We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2009

This was a great hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a flat screen tv, which was nice. The free breakfast was the best I've ever had. Upon check-in, we asked for the nearest verizon store so we could buy a charger, the front desk girl said they had chargers we could borrow for the night. We were very impressed.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DonnaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn for 6 nights on business and enjoyed my stay. Hotel is new, opening in January 2009 and staff at check in was friendly and helpful. Hotel has updated modern decor , adequate fitness center and good continental breakfast (from waffles, cereals, granola, yogurts, etc.). They even have a two computers for use by customers in the lobby area. Overall my experience was very good. However, being a new hotel, there are still "kinks' that are being worked on (an example was when I got the paper delivered to my room only once the entire week) but it's not a big deal to me. The other issue was when housekeeping forgot to clean my room one day. When I called the front desk, the staff apologized and noted that they would advise the housekeeping staff. However, when I needed to do laundry, the front desk person provided me the detergent for free, which was pretty nice. I would recommend this hotel if you're in the area, it is also near a mall and plenty of restaurants too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booncanlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Wilkes-Barre while on a road trip to Ottawa. First W-B hotel we stopped at quoted exorbitant rates, so we stopped at the Fairfield and they gladly accepted our coupon from one of those discount books you pick up at rest areas. Desk staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful with check-in, looking up my Marriott Rewards number, giving directions to dinner spots, etc. We had 2 rooms and both were very nice. The hotel feels (and smells) brand-new and is in immaculate condition, both in public areas and rooms. Rooms are small but comfortable, bright, and attractive. Possibly the most comfy hotel mattress I've ever slept on. Wish my bed at home were as comfy! You get some noise from people walking above (though not through walls next door), but A/C makes a nice constant hum that drowns out noise. Heard no noise at all through walls or from hallway.

We had such a good experience here on the way up, we stopped and spent the night again on the way back. Same desk clerk was working and she remembered us cheerfully. A/C in one room needed repair, but she quickly and happily moved us to a new room that was perfect.

The continental breakfast was fine, fresh and filling -- pretty standard for this type of hotel. Breakfast area is large, bright, and comfortable.

Only minor downside is it's a bit confusing to get there from the interstate, but follow the signs and you'll be fine. You have to drive through a TGI Friday's parking lot to get there, which is a little weird, but it really is quite close to the highway, just in a roundabout way.

We enjoyed both our stays at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others looking for a place to stay in Wilkes-Barre.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rugbyshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My friends and I had been traveling from Kingston, TN back to New York and we were so tired and started looking for a hotel. We have stayed in Wilkes-Barre before and thought that it might be a good stopping point. We were pleasantly surprised to see on a billboard that there was a Fairfield Inn and Suites nearby. We called ahead to see if they had any vacancies and were told that there were a few. The person on the phone promptly made a reservation for us and gave us great directions to the hotel. The Wilkes-Barre Fairfield Inn had a beautiful lobby and we have never received a nicer greeting at any other hotel that we stayed at in Wilkes-Barre. There was a TGI Friday's right there and even though it was late, the girl at the front desk informed us that dinner was served there until 1AM!! Our room was immaculate and the decor was new and refreshing. Breakfast in the morning provided us with a variety of great choices and the breakfast attendant was very helpful. The gentleman at the front desk in the morning helped us with directions and thanked us for staying with them at the hotel. The staff was so friendly and truly appeared to appreciate our business. This is our favorite hotel in Wilkes-Barre now and we will not stay anywhere else when we are passing through that area! Great job Fairfield Inn!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margotNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here while having to attend a wake and funeral. The management was wonderful--they upgraded us to an executive suite. The room was perfect for my husband, me, and our 8 year old son. He had his own area, TV, and sofa-bed. The room was very quiet, the bathroom spacious and clean. The hotel is immaculate, and everyone on staff is friendly and professional. We have stayed in at least 10 hotels in the area, and this is our new favorite. It is convenient to the various highways, including I81 and the Cross-Valley.

The breakfast is passable--rather like eating breakfast at home, with cereal, bagels, instant oatmeal, etc. The breakfast at the Hilton Garden Inn is frankly better--with eggs to order--but the rooms there also cost $30 more (and they charge extra for children), so nothing is free. Save the money and the calories at Fairfield. If you really need that big breakfast one morning, go down the road to Denny's or Perkins, and you'll still save money!

One draw-back is that for some reason Marriott did not construct a driveway leading directly from Kidder Street to the hotel, so you have to meander through TGI's parking lot. But that is a relatively small price to pay for how new and clean this place is.

I hope they keep it so immaculate and nice!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This is the second time we've stayed here and it was free on Marriott points. They automatically upgraded us to a suite without us even asking. Beautiful, modern rooms with 2 flat panel tv's, excellent hot breakfast, great friendly staff, spotless everywhere. The excercise room was state of the art, the indoor pool area was large and clean with 2 hot tubs. We stay at Marriott properties very frequently and whether new or older they are consistently spotless and updated. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hot_tubber_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This hotel opened on 1/22/09. It still has the new smell. The guest room was very nicely appointed with the new upgraded Marriott furnishings and bedding. The bathroom had an exceptionally nice tile floor and tub surround, more like what would be expected in a Marriott vs. a Fairfield. The front desk personnel were very professional and friendly and genuinely seemed to want to assure us of a good stay.
Location wise, this is a bit off the beaten track away from I81, but it is easy enough to find. It is adjacent to a TGI Friday's which made for an easy choice for dinner.
The breakfast selections were above par for a Fairfield, and the breakfast area was neat and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorndyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing