We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect for a Fairfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at this property during Thanksgiving travel and it was pretty average. The bed was very comfortable, that's the main good point. The room we were in seemed a little run down with streaks on the walls and the bathroom seemed outdated. We were the room next to the elevator which really shouldn't be rented out unless the hotel is full. We heard quite a bit of activity during the evening, laziness prevented us from requesting a new room. It wasn't until late at night that we realized the smoke detector was located directly above the bed, a weird location as the light was flashing all night, very annoying for a couple of light sleepers. Why not have it in the hall within the room? The room next to the elevator is also right above the reception entrance, so we also heard lots of activity of people entering the hotel. This seems like a bit of a party hotel in a way, right next to TGI Fridays. Maybe it was just because it was a Friday night. I probably wouldn't stay here again, didn't love the location or the views out the windows. Decent enough for the price though. Free breakfast was typical, would love more sugarless options like plain yogurt.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the elevator if you are sensitive to sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. We strive to be the very best and it seems with your stay, we fell a little short of your -- and our -- expectations. I strongly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. If I can be of any more assistance or you have any additional comments, please don't hesitate to give the hotel a call. We certainly would love to see you here in the future!

Michael Nafus
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites,
Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 403 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

A comfortable bed is very high on my list, and this hotel hits a home run on that issue. It is also clean and well maintained, especially for a property that sees alot of weekly construction crew guests. Very pleasant and helpful staff. This property is a gem. It is convenient to many local restaurants and a shopping mall, and is simple to find off the interstate. I will definitely return when business takes me back to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cz75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property. We strive for excellence here at the Fairfield, and we are more than happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you when business brings you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last night. We were greeted with friendly reception and given two $10 free slot plays for Mohegan Sun, which was why we stayed overnight. The breakfast was delicious. The hotel is 1.5 miles from the casino. There is a Fridays right next to the hotel and other restaurants and shopping are right there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Assistant General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Fairifeld Inn and Suites of Wilkes-Barre. We are very happy that you had a great time and hope that you enjoyed yourself at the nearby Mohegan Sun Casino. We will share your kind words with our staff. They truly like hearing that their efforts and hard work have paid off in making your stay with us an enjoyable one. We look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again whenever you are in the Wilkes-Barre area.

Sincerely,

Lindle Hippenstiel
Assistant General Manager
Fairfield Inn and Suites Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice, clean, modern hotel, typical of the chain and similar. Very friendly and helpful staff. The shuttle takes you to the casino and the arena, and the drivers are nice! The bed is one of the most comfortable we've ever slept on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for all the kind words, I will make sure to share with your entire staff. I am glad we were able to have the opportunity to serve you and hope to do so again when in the Wilkes Barre area.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We typically stay at the Fairfield Inns when on "regular" travel. They are quite reliable - clean, well-maintained and with good service. Yet there are some variations, particularly with regard to service. This Fairfield was a really good one. The breakfast was better than we have found before - with some hot options (though the woman setting up was clearing everything 15 minutes before breakfast was to end - the reason for the lower score here). And there were both a pool and two hot tubs. A "TGIF" Friday's was next door, where the food was quite good - and the Fairfield offered coupons for a small discount. If you are in the area and want a reliable, clean and comfortable hotel - and at competitively reasonable prices - this is a "sure bet".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time you took to share your experiece during your stay with us. We appreciate the positive review but will definitely take the steps needed to deal with your concerns. We are completely commited to total guest satifsfaction and look forward to serving you again.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for two days. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a very nice breakfast both days. We enjoyed the use of the pool as well. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the sitting area and fireplace in the lobby, we had other family members meet us there, and it was a nice place to gather.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Wikes Barre and for all the positive feedback. I will make sure our staff knows about the great feedback and hope to serve you again in the future.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel was clean, well kept, and nicely appointed. I found the room to be a standard hotel room, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was usable. I was not a fan of the shower, it just didn't get very hot, but it worked. The breakfast was good, the food was hot and plentiful. I was also a fan of the fireplace in the lobby, it just made for a nice setting for our group of friends to be social. The outside seating was kind of lame though, it is in a "quad" setting with another hotel, and both hotels could spring for some new outside seating. Overall a decent place to stay. It is a little hard to find, as it is on the back side of the three hotels that are right there, behind the TGIF restaurant. It could use better signage!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback on your recent say. We strive to give our guest a great experience when staying with us and I will have maintenance check on the hot water issue and voice your other concerns with management. Hope to serve you again when visiting the Wilkes Barre area.


Elizabeth Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing