We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Because I travel with my small dog, I am careful to inquire about the cleanliness of pet-friendly lodging. I was assured my room would be as clean as a non-pet room. Based on this information and the high ratings at Trip Advisor, I booked a room. The location is less than desirable, behind a Marriott undergoing renovations and near a TGI Fridays. The suites are large and well furnished, but my quarters were very dirty. Upholstered living room furniture stained, stains on mattress and box spring, rugs did not appear to have been vacuumed since last guest and certainly had not been shampooed in a very long time. I was unable to find other lodging nearby that would accept pets and so had no choice this trip, but will not stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for staying with us & providing feedback on how we can enhance our services. We strive for excellence & do not want to fall short of our guest expectations. If you have any additional comments or suggestions as to how we can make your next visit more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

I personally apologize for any issues that occurred.

Again, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2009

This hotel needs a lesson in marketing. A website that doesn't work, and completely hidden by a larger Holiday Inn with a sign so small you can't see it from the road. All that said.. it is great value.

I paid $89 for a room with 2 doubles in a separate bedroom, a small kitchen and decent sized living room with pullout couch.

There are DVD players in every room with free DVDs at front desk, free internet and one of the best free breakfasts I've had in a hotel (egg sandwiches, waffles, fruit, cereal, danishes, granola bars, coffee, juice, and tea). Staff is friendly and helpful and there's lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. We used it as a stop on the way back to Ontario from South Carolina.

There is a small fitness room and decent pool/hot tub. Cleanliness was above average but not what I would call 5 star, based on very dirty carpets in the hall (crumbs, dirt, etc), no towels at all in the pool area and some wear and tear starting to show on furnishings in general.

The noise level is also not great and walls seem thinner than some hotels.

Based on the noise and hallways I'd call it a 3.5 star but for overall value, breakfast and 'free stuff' it's a fair 4 star.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlvlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive for excellence. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

I stayed at the Host Inn, last weekend and it was perfect! My nephew graduated from Wilkes University and this hotel was in a perfect location. It is five lights away from the Wachovia Arena where the graduation was held and a 7minute ride to Wilkes University.

The Host Inn is in the same area as the Holiday Inn and a TGIF's so at night if we needed a "drink" or a bite to eat we just walked over to TGIF's. There is also many fast food places to get something to eat, and a couple of malls within 5minutes from the Host Inn. This hotel is in a great location!

The room I stayed in was a two room suite, kitchen, living area with pull out sofa, and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was spotless! Very clean hotel indeed.

Each morning the hotel offers a Continental Breakfast in the lobby area with plenty to choose from.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a hotel in this area, don't think twice, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cpgem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your response. Our hotel is centralized at a great location and I'm glad to hear that our hotel fit well with all of your needs for that particular weekend. Thank you again and please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We are from Pittsburgh PA and our son and his family are from Albany NY. We met here for a weekend. The place was great. We each had a suite. Both were very clean and comfortable. Our son has an infant and a dog. Both were welcomed.
Saw the pool but didn't use, looked nice. The breakfast was nice and had all that we needed. The staff was very friendly. We are already talking about our next time we will meet there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Hello and thank you for your response. From my experiences and the feedback I receive, Wilkes Barre is a great half way point for many travelers. Thank you for your positive feedback and hope you visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I was really bothered by the VERY busy intersection it is located at, not to mention a highway behind it...

They seemed to make an attempt to "look" like a chain, but you are better off staying somewhere else quiter and collect some points.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and apologize for the highway that sits behind the hotel but there are area's of the hotel which are quieter than others. Because of the prime location, at times the intersection can be quite busy depending on time of day. We offer the same amenities as a "big chain" hotel but if you intend to travel to Wilkes Barre again, please visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrisburg Pa
12
Reviewed December 21, 2005

We arrived late in need of a place to stay, and the staff were terrific. We had two children, one with special concerns. The room was very clean and beds comfortable. The kitchen and rest of the suite was exactly as promised in brochure. All supplies were present and sparkling.
The staff again was attentive and helpful during our stay.
The pool and hot tub were very clean.
We would stay here again:)

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Hello and thank you for your response. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever travel to Wilkes Barre again, please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, NY
16
Reviewed March 3, 2005

I found this place when referred by The Holiday Inn in front of it which was sold out that night. I had a two room suite with everything I needed and then some. I wish I brought a steak to cook in the kitchen area, that was nice suprise. I went down to the hot tub & then borrowed a DVD from the front desk to use with the in room DVD player. (awesome!) I didn't want to wake up, but I'm glad I did, I had a nice breakfast in the morning. The staff was friendly and this was the most worry free stay I have ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Hello and thank you for your response. Its great to hear such positive feedback and hope to see you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Host Inn All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Host Inn All Suites Hotel

Address: 860 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913 (Formerly Host Inn and Residential Suites)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $81 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Host Inn All Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all-suite property. We have full kitchens with a full refrigerator, microwave, dish washer, garbage disposal, stove(with oven), all of your utensils and pots and pans. It has a separate bedroom area and living room area. You can close off the door and have separate space. Our rooms are either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds with a pull out sofa. There is a dining room table as well as a work desk and DVD player in the living room. We have an indoor pool and hot tub, 24 Hour Fitness Center and a patio with BBQ grill. We are on the complex with TGI Friday's where you would receive a 10% discount. We also serve a hot complimentary breakfast 6:30-9:30am(10am on weekends)(omelets, waffles, sausage, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fruits, oatmeal etc). Our boardroom is 800 sq ft and it overlooks the valley with a large balcony. We are also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Host Inn All Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Host Inn And Residential Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Residential Inn
Host Hotel And Residential

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing