We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice Rooms, Diligent staff. I liked that the room was quiet, and that the blackout curtians darkened the space. Breakfast was tastey, although I am not wild about the whole semi buffet breakfast thing in midrange hotels these days, but the cook took special care for my omelett.

Wish they had pay for view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freindobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! I am very happy to hear that our team members took such good care of you and your family. We have DVD players available at the front desk and we can shuttle you to and from in order to get a movie. We appreciate the feed back on the breakfast and if you have any recommendations please feel free to contact me again at GM_AVPWI@hilton.com.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    169
    61
    35
    10
See reviews for
210
177
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Needed something close to i81 with options for eating. Hotel is 1 min off highway with everything you need close at hand from dining options to shopping to Wegmans. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and cost with AAA was very reasonable. Quiet room despite hotel being virtually sold out. Will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am glad that you found the location convenient to the highway. We love our location because it is next to many great things like Wegmans, this is a personal favorite of mine too! Thank you again for the comments. We hope to see you again when your travels take you past Wilkes-Barre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Typical HGI experience. Convenient location with plenty of dining choices nearby. Front desk staff very friendly and they called the evening before my checkout to make sure my stay was OK. Everything in the room was clean and in good working order. I did report a minor maintenance item to the front desk when I was leaving in the morning and they had it fixed when I returned later in the day. Good wired and wireless Internet connection. Quiet rooms with no road noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhutchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind comments about your experience! I am happy to hear that our front desk was attentive and handled your maintenance issue, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our wireless internet is 10 mbps so your emails are just a click away. We look forward to seeing you in the future and thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes-Barre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PAUL
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is very nice. The beds were comfy, lots of pillows, bathrooms clean, friendly staff, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies always available. Good places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chckzkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am glad that you found the location and our amenities to be just what you needed! We love our location because it is in the center of many great things to include restaurants, shopping, hiking, and performances. We hope to see you in the future and we will be sure to save you some warm cookies! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past few months. Each time we were met by incredibly friendly and helpful staff, an open and clean reception area, reasonably-sized and clean rooms that were wonderfully quiet. It certainly is not luxurious, but it is basic and comfortable done extremely well, with some nice extras like a lobby coffee station and afternoon cookies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimitravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences! I am very happy to hear that our team members took such good care of your travel needs. I am also glad that you found the amenities and location of our hotel to your liking. If there would be anything you like to see in the future for us to improve, we welcome the comments. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, NJ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed there on a weekend with my family. Rooms are basic but clean. The place is a lot like a Hampton Inn, except it has no free breakfast. They have an in-house breakfast they serve in the common area that's all you can eat for $10. Not a bad value really, but we passed on it anyway. There's also over a dozen restaurants within a mile. The pool was a little small, but the hot tub was nice. Parking lot was a good size. Lots of side entrances to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a moment to provide your feedback! We share some of the same traits as our sister brands, however you are correct, we had a cooked-to-order breakfast that differs. We give you fresh eggs, bacon and sausage, pancakes, waffles, French toast, fresh baked pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, hot oatmeal just to name a few. It’s a step above most hotels’ free breakfast offerings. We are in the center of great lunch restuarants also. I am very happy that you found the amenities and location of our hotel to your liking. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
256 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on and off between August 2010 and February 2011 for several weeks. The front desk staff are super, they hit the right balance between friendly and intrusive. I regularly enjoyed a glass of wine whilst reading a book / watching the world go by in the lobby area and the ladies really looked after me. One night we had a huge thunderstorm and the power went out, they gave us light sticks and even knocked on my door to let me know when the power would be back.
When my family joined me they made a big fuss of my daughter.
The gym and pool are adequate.
It's close to the off ramp, the Pocono Downs and the Mohegun Sun Stadium for the hockey. There are stores just across the parking lot and several diner / restaurants witihn walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences dating in a span of an entire year! I am very happy to hear that our team members took such good care of you and your family. We grow very fond of our guests! I can agree with watching the world go by in the lobby, with such a bright comfortable space, it makes for a great pass time. I am also glad that you found the amenities and location of our hotel to your liking. The indoor pool is a big hit when it is chilly outside. The Mohegan Sun Arena hosts several events for children, it makes some great memories! We hope to see you and your family soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Address: 242 Highland Park Blvd, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#5 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre hotel. Enjoy the convenient location off Pennsylvania I-81 at Exit 168 in the Township Marketplace, next to the Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza, and minutes from Mohegan Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs. This inviting Wilkes Barre hotel boasts an ideal location in the Pennsylvania Pocono Mountains close to industrial parks, skiing, golf, racing and white water rafting. From our oh-so-comfortable Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, to fresh cooked-to-order breakfast, and complimentary high-speed WiFi, our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Wilkes Barre has everything you need for a successful stay. Savor American favorites at the Garden Grill Restaurant & Lounge or grab a quick takeaway snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from an array of refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare with your convenient, in-room microwave. Enjoy all the comforts of home including a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, and complimentary cable channels Host a meeting or event, for up to 80 people, in our flexible meeting space and stay connected in the complimentary business center at our Wilkes Barre hotel. Unwind after a long day with a swim in our heated indoor pool and spa, or work out in the fitness center. See the best of what the Poconos and Montage Mountain have to offer by staying with us during your trip to Wilkes Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Hilton Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing