duchess Suite has sitting rm w/pullout twin and Bedroom w/queen bed.The bath has 2 vanities,walk-in shower and whirlpool soaker tub.Breakfast served in our formal dining rm.Offstreet parking and secure wifi are included in the rates.Close proximity to interstate I81,colleges, Mohegan SunArena, Mohegan Sun Casino,F.M. Kirby Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hillard House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing