We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are very nice but the one complaint I have is that the dinning areas and rooms were too spread out and confusing to find. Room was very clean and comfortable. Loved the walk in shower but lacked safety grab bars. The dinner and breakfast was very flavorful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CALewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 936 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way back to Canada. What a fabulous hotel

From the welcome at check in to check out everything was marvellous, wish we could have stayed longer

Huge breakfast buffet included in our rate

A fantastic setting in the woods, beds were extremely comfortable

If your in the area book here, it's worth a drive if your close

Room Tip: Ask for woods or stream room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taffy2002_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to fill out your review with such positive feedback!

I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Clean updated rooms. Great friendly staff. I was greeted with a welcome basket. There is night life there however the bartenders should be replaced. I waited for a beer for a while while the female bartender flirted and the guy charged me twice. As much as I enjoyed my stay I would not go to the club with them working the bar. Shogun Japanese restaurant was good with a friendly staff and the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We will forward your concerns to our beverage manager for follow up.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Overall, beautiful place to stay. Most servers were fabulous, however, Lori- bartender was rude, not only to me and my girlfriends but pretty much rude and abrupt to all women younger than her. Maybe she should consider retirement or at least a class in customer service etiquette. It was very unappealing to watch. But we decided we would not judge the entire establishment on the incompetence of one worker.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelalup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I have discovered that in the I-95 corridor between Baltimore, Md and Philadelphia, Pa there are numerous Casinos that provide a total Gaming experience at a reasonable cost. Today I am writing about not the Mohegan Sun Casino but the Hotel we stayed at while there.
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is a great place in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation. This place doesn't look like much from the street but the hotel inside has a pleasingly rustic look and the Hotel Staff provides a relaxing vacation experience. They even have package deals that include free slot play at the casino. The stream behind the hotel can be viewed from an outdoor deck and dining area and the rapids at the top of the stream are breath taking. The stream and rapids are illuminated at night. Really pretty. Free full breakfast during the week. Food was excellent and they have Live entertainment as well. If you are traveling thru this area spend a night and visit the casino. I hope to get back during the Fall season to see the colored foliage.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callernine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

My father and uncle chose this location 45 years ago so they can incorporate great views from both the dining areas and hotel rooms, we also use the outdoor locations for weddings and other events.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful with anything youe need. The jacuzzi was very relaxing and the food was great. would suggest friends and family stay there for any event that they need a place to stay. Also the prices are right and good music to keep you dancing the whole night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am glad to hear that our Jacuzzi provided you with much relaxation.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Traveling through with our standard poodle the staff was most accommodating for lunch. We were seated on a small quiet deck overlooking the pool area. The mature plantings made it quite serene. The service was excellent. The hamburger was truly a made there burger not a pre made patty from a distributor. It was full of flavor.
Certainly worthwhile to get off of the highway for a great, un hurried lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marquisdepercin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent luncheon at our hotel.

I believe this is our very first Trip Advisor review specifically for Crescenzo's Restaurant..

Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#4 of 21 in Wilkes-Barre
703 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range: $100 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing