We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
New Hartford, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

For the price this was a very nice hotel. We stayed in a King, Nonsmoking room whice was fine. Clean,neat, and comfortable. Bathroom has the toilet and shower in it with the sink in the bedrrom area near the entrance to the room. This was fine with us. I could shower and my wife could use the sink area to do her makeup and hair with a bother from me.
Again, for the price, the breakfast was adequate and typical for this price range hotel.
Good location, friendly staff. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    59
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
79
71
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

1. The walls were so thin that I could hear the employees discussing the cleanliness and behaviors of guests while cleaning the room. I could also hear the guests next door doing anything and everything...
2. I was told that if I didn't check out immediately at the check out time that I would be charged for another night. The check out time was 11:00am, so I asked if I could stay until 1:30pm ( I didn't have a car and was waiting for my friend to get back from a conference). The woman told me that she was sorry, but I needed to check out immediately. I think this is terrible customer service. I waited in the lobby until my friend came back.
3. While I stayed here, the other guests were a sports team. The hotel was loud and there were kids running around the entire time. Th hotel staff said nothing to those people about being courteous to other guests.
4. The staff overall was cold, rude, and didn't have the extra touch of customer service that I have experienced in almost every other hotel I've stayed at.
5. The water from the sink was cloudy, so you can imagine that I had to purchase water from the vending machine at all times during my stay.
Overall, the hotel looked fine and was supposedly clean but my stay proved otherwise. Had I known these things ahead of time, I would've taken my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trjwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnandSuites, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
I'm very disapointed that I was not able to speak to you regarding your recent stay with us. I tried to reach you by phone, but was unsuccessful. I did speak to the staff on duty that morning and asked if they felt they handled anything inappropriately. Without going into details about who said what and how they said it. I just would like to say that we genuinely appreciate your business and on behalf of my staff I would like to appologize for the miscommunication. I'm not used to getting such a negative review on a staff member. I typically hear mostly positive reviews on staff performance. I am again sorry for any misunderstanding. It always amazes me how many interpretations there are for one situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efland, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here on February 9 and 10, 2012. The room was clean (and that is so important to me) the maids were friendly and helpful as was all of the staff. The pool was an extra special treat, especially with two children in tow. We loved the fresh baked cookies. We slept well as the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. We used the fridge and it worked well, so did the microwave. Even with all of the people that were there, and the fact that the highway was right behind our room, it was one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed at. Will be back and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stopped here after being obliged to interrupt a trip from Ohio to New England due to blizzards and multiple problems on the interstate. Our first room looked great until we started looking more closely. The beds had fresh sheets... but we found that there was a great deal of trash between the foundations and headboards. By "trash" we mean corn chips, a lot of hair, and a chicken bone. While the management assured us that they were very concerned about cleanliness (especially things like bugs), bugs are much harder to spot than corn chips. And if they can't spot the immobile Fritos, I suspect that the bugs are getting more of a free ride than anyone would like. Like our friends from Huntsville, we also had a fridge and microwave in the room, though we didn't use them. In some ways the price of this hotel was reasonable, but any hotel room needs to be *clean* before it's OK. And the cookies other travelers spotted were nowhere in sight.

Breakfast bar in the morning is free, reasonably well balanced, and handy. You have a lot of choices: 3 kinds of cereals, oatmeal, eggs (small round egg patties designed for sandwiches, really), sausage patties, white and wheat bread and toast, jelly, fresh coffee, several kinds of juice... you get the picture. And that's a nice way to start your day.

But housekeeping wasn't so great and the room was dirty. Of course, we refused the room - and were moved to another room down the hall that was tidy. My advice: pack a flashlight and always look things over first. Otherwise, not so bad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hildemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over Christmas while seeing her family. Rooms were large, with free wi-fi access, fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV and a clean, comfy bed. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and it was pleasant to take a swim on Christmas day. Weight room was also well-appointed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I have stayed many times at this hotel for a getaway weekend. We get a suite with a hot tub. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful. The staff are attentive and professional, and make great chocolate chip cookies, by the way!!! The rooms are super clean, spacious, and you can't beat that hot tub for relaxing!! We plan on many more getaways at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter due to the highway behind the hotel, but have slept like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverlina777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is one of the better Comfort Inns I've seen. It's new and sparkling clean, approaching a Hampton Inn or a Cambria Suites, though cheaper. I didn't explore the inn's shared amenities (business center, exercise room, etc.), but I had no complaints about the room whatsoever. I'd recommend this place, and would myself stay here again.

The main drawback is the city of Wilkes-Barre. It's economically depressed, and on Sunday evening it's quite hard to find a restaurant.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flatlander2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
#14 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1067 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#9 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites of Wilkes Barre is a locally owned and operated hotel. Mohegan Sun Casino is just minutes away. The property is well maintained and up to date. We offer a full complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. State of the art fitness center with an indoor heated pool. Enjoy room service from our own Pickles Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Comfort Inn Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing