We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy, but decent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“noisy, but decent breakfast”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

after reading all of the other reviews here, we thought this would be a good choice for an overnight stop on our way home to North Carolina. the rooms were a bit rundown, wallpaper peeling, etc. we were given a room right beside the highway, and so it was quite noisy. we could also hear the people next to us talking and watching tv late at night.

and even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door, we were still woken up by housekeeping banging on all the other doors and yelling "housekeeping" just after 8am. it was so loud, I thought there were banging on our door. we were hoping to sleep in a little bit, after being on the road for so many hours. breakfast was a nice surprise though, lots of selection and the attendants were nice.

probably wouldn't stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    58
    28
    2
    6
See reviews for
77
71
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location right off the highway. Nice indoor pool. Only 5 miles from Mohegan Sun casino that has a nice Poker Room. My wife likes the complimentary breakfast with hot waffles, eggs, and sausage patties. I like the indoor corridors and the 24 hour lobby. Free coffee 24 hrs in lobby which saves me from making the coffee in the room. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Free WIFI in the room but if you don't have a computer, there is one for your use in the lobby 24 hrs a day. Fridge and Microwave in the room. Plenty of parking outside and walking distance to a Perkins restaurant. Great rate with the highway coupon book.

Room Tip: Coupon holders are lodged on the 3rd and 4th floor but there is an elevator and since these rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregrinating_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A general run of the mill hotel. Basic rooms, awesome breakfast, quiet. Location could be better but, not horrible. Front desk staff had no personality and didn't explain to us where the elevators are or anything about the property. I was in for a wedding for I didn't really care, I just wanted to get to my room, get dressed, and get to the wedding on time. Check-in was at 3, wedding at 4... I was pressed for time. Other wedding guests were staying at the same hotel and we all sat outside in the lawn chairs and had a nice quiet talk. It was nice. Overall, it was just a basic hotel, nothing wowing, nothing horrible. Room was clean. Not a lot of noise. Everything was fine!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYS
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Easy, great over-all experience (3rd stay at this location)
Check in/out:
Quick and simple less than one minute. No stop check out, I love that, no waiting in line.
Staff:
Very helpful and proactive to the point that nothing needed to be requested.
Housekeeping:
Almost everything very nice, clean and orderly. The exercise room has wall paper curling, from moisture from the pool on the other side of the wall? The Pool is very nice maintained and inviting. Patio table surround it as if you are outside. Did I mention this is an inside pool?
Room:
The room is spacious enough to set up a cot and still get around in it. There was a flat screen with a variety of hook ups so you can stream from your digital devices. The room was clean and smelled fresh.
Location:
This is easy on/off I81 just south of Wilkes-Barre. Very straight away to shopping, convention center and other points of interest. Many restaurants nearby so close you may just as well walk to them.
Internet:
Free WiFi now with password protection and increased signal strength and great band width.
Helpful hints:
Get coupons from the portfolio on your desk and at the front desk for great deals in the local area.
Additional Information:
There are two authentic food shops across the road and just up the street. One is family run and sell homemade perogies. The other sells made to order gyros prepared by a young man just starting out 2011 so please patronize him so I may get his take out again next year.
Would I stay here again:
Yes

Room Tip: Ask the front desk clerk if the larger same price rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrOfAvarici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Decent rooms and ammenities. Nothing to write home about, but we were just passing through. It's easy to get on and off the highway, so that was a plus! There's a great pizza place that delivers (Grotto Pizza), and my husband loved Mohegan Sun...so did my 7 yr old daughter! LOL

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccrmom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed one night during a long interstate car trip. Location is convenient to I-81. I used the small exercise room and everything was clean and orderly--lots of wrapped cups available on the water cooler, which was full of water, the remote to the tv was easy to find and use, and the equipment was all in working order. Nice to get a cookie and a free local newspaper at the front desk. My bedroom was clean and well put-together. Bathroom was small but clean and had great water pressure and lots of warm water. Only complaint was that I would have liked to have had a listing of the available tv channels. Bed was really comfortable. I didn't use the internet so can't comment on its ease or speed. I will definitely stay here again on a similar itinerary.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor but had no long wait for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoingGoingSwVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stopped here for one night in March while traveling back from Florida. Nice hotel, but a little dated. Rooms were clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good.


  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelicanpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
4.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1067 Wilkes Barre Township Blvd, SR 309, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#9 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites of Wilkes Barre is a locally owned and operated hotel. Mohegan Sun Casino is just minutes away. The property is well maintained and up to date. We offer a full complimentary breakfast buffet in the morning. State of the art fitness center with an indoor heated pool. Enjoy room service from our own Pickles Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Comfort Inn Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing