We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice, new clean, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
New Freedom
1 review
“Nice, new clean, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

2nd stay w the franchise, great value, room was clean, comfy, good continental breakfast, great staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    288
    85
    20
    16
See reviews for
299
311
78
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I checked in and was kept waiting at the desk for 10 minutes by a clerk who I could see in the office area playing a Facebook game. finally got in the room and it was tiny, very clean but tiny, the TV got very limited selection of channels, the high-speed internet was slow, and it took forever for the heat to kick on once i turned on the thermostat. the pool area was sparse, and somehow the hot tub/whirlpool is broken already, seriously? you've been open 2 months, how is this broken already?

Room Tip: look elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmi_Rexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince N, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Sorry to hear about the issues you had at our property. Our hot tub was currently down during your stay due to routine service that is performed by the company every three months sorry for the inconvenience to you. Also we will look into the issue you had at check in and will speak to our staff about having guests waiting to check in. If there is anything else that we can do please let us know and we will be happy to assist you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

You will not mistake this hotel for a luxury property, but it has a lot going for it at a very reasonable price. It is brand new. We stayed in the smallest and cheapest room for about $80 plus tax. If you have been on a cruise ship, the size is fairly comparable to balcony stateroom, minus the balcony. They manage to cram a lot into probably about 170 sq. feet including a good flat screen TV, microwave and mini-fridge. The bathroom is larger than found in most cruise ships and includes a full sized tub/shower combination and granite countertop sink. The bed was comfortable, the linens more than adequate; no paper thin towels here. The color scheme is towards the gray, teal and brown. It all works. The property includes an indoor pool and small exercise room. If you are just a couple the small/cheap room is very adequate. If you are traveling with kids you will need to upgrade. There is a continental breakfast with the usual fare and coffee (which is actually pretty good), tea and juice are always on tap. The staff were courteous and friendly. If you are planning to go to Pocono Downs it is literally across the road and the major shopping areas in Wilkes Barre as well as the Arena are less than a 10 minute drive. Overall, a really good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince N, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We would like to say thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and will be returning when you visit the area again. Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#9 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Address: 1185 Rte. 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Brand New Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes-Barre! Experience warm hospitality, numerous shopping & dining options. We are the closest hotel to the Mohegan Sun Casino! Also a short distance to the Mohegan Sun Arena, Montage Mountain Toyota Pavilion, PNC Field home the Yankees Triple-A Baseball, Wilkes University, Misericordia, minutes from Avoca International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing