We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food not so good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Friendly's

Friendly's
Ranked #106 of 275 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food not so good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We decided to get our food to-go and the food was really good. The service could have been better but the servers were pleasant.

We ordered the Fish tacos which our daughter loved but she didn't like the spanish rice which comes with the order as it was way to spicy even for my husband. The honey bbq melt was great although we asked for extra crispy fries and got very soft luke warm fries instead.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duquesnegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional friendly service, building and decor need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a large group for lunch on a Saturday. Had to wait a few minutes to be seated, but they were flexible with our family and put our young ones in their own booth which was nice. Our order came out exactly correct and was pretty good, particularly the Honey BBQ Chicken Melt and the Summer Berry Salad. It took a little longer than average to get both our meals and desserts (included in meal deal), but we did have 12 people in our group. The restaurant itself is in dire need of refurbishment. The tables, carpets and tile are worn and are showing their age. In addition to the capital improvements needed, this place needs a deep cleaning as it appears to be dirty in a lot of spots. Our server was outstanding and very friendly (Kelly) and as mentioned got everything correct in our order. So, if not for the facility this Friendly's would get an above average or excellent, but because it was dirty and worn the best I can do is average.

Helpful?
Thank AeroHokie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
415 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Correct name for service, not for food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

You'd think with a standing offer from the CEO, "If your not happy a cheerful refund for you meal", would ensure quality control measures. Not so here! A simple 'Fish 'N Chips' order. Fish was package "Gordon's" deep fried in old oil, along with the fries. The place was a bit under the weather for condition, and my companion's was no better.

In short, just pass by, no need to wave, just move on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shooster365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere, USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“at least they apologized”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's been a while since we went here. Something happened bad last time, but we forgot what it was and gave it another try.

For my drink, I ordered a black decaf coffee. It wasn't what I'd call hot, but tolerable. By the time the waitress came back for our order, I had finished it and asked they had any carafes. She said they don't do that anymore, which usually means an empty cup for most of the meal. She was at least pretty good on keeping me replenished and the subsequent cups were hot. I ordered the Buffalo chicken sandwich and my wife, a turkey club. Another server brought out the sandwiches when done, but she gave my wife a turkey melt instead. So she took that back. Then I noticed what looked like a finger hole in my bun (adding pic). Maybe I was too sensitive, but I couldn't bring myself to eat it. When the club came out, I sent mine back. The manager came over with a replacement and apologized. At the end of the meal, the original waitress again said she was sorry, comped my sandwich, and offered free dessert or takeout ice cream. Not wanting dessert and not going home on a warm day, we declined both. Even though the situation was handled as well as can be expected, we probably won't be going back after two negative experiences in a row.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Common_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michaels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“0kay breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Felt like sitting in a greasy spoon and breakfast for the money paid. Needed to remind waitress to refill coffee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing