We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Japanese Restaurant, just a Chinese copy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mizu Sushi

Mizu Sushi
Ranked #28 of 275 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NE Pa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a Japanese Restaurant, just a Chinese copy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nothing bugs me more than someone pretending to be something they are not.
Start with iceberg lettuce salad with some sort of ginger dressing followed by a lame, faux 'Japanese' chef who is as uncomfortable trying to be funny as we were uncomfortably pretend to be entertained. As he repeatedly sneezed into his sleeve, the raw chicken was scooped, cooked and served with same utensils and then put on my plate, I hoped the soy sauce bath killed some of the salmonella and cold virus. After pointing this out to the husband and wife managers, their english became worse and spoke in chinese in front of me, obviously mocking my concerns.
Mizu is a 'Japanese' Hibachi/ sushi restaurant owned and run by rude Chinese people who portray themselves to be Japanese and should be trained to safely handle food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boxermachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    43
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the place I take anyone to introduce them to sushi, just have them try the lobster roll (lobster tempura and a soy paper) and they'll fall in love. In fact, they'll use soy paper for just about any roll if you want so start there and slowly introduce them to the rest!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harding
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow! Wow! Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hands down one of the best Japanese restaurants in this area! It doesn't matter whether you eat at the Hibachi Tables -or- if you eat at the Sushi Bar! BOTH experiences are very entertaining!

Tip #1: If you do eat at the Sushi Bar, ask to be seated near the Chef's that creat the sushi dishes! Trust me, you won't be disappointed. Their attention to detail when plating the dishes is beyond exceptional.

Tip#2: Order a couple special rolls -- the volcano and the Mizu are our favortites and I believe will soon become yours, too! Don't be afraid to try them all -- we have yet to be disappointed in all the times we've visited this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
260 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Superb sushi, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Requiring an overnight stay in Wilkes-Barre PA early in March 2013, my wife and I thought we'd indulge our Saturday night hunger with some sushi from a restaurant just a stone's throw from the hotel we'd picked for the night - the Mizu Sushi and Hibachi. We arrived a little before 7 PM and the place was crowded but the crowd was there for a seat at the hibachi tables while we were there for a seat at the sushi bar. Good thing, as the wait was about 30 min for a table, but there was no wait to sit at the sushi bar - Great! We first were greeted by the hostess near the door, who seemed a little shell-shocked from the flow of customers, but she was backed up by a more senior manager, who was cordial and showed us immediately to the bar - a great place to watch the sushi/sashimi chefs in action during the brief wait to be served. Our waitress was professional and attentive and the food she served was terrific. We each ordered a sushi entre that included soup (miso) and a salad, which was presented with a mild but savory dressing. Our sushi sampler included pairs of 5 different kinds of fish (chef's choice) served nigiri-style and a California roll. The fish was VERY fresh, the wasabi was VERY hot, the flavorful pickled ginger was plentiful (we asked for and promptly received more), and the bill was within budget! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would not hesitate to return any time the opportunity arose.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeezersOnTheGo-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“YUM YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lot's of fun and the food was great. Service was prompt and our "chief' enjoyed what he was doing.The location right next to the hotel was great as it was snowing like...heck.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Earl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mizu Sushi also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Mizu Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing