We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in a suite this time--much nicer (obviously) than regular room. I find the regular rooms way too small and uncomfortable. We've never had a problem with cleanliness at this hotel, having stayed here maybe 8 times. Our room was very clean and kept clean during our stay. The staff--from the front desk, to housekeeping, to women who run the breakfast buffet--are all friendly and take evident pride in their hotel. They are also very honest. Our room was full of gifts after visiting family for Christmas, and never has there been a problem with things missing.

Downside: My husband always gets a sore back here--he says the bed is too soft; I find it comfortable, but I guess it depends on your back. Breakfast is very basic--but we are happy with yogurt, cereal, and toast.

So, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if you get a good deal. My main complaint is that it has gotten more and more expensive in the past two years, and we don't feel like it is worth it. $150/night for an interstate hotel in this area is ridiculous. There are several comparable hotels in the area--all clean and relatively convenient. We stay where we get the best deal. Had we known that Genetti's and East Mountain Inn have both just been renovated, we probably would have stayed at one of those. They have extra large rooms that are not as expensive as the suites at the Fairfield, and we could have saved a lot of money. In short, we like this hotel, but we are not so loyal that we won't find the best deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give detailed & honest feedback. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. If you ever have any additonal questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly at (570)208-4455. Our rates are set according to the area averages & time of year. We also honor Marriott rewards & other groups or memeberships. We have a great location & the award winning T.G.I.Friday's on-site. We provide complimentary shuttle service, offer a variety of breakfast options & will help in anyway. We may not have the lowest rate at times, but we do provide the greatest value in the area. Also, please feel free to request a bed board during your stay, this may help with firmness of our beds!

Again, thanks for your time & comments!

Management & staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    114
    43
    10
    1
See reviews for
123
112
10
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Very good choice! Clean and nice rooms, nice lobby!
Close to several restaurants in the area. Enough parking spaces.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful comments! Hope to see you again!

Take care,

Management & staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over the Rainbow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our family of 3 stayed here for a weekend wedding. It was one of 3 hotels recommended on the wedding invitation. After reviewing all three here on Trip Advisor. We picked the Fairfeild. After reading the mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean. The bathroom spotless. Good water pressure. Heater/fan/ac unit worked well and was quiet. Great tv and channel selection. I slept great, but my husband felt that the bed was a little too soft to his liking. No view whatsoever out our window, but the glass was clean and window would open a bit for fresh air.

Breakfast was far from gourmet, but it was more than we were expecting. Waffles and microwavable breakfast sandwiches, fruit cups, yogurt, bagels, toast, cereal, hard-boiled eggs and some fruit (apples and bananas). Coffee was good. The items were well-stocked and the young lady in charge of the breakfast area was very pleasant.

Staff was friendly. We needed a couple of items not found in the room- an extra toothbrush and a sewing kit. These were readily provided with a smile. Lobby was neat, well-lit and clean.

For the room rate of $99/night, we got exactly what we were expecting and would return to this hotel again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind & pleasant comments! Our entire staff is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & thank you for recognizing our hard work. It is our goal to have our guests happy & satisfied with their overall stay. We would be happy & look forward to serving you again.

Thank you!

Management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Room was very dusty. Front desk had very little hotel knowledge. What time is breakfast? I am not sure was the answer. Worstvpart was thatvit was very hard to sleep with all of the road traffic noise. Breakfast was skimpy and staff seemed inconvenienced by customers. Stay here if you must but do not expect much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank living2eatumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. We do our very best to satisfy all guests & we apologize for any issues you experienced. This is not the normal stay experience our guests receive & it is our goal to provide all guests with a high level of service. We take great pride in our beautiful property & the level of care we provide our valued guests. I would hope you would give me the opportunity to personally address your concerns by calling (570) 208-4455.

Thank you,

Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very difficult to find the entrance. Room was small, crowded with large furniture and very dusty. Very difficult to get around the King bed with such a small room. Bathroom was clean, but again dusty with cobwebs. No fridge/microwave or hair dryer. First floor room was flooded all night with the outside parking lot lights, insufficient clock radio and blinking light on the ceiling fire alarm. We did not have a restful nights sleep.

Not up to the par of Marriott's that we have stayed in the past. We skipped the breakfast, but it was standard. Staff was friendly and quick.

We had called Mohegan Sun for the special rate and received it. I feel that the rate impacted our stay. Shuttle service to the casino was hard to manage with us having to call ahead and hope that someone was available to take us. Vans and shuttle staff were from neighboring hotels which made it hard to find on pick up.

For the rate we paid, I would have expected this from a lower level chain. It wasn't an awful stay, but would seek elsewhere in the area next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skbqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your honest comments. I was upset to read about the issues you experienced. I personally apologize & would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. I do not recall speaking with you during your stay. Please call me at (570)208-4455. We certainly have microwaves & fridges available per request. Hairdryers can be found in the guestroom closet area inside a black bag. We do provide shuttle service for all guest as well. We have 2 shuttle vans to accomodate as many guest requests we possibly can. To ensure guaranteed drop off & pick-up times, you we need to pre-schedule your exact times you prefer with our front desk. If you are calling without pre-scheduling shuttle service times, then there maybe a short wait time if both shuttles are currently in use. We do encourage that you pre-schedule shuttle service to ensure there is not a wait time longer than desired. Your stay is not the feedback I normally receive. I would appreciate any opportunity to serve you again.

thank you,

Management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived after a long day of travel on a motorcycle. We were hot and tired. We had a coupon for this hotel. The check-in was quick and hassle free. The hotel was very clean and appeared to be newly renovated or not to old. Breakfast was adequate, the usual. The bed was amazing. We plan on staying again some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. It is our overall goal to create this experience for all guests. We hope you stay with us again & we appreciate your business.

thanks so much!

Management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in a suite for a family reunion and was sorely disappointed. Bathroom shower curtain was too short and it was a hassle to get another one. The carpet throughout the entire place was loaded with fuzz, wrappers, and general crud. The front desk staff was very helpful but at times seemed overwhelmed. Breakfast was decent enough. We had to ask for enough towels (3 of us) and the first day we didn't even have shampoo! I got tired of complaining to the front desk and I am sure they were sick of hearing complaints. As I told them I needed a longer shower curtain, another patron was behind me saying that her bathroom was flooded from the same problem...needs some serious cleaning and new management.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a real shower curtain that was vacuumed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback. I would like to send our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced. We are reviewing theses specific areas that you mentioned and we are working hard to satisfy our guests. We certainly will not make excuses and hope that you accept our apologies. This is not the normal stay experience and we can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as our guest again in the future.

I am not sure if you spoke to a manager at the property, but we are always willing to speak with our guests and review any concerns they may have. Please feel free to give us a call at (570) 208-4455.

Thank you,

Management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#5 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
639 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing