We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad at a Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Not Bad at a Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

This is not a bad place to stop if you're driving along I-81 in Pennsylvania, as long as you get a good deal. The building is showing its age, but our room was very clean, the mattress very good, and even the pillows met my wife's standards. The continental breakfast was adequate, with the usual cereal, bagel, banana, and coffee choices. We paid a little over $60 for the room and have no complaints. If anything, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Liked — Free high-speed Internet
  • Disliked — Slightly shabby ambience
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FallsChurchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    151
    146
    59
    44
See reviews for
180
164
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

This motel had received some poor reviews in the past but some recent ones were good. Maybe this place had problems in the past but we found it clean, quiet, the staff was very helpful and the complimentary breakfast was a good as it gets at a moderately priced motel.
It is situated in a good neighbor of businesses with a Friendly Restaurant, Pizza Hut and McDonalds all within an easy walk across the parking lot. A good sized mall is across the road with more food choices.
We stayed here while visiting Steamtown. The casino is only a couple miles north of the motel for those who enjoy a negative investment of their money.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TangSooPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

I booked 5 nights on no notice through an online travel site. This was the best stay I ever had for the rates I paid (average $58 per night). I stayed in a room on the 4th floor, and the room was exceptionally clean and made very well each day by housekeeping. The lobby was very clean, and you could see the staff constantly busy cleaning the lobby areas. If you want a microwave or fridge, you will pay extra. I found the bed to be a bit soft for my liking. The free continental breakfast was good, fresh, and constantly replenished. There was a cozy area with a big screen tv where you could enjoy a bagel and watch the news with your morning paper. Again, for a basic room very clean and nice. I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Liked — It was very clean. Free Wi-Fi.
  • Disliked — No pool. Microwave and Fridge are an extra change.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PrayedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

The place is shabby and tired looking. The small refrigerator was cold, microwave worked, no real problems. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I stayed in a third floor room, which was clean, with the exception of a slight odor due to the air-conditioning unit, and the shower floor could use resurfaced as it had visible grime and soap scum. In addition, the sink in located on the outside of the bathroom, which I did not prefer. I did not try the complimentary breakfast, but it looked to be as advertised although the breakfast area was very small. The mattress was kind of on the hard side, and the bed sheets had a musty smell. This hotel is OK for the $65 a night rate I had paid.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shad0wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilkes-Barre hotels

Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel recently. The staff are all pleasant and helpful. There was a very wide variety of restaurants willing to deliver right to our hotel door. And there were also a large variety of restaurants located within walking distance, or a short drive from the hotel. Our stay was just for pleasure, non business related. We are planning to stay there again in December. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — the wide variety of restaurants that would deliver
  • Disliked — had some problems with internet service
  • Tips/Secrets — check prices ahead of time
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Billyz_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

Location and rooms were great, lots of restaurants within walking distance. We had spend some time at the mall right across which was great cause we needed to buy few things for our trip. The employees were friendly and very helpfull gave us great directions. Over all our stay was pleasant and we would go back on our next trip.

  • Liked — Rooms and location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

We checked into the Days Inn WIlkes-Barre at 9 p.m. on Wednesday, July 12, 2006. Our room smelled musty and dirty. I attributed the smell to stale air and used the air conditioner to circulate the air in the room.

After settling into our room and getting a bite to eat from Grotto Pizza, we decided to call it a night. My husband and I each grabbed a corner of the bed linens to turn the bed down for the night. To our surprise, we found fecal matter on the top sheet.

When I called the front desk to report the matter, Karen questioned the truth of my statement. I snapped a few digital pictures before stripping the bed and bringing the evidence to the front desk. Karen was disgusted by the sheets as I had been. I was offerred a fresh set of sheets. The hotel was full and an alternate room was not available.

I demanded that Karen call the hotel's general manager, Prasat. She did, but he wasn't concerned enough to come to the hotel and resolve the matter. During my stay, I learned that this hotel has only one employee on staff in the evenings.

I was told that because I made my reservation at DaysInn.com the hotel was not responsible for making the situation right. At checkout, the general manager, Prasat, offerred no apology and we were required to pay for our stay. We filed a formal complaint with Days Inn Guest Services. We plan to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and are disputing the charges made to our credit card for the one-night stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigersinvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
Red Roof Inn Wilkes Barre Arena
#13 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
Host Inn All Suites Hotel
#12 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Wilkes Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Wilkes Barre

Property: Days Inn Wilkes Barre
Address: 760 Kidder St, I-81 Exit 170B, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Wilkes Barre 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 81, Days Inn Wilkes Barre is the perfect place to start your adventure in Pennsylvania. Our Wilkes Barre hotel near Mohegan Sun Casino at Pocono Downs offers free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access and a free parking lot. In the morning, rise and shine with free Daybreak continental breakfast and a free USA Today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Wilkes Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Wilkes-Barre Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes Barre Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing