We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good service”

Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 276 Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have eaten at Rustic Kitchen twice. The food is good and portions are large. Try the Mac'n Cheese and the rice balls. The food is only a few dollars more than the Wolfgang Puck counter service and tastes better.

This is more like food you would find in NYC or a cosmopolitan area. Much of the food in the Poconos can be bland, but not Rustic Kitchen.

The service is good.

If you can, sit in the back room. You have more space and won't realize you're in a casino.

Would definitely eat at again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatsandShoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    97
    31
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Lunch!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My friend and I went for lunch here since it seemed to have the most varied lunch menu at Poconos Downs. The meal started with a small plate of bite-sized pieces of foccacia bread accompanied by a delicious yet simple warm hummus dip. I had read reviews about how good the meatballs were, so started with them as an appetizer. I'm not a big fan of Italian food (or meatballs) in general, but these were hands down the best meatballs I've ever eaten. A bit pricey at $9 but you get a large plate of about a dozen small, tender meatballs covered in a flavorful tomato sauce.
We both had the Tilapia Francese ($13) which tasted more like cod, but was still delicious. It came with two pieces of fish in a lemon sauce with capers, roasted red potatoes and asst. veggies. A very good meal, especially for the price.
The service was great and the dining room is very stylish. We are looking forward to trying Rustic Kitchen for dinner next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TvGirl19606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
378 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Delicious food and amazing service--”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I'm talking about you, Jill! My husband and I ate there yesterday, after droppin a child off at camp.This place is located in the Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs. It is pleasant, with rustic "Tuscan" ambiance, and you can see all of the action in the casino if you get a table in the bar area instead of the back room. All of the food was plentiful, tasty and well-priced. Our waitress, Jill, was incredibly efficient, friendly and solicitous, nimbly responding to any request.I recommend this place--it has something for everyone--salads, seafood, pasta, various baked dishes with chicken or other meats, and the bread and white bean dip they serve is also great. Eat here before you lose your money at the casino---you're sure to be a winner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
977 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Watch for Hidden Charges”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had an average meal at Rustic Kitchen, but when presented with the bill, the total did not match the cost of the items. When I asked a manager why the total was higher than the items when added up, he went to ask our server (Sarah). When he returned, he explained that we were charged for extra sauce. We explained to him that we were not informed of an additional charge for extra sauce, and even if we did, then why wasn't it listed on the bill?
The server told the manager that she DID tell us about the additional charge for the extra sauce. I wasn't going to argue with her (I guess the customer isn't always right), but still asked BOTH, why wasn't the charge on the bill? They could not explain. I don't trust a restaurant that will give you an intemized bill, that doesn't equal the total being charged. We won't return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've dined here numerous times and always have a delicious meal. I've tried pretty much all of their appetizers and seafood and pasta entree items and they meet gourmet standards. The food is always presented in a very appetizing manner. The off-menu specials are usually very interesting too. The chef(s) are to be commended!
They are usually very busy on Friday and Saturday nights, so I suggest making a reservation.
The managers are often visible and checking customer satisfaction.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar also viewed

 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
 

Been to Rustic Kitchen Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing