We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't return and get a vacuum!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed in a suite for a family reunion and was sorely disappointed. Bathroom shower curtain was too short and it was a hassle to get another one. The carpet throughout the entire place was loaded with fuzz, wrappers, and general crud. The front desk staff was very helpful but at times seemed overwhelmed. Breakfast was decent enough. We had to ask for enough towels (3 of us) and the first day we didn't even have shampoo! I got tired of complaining to the front desk and I am sure they were sick of hearing complaints. As I told them I needed a longer shower curtain, another patron was behind me saying that her bathroom was flooded from the same problem...needs some serious cleaning and new management.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a real shower curtain that was vacuumed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback. I would like to send our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced. We are reviewing theses specific areas that you mentioned and we are working hard to satisfy our guests. We certainly will not make excuses and hope that you accept our apologies. This is not the normal stay experience and we can only hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as our guest again in the future.

I am not sure if you spoke to a manager at the property, but we are always willing to speak with our guests and review any concerns they may have. Please feel free to give us a call at (570) 208-4455.

Thank you,

Management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels in the Scranton/Wilkes Barre area. This is my 4th stay and I wouldn't even consider staying at another hotel. The staff is awesome and very accommodating. I always need a late check out and they always help me out! Housekeeping staff is the best, rooms are extremely clean and they are very helpful when you need something extra. The beds and pillows are very comfy. The breakfast is great and offers a wide variety. When considering a hotel, don't hesitate on this one - just book it and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klpk8908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Felt so welcomed here!! Staff was happy, smiling, so kind after our long ride and check-in was a snap. We stayed here one night on our way to White River Challengers for the next morning. Beds are amazingly comfortable..never slept so well in a hotel! Only complaint I have is the pool was cloudy, hot tubs were a little noisy. It is close to everything and all new stores in the area. Hotel next to TGIF's and if you show your room key, they'll deduct 10% off your bill. Mohegan Sun Casino down the street too-great horse carriage racing that the kids enjoyed. Will definately be back if we go Rafting again on the Lehigh River.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekerofBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your encouraging words, it means alot to our entire staff! Creating the experience you had is our overall goal. We will continue to work hard to create this experience for all. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Please visit us again!

Management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've been coming here since it first opened. It used to be a great value: we would get a Studio suite for a family of three for a decent rate--back then, cheaper than Hilton garden inn. But the rates have gone steadily up and are absurdly high for the area. This last time, since it was a quick one night visit, we decided to book a regular room. Awfully uncomfortable. The two beds were double, not queen, which meant not enough for two people, and you both sink in the middle.
To add insult to injury, we went out to get our car in parking lot, and some guy had been there with a weedwacker: our car was covered with grass and dirt, and flying pebbles chipped our paint.
The employees remain very nice and helpful, but we are
Losing our sense of loyalty....

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and providing the feedback needed to enhance your overall experience. We appreciate your loyalty and value your business. If there is anyway that I could have the opportunity to address your concerns, I am willing. We do not want any guests to leave with a negative experience. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call ---------.

Thank you for staying with us,

Management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Fairfield in was clean, conveniently located, and a comfortable stop for two nights. The staff were very friendly and the ladies who helped with the breakfast buffet were exceptionally so. It's a 1 minute walk, if that, to the TGIF restaurant. Right next door is a Quality Inn, so as you come off the highway, you will see that hotel first. Only after you drive through the parking lot do you see the sign for the Fairfield Inn, (which is located right behind the Quality Inn). It gets an "average" rating because it is a chain hotel and meets the standard of other Fairfield Inns that I've stayed in. There were no surprises, either good or bad.

Room Tip: The first floor gets alot of foot traffic due to the pool and gym being nearby and the back entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We would be happy to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Hope to see you soon,

Management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and I found it quite poor and with a bad location. The exterior and the lobby are fine and look quite new but when you go into the room you understand why I rated this hotel 2 points.My room was very small and tired, very humid and the bed wasn't so confortable. Very poor amenities in the bathroom (I had to ask for a shower cap). The staff during daytime is very kind but the night staff is very unhelpful and so the maid service that run very late (you have your room clean only in the afternoon even if you ask for a quicker service). The breackfast isn't bad except for the lady attending to it who is quite embarassing always talking and pushing the guest, like a living advertisement, to go to a casino in the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italyItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

I am so sorry to hear of your experience. We have noted the feedback on these areas and will address any opportunitites. We do have a casino 2 miles down the road, but not on our property. I apologize if you felt our staff was pushing you to go. It is a great establishment and we are excited to have the casino in our area. We do have items such as shower caps & lotion available at the front desk per your request. We would deliver these items to your room as well if needed. We hope you were able to speak with a manager concerning your stay. If not, please feel free to give us a call (570)208-4455.

Thank you!

Management & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Close to highway, nice public areas, clean room. But AC unit in room was very loud and the breakfast was very, very basic. Big gap between breakfast at a Hampton Inn (much nicer) and that at the Fairfield.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnafus, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback & will certainly make changes to accommodate your breakfast experience. We do offer a deluxe breakfast which includes everything from freshly made waffles, Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches, fresh fruit and many other choices as well. Thank you for the suggestions!

Thank you!


Hope to serve you again!

Management & staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton

Address: 884 Kidder St, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $102 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes Barre Scranton. Located in the heart of the Wyoming Valley, convenient to the Pocono Mountains, it's the perfect hotel for business and leisure travelers alike. Nearby you will find countless eateries and shopping centers including the Wyoming Valley Mall, Arena Hub Plaza, Wilkes-Barre Township Marketplace, Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, TGI Friday's and many more. And there's always something to do with the Mohegan Sun Arena and Pocono Raceway closeby. All of guestrooms feature complimentary Wired and Wireless High-Speed Internet access, a luxurious bedding package, 32" flat screen television, and a comfortable well-lit work space. We are conveniently located near King's College, Misericordia University, and Wilkes University, as well as the VA Hospital, Geisinger, Wyoming Valley Healthcare Systems, Pride Mobility and Keystone Automotive. Stay with us and see why the Fairfield Inn & Suites WB/Scranton is the perfect choice when traveling in Northeastern Pennsylvania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Hotel Wilkes-Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing