We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated rooms but overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit dated rooms but overall very good”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I arrived near midnight after booking just a few hours earlier. Greeted warmly. Quick check-in with water bottles in hand. The room was very clean and well appointed (desk & chair, oversized chair and ottoman, etc...) but just a bit dated from the design and layout from the 1st floor lobby. I could not get the a/c to cool the room to my satisfaction but sleep well anyway on their new beds. I did not eat the Made to Order breakfast ($10.25) because of my schedule but was being well used by the other guests. New restaurants/stores close by would make this a nice place to stay for a longer stay and multiple nights. Overall a nice short stay. Would stay there again on my next visit to town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InkedCelticCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, please know we appreciate you bringing the room decor package to our attention. Would you be able to share any other additional items that you would like to see in the guestrooms? Again, we appreciate your feedback, if you should need anything when you return, please let us know! We would love to be your first choice in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    175
    62
    38
    11
See reviews for
214
182
39
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel was very clean, convenient and the hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed here overnight as my husband was doing a driving school at the Pocono Raceway and this room fulfilled our every need!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jenewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We do hope the Driving School at the Pocono Raceway was successful. We are an easy on/off of the major highway and our location is convenient to many local businesses. We hope to see the both of you again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corry, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent accommodations! A short weekend stay for an event held at the hotel. Check in very easy. Reservations were made ahead of time and there were no problems. Very convenient location. Several eateries nearby. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We value your business and appreciate that you chose our hotel while attending your event. Please let us know the next time you will be in Wilkes-Barre, we would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was super clean and well kept. We were there for an event at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The hotel has a shuttle, but it is much easier to walk. There is a path along the road to get there, very safe and there are cops that stop traffic for you to cross. Plus, there are restaurants and a Walmart in the same parking lot, easy access to everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were on our way home and decided to stop for the night in Wilkes-Barre. We saw the Hilton Garden Inn from the highway and stopped off to ask about a room. We were given a very pleasant room which was roomy, clean and comfortable. We should have tried out the pool and fitness room which both looked quite nice, but since it was late, we opted for dinner and a relaxing evening in our room watching the flat screen tele. The hotel is located in a shopping plaza with several convenient restaurants within walking distance. The cook-to-order breakfast the next morning was delicious and they had good choices for a hot meal. My eggs were cooked perfectly. Service at the front desk and breakfast area was friendly and professional. They had great coffee, tea and lemonade plus cookies in the lobby all day long which was a great treat after a long drive. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you tremendously for the feedback. We value your business and appreciate that you chose our hotel. If you should need anything in the future please reach out! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Love the location and the Grill for breakfast. The cleanliness has slipped since my last visit. The mirror over the desk was smeared and the glass-topped table was also dirty. Bathroom was spotless. I did not remember the bed having some sort of foam mattress, but it was like sleeping in a pit on one side of the bed, which I suspect is the side where most guests sleep. The service remains well above average. You get a lot for the money. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, please know we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take every comment seriously and our housekeeping department will ensure this does not repeat. We do care about the wellbeing of our guests, I am sorry we fell below your expectation. Would you be able to call me at 570-820-8595 ext 2137 so I can note your profile for the next visit. We will not disappoint you again, you can count on us to make it right. Please give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked this hotel b/c the price was right, the amenities were what we wanted and the location was perfect for an event at the Mohecan Sun Arena. We were able to take the shuttle to the venue and walked back to the hotel afterwards b/c it was so close and it was a nice night. Rooms clean, hotel staff very friendly and helpful and I can't remember the last time that I slept so well. Very comfortable bed. Also very close to many restaurants. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! We love our location and the events that take place at the Mohegan Sun Arena. The Hilton Garden Inn brand has it's own type of bedding called the Garden Sleep System. We would be happy to send you more information should you like to purchase for your own home. We would love to accommodate you the next time you are visiting the Wilkes-Barre area. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
2.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Address: 242 Highland Park Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre hotel. Enjoy the convenient location off Pennsylvania I-81 at Exit 168 in the Township Marketplace, next to the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, and minutes from Mohegan Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs. This inviting Wilkes Barre hotel boasts an ideal location in the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains close to industrial parks, skiing, golf, racing and white water rafting. From our oh-so-comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, to fresh cooked-to-order breakfast, and complimentary high-speed WiFi, our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Wilkes Barre has everything you need for a successful stay. Savor American favorites at the Garden Grill Restaurant & Lounge or grab a quick takeaway snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from an array of refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave. Enjoy all the comforts of home including a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, and complimentary cable channels Host a meeting or event, for up to 80 people, in our flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary business center at our Wilkes Barre hotel. Unwind after a long day with a swim in our heated indoor pool and spa, or work out in the fitness center. See the best of what the Poconos and Montage Mountain have to offer by staying with us during your trip to Wilkes Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing