We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bad apple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was very nice, clean, comfortable, a good example of the Hilton Garden Inn brand. What was not good was one staff member. He checked me in the most perfunctory manner - seemed like he could care less that I was there or not. Worse though, was while my wife was waiting in the lobby, not even that close to the desk, and was forced to overhear this man berate an employee on the phone who was apparently calling off work for illness. She was disturbed and embarrassed to hear this exchange that was clearly inappropriate, especially in a public area. Unfortunately this person is what we will remember from this location. We expect a much more professional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback, please know we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take every comment seriously and I am sorry the team didn't welcome you with Hilton Hospitality as well as stop personal conversations when you arrived. We work as a team, which includes each department, this conduct will not be tolerated . Would you be able to call me at 570-820-8595 ext 2137 so I can make this right. I would love to research your comments so I can correct. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 688 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Two giant steps and you are on route I-81 with ready connections to universities, hospitals, shopping, eateries, and historic sites. For example, the motel is right between the Wyoming Valley Mall and the Wilkes-Barre Twp. Marketplace; it is less than 10 miles from the International airport and less than 20 miles from Steamtown and the Valley is strewn reminders of the once dynamic anthracite and rail industries. (Note: check out the Huber Breaker in Ashley PA ,three and a half miles "south.")

We were very pleased with the cleanliness of room and bath and the property in general. And courtesy and pleasantness was expressed by all the staff.

Room Tip: Be forewarned that the motel does NOT offer a complimentary breakfast like most. You pay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sage_and_poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for all the positive feedback. We understand there are alot of choices while in the area and appreciate your loyalty with us! The area is full of diverse history and several attractions to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Thank you for the suggestion with the Huber Breaker, I will be sure to pass along this information. We have a restaurant on site that serves breakfast and dinner. You will find all our options cooked-to-order so the quality is much higher then a traditional self service breakfast. If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out! Safe travels until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in town to attend a conference. The hotel the conference recommended was smelly and dirty. We refused to stay and asked that they find us someplace better. We were sent to the Hilton Garden Inn. The rooms/amenities were superior; hotel was cleaner; and the price was $10 less per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback. We hope your conference went well and I am glad you had the opportunity to try us out. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team during our daily huddles. If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out! Safe travels until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A modern hotel , but lifted above typical uniformity by imaginative decor. However it is the excellent, friendly, and helpful staff, (across all departments) that make this facility stand out. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. They made us feel important to them, they were eager to offer help to make our brief stay comfortable and efficient. I would recommend this hotel without reservation. In a crowded itinerary around the N.E. of the U.S., this is the hotel that stands out, including some that were much more expensive and nominally with wider facilities. But it is the staff that make the difference !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments! We understand there are alot of choices while in the area and appreciate your loyalty with us! Our team members want to ensure your time with us is relaxing and memoriable. You are very important to us and your feedback is critical to our success. If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out! Safe travels until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

this hotel was clean and the room was well kept we stayed here for a weeding in the area! Would stay here again. Check in was fast they even let us check in early when we arrived. The breakfast buffet was looking fresh and tasty. Very nicely done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnythehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for all the positive feedback. We understand there are alot of choices while in the area and appreciate your loyalty with us! We do hope you had a great time at the wedding! If you should need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out! Safe travels until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a nice quiet room away from the elevator that was clean and fresh. Free internet is always a bonus especially in nicer hotels like Hilton. The staff was courteous and friendly yet professional. Very helpful and looking to make you feel welcomed. We did not encounter any problems. They served breakfast options at reasonable prices. Wish we could have stayed for breakfast but had to run out early. Complementary coffee, teas and water is always welcomed coming and going. Several restaurants and 24 hour WalMart all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the feedback. We want to be your number one choice when in the area. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location and amenities. On your next visit please join us for breakfast. We can offer you discounted coupons or even on the go options if your time is limited. If you should need anything in the furture, please do not hesitate to reach out! Safe travels until we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here a couple of times a few years back and loved it, so I was really looking forward to stopping for one night on my way thorough Wilkes-Barre again. I love the location, and enjoy walking over to Wal-Mart, eating at Red Robin and getting coffee at Starbucks. There is a Japanese steak house next door as well, although I never tried it. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are quiet, even the one we stayed in next to the elevator. Like others have mentioned, check-in was slow and not a welcoming smile to be found. We had a room with two queen sized beds, and here was the problem. Apparently the beds are supposed to be new technology – The Garden Sleep System - that is self adjusting, but you can also adjust the firmness if you know that the controls are up in the corner of the mattress under the sheet and mattress cover somewhere. I found that out in the morning from the person at the front desk when I complained about how both beds seem to sag badly in the middle. Apparently they were turned way back. With two of us in one bed, I was the one who spent most of the night crawling toward the edge. So, if you choose to stay there, please remember to read the instructions to adjust the bed. The front desk didn't tell me about it when I checked in, but they certainly told me it was my fault when I checked out.

Room Tip: Remember to adjust the bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback, please know we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take every comment seriously and our management team will take every measure to ensure it doesn't happen again. We will investigate the night that you checked in to ensure our team members are prompt with your checkin and also explain the perks of our hotel. We do care about the wellbeing of our guests, I am sorry we fell below your expectation. Would you be able to call me at 570-820-8595 ext 2137 so I can make this right? Please give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Address: 242 Highland Park Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $115 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre hotel. Enjoy the convenient location off Pennsylvania I-81 at Exit 168 in the Township Marketplace, next to the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, and minutes from Mohegan Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs. This inviting Wilkes Barre hotel boasts an ideal location in the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains close to industrial parks, skiing, golf, racing and white water rafting. From our oh-so-comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, to fresh cooked-to-order breakfast, and complimentary high-speed WiFi, our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Wilkes Barre has everything you need for a successful stay. Savor American favorites at the Garden Grill Restaurant & Lounge or grab a quick takeaway snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from an array of refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave. Enjoy all the comforts of home including a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, and complimentary cable channels Host a meeting or event, for up to 80 people, in our flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary business center at our Wilkes Barre hotel. Unwind after a long day with a swim in our heated indoor pool and spa, or work out in the fitness center. See the best of what the Poconos and Montage Mountain have to offer by staying with us during your trip to Wilkes Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing