We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Since we recently moved into the area I was not aware of the exact location or of the caliber of the accommodations of The Woodlands. After reading some of the reviews I went ahead and booked a "Streamside" room for our first stay at the Woodlands for our Anniversary and can honestly say was quite taken back by the location off of the highway. Somehow the name Woodlands and a busy highway just didn't fit together. That being said, we were very happy with everything about our stay...clean room, comfortable bed, hot water and a great view from our balcony. Everyone on the staff was helpful, professional and in a great mood! Excellent dinner at Shogun and a fun time with new friends. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Streamside Room is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Glad to see that you were surprised "in a good way" once you walked into the hotel.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    247
    87
    46
    47
See reviews for
160
408
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Westbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were very disappointed with our viewless dark dreary tower room. The heater unit was very noisy and not working as it should. Heat came in a blast followed by a blast of cold air...a very noisy motor running all of it. I had to turn off the unit to get any sleep. Our morning shower didn't happen because the faucet was broken, and we couldn't turn it on.Breakfast was a plus except that we had to walk a long distance up & down stairs to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at The Woodlands Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the maintenance issues on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance supervisor so he can look into the problem and make sure it doesn't happen to the next guest.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Wilkes Barre.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for something a little different on the way back from visiting relatives. The Woodlands provided a nice alternative to a generic hotel. The location was surprising, relative to expectations. "Woodlands," but immediately adjacent to a highway? The design is a very clever use of the location. The design shuns the road and hugs the stream, providing a sense of a more remote location. The orientation to the stream makes for an unusual layout; this is not all rooms off a single hallway. We opted for a streamside room. The cold spring temps this year made infeasible what I wanted: sleep with the door to the balcony open, the sound of the stream filling the room. Maybe if we make the trip in the summer we can stop for that experience. Nice pool and giant spa: we were the only people in it on a Monday morning.

Room Tip: The "streamside" rooms cost more but provide the most different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerFallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review.

Your thoughts about our hotel ring true in every aspect. You have to appreciate the quirkiness and uniquiness of our facility to really understand how we went about building and designing it around the surroundings.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not sure why but I just like this place. Always get a streamside room - this is a must and worth the extra few bucks. You can lost here, at the property that is. Its not friendly to getting around but it may be part of the quirkiness that I like. The front desk staff is always very friendly and although busy, take time to answer questions and talk to you. Lots to do on property including bars, dance club and some pretty nice food choices. Convenient location and overall a place I do like to stay. The things that would turn others off is actually what I like (long choppy hallways, smell of chlorine from the pool, hustle and bustle of club goers till late at night, odd parking spots). I go for the service and the bed comfort.

Room Tip: Streamside rooms are a must. Although I don't know about the other regular rooms. Be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

It's nice to hear that you love our quirkiness, that's what separates us from the average cookie cutter hotel. Thanks for appreciating.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband suprised me with a weekend get away for my birthday. We stayed overnight at the Woodlands Inn. It was our first visit there and it will not be our last. Our room was beautiful and so clean and very affordable. It was easly assessable. The workers were so polite and so helpful. The stream and scenery is wonderful. It was a very relaxing time and we can not wait to go back again. Highly recommend the Woodlands Inn as a great place to stay and unwind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The staff here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job.

I am so honored that you chose the Woodlands Inn a member of the Ascend Collection from Choice Hotels while you were in Wilkes-Barre. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the staff will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time your travel plans bring you to town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me. The front desk would be happy to connect you to my office.

Thank you,
Ross Kornfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamokin Dam, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really great resort with a lot of things to do in the area.The accodomations were very good. the rooms were a little small but very nice. The only reason I did not give it a 5 star is we were there with our dog and the pet rooms are in the main hallway where everyone goes through to get to the resturants and the dog would hear every little noise which was not good for us trying to get some sleep.I feel it would be better if it was not in the main hallway but that is not my choice. I would hope the hotel would consider moving the dog rooms into the side wing.I would not hesitate to tell anyone to stay here.Over all great resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyPrinceToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 years in a row, both mini ski getaways for the weekend. From NYC it's only 2 and a half hours away.

I went here with friends last year and we had a really good time because there's nightlife attached to the hotel. It's rural nightlife however but if you don't mind that it's really inexpensive and fun to people watch.

This year however was a family trip with my family (2 kids, 9 and 5). The best part of the woodlands in this instance were the restaurants attached. After a long day skiing, we were able to go back and shower and head to dinner at the brick over pizza place inside (the wait staff is just the best). I also realized that if you're there for a family vacation, the attached nightlife can be a little much, drunk girls in short sparkly dresses holding their heels and laughing loudly at 2 am is a bit annoying. Hearing the guest dj's entire set was not fun. As are the thin walls. Thankfully if you ski or snowboard enough you'll be too exhausted to notice.

Overall it's a great getaway in an inexpensive area. Snö mountain is 20 minutes away (just past some outlets) and Mohegan Sun is up the street so there's always something to. But make sure you're doing either or.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. The staff and management in both restaurants will be happy to hear about your comments.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
878 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing