We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere,but...”

Bar Louie at Mohegan Sun
Ranked #23 of 283 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere,but...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a group of friends. Drinks and food: very good but overpriced. And they messed up our tab. They were busy but still..
We still had a good time. Next time we're at the casino we might stop in again. Their hummus plate is to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dream39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    55
    22
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid this place on Sundays”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We use to patronize this restaurant on Saturdays last year then ate lunch here on a Sunday afternoon. Our service was horrible and the food taste was lacking to stayed away from eating there for about three months until today. Unfortunately management hasn't changed a thing....still stinks!!

We got our non-alcoholic drinks quickly but our server said she would be back shortly. We waited another 15 minutes to order our meals even though the restaurant was maybe a quarter full. We waited another 20 minutes for her to tell us they were out of the pull pork BBQ then our server disappeared for another 10 minutes till she returned to get another item choice.

I ordered the tempura shrimp with cocktail sauce. I received burnt, dried, hard tempura shrimp with three dipping sauces and no cocktail sauce.

Needless to say, I left hungry and very disappointed. The server did ask if I wanted another order of the shrimp or something else but we wasted enough time and I did not want to wait another 20 to 30 minutes .

I will never return to this restaurant until a qualified and experienced learns how to properly run this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Driteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you are in the Casino...keep walking”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Bar Louie pleasing to the eye at first glance....overpriced for the quality of food served, poor service, that is when you actually can get service, and when the blasting of the band starts...in these close quarters, forget about any conversation at the table or bar....where are we...a high school gym?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lonesome
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing return trip”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been to Bar Louie on several trips to the Mohegan Sun Pocono Downs and have always had a .better than average experience, but this was a big let down. My husband and I arrived late for lunch and early for dinner (3:45 p.m. on a Sunday afternoon). Since it was seat yourself, we picked a table near the bar and waited 5 minutes for a server to acknowledge us. Ordered two draft beers and waited another 5 minutes for the server to bring it. When the beer arrived we ordered a 1/2 price appetizer of calamari and a Blue Louie Burger to split (we knew the portions are generous). Tic-toc, tic-toc.....20 minutes later our server delivered our appetizer (which was cold..yuck) and another server showed up with our hamburger. We were told that they both arrived at the same time because we ordered the burger medium rare. Does that mean that if you order a burger rare it arrives before the appetizer? Good grief. Did I mention that there were no less than six servers running around and the restaurant was only a quarter full, if that. Never again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good burgers cheap”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

went there on a tuesday with my buddy joe burgers were only a dollar. but if you add cheese or pickles its .50 cents extra may talk a little bit to order cuz it can get top be a full house

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkrupp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louie at Mohegan Sun also viewed

Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Bar Louie at Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing