We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Woodlands Inn - Wilkes-Barre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Woodlands Inn - Wilkes-Barre”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

"EXCELLENT" facility

Everything you could ask for ... restaurants, meeting rooms, bars, shuttle to the casino, and did I say restaurants and bars ........ All in the Woodlands

The only drawback is that the rooms are small and have little closet space
It is a perfect facility in every way .... Had a GREAT time there

The staff was pheonominal

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    247
    87
    46
    47
See reviews for
161
409
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd year we went to The Woodlands for their club. Great atmosphere. DJ was good. They have a 2nd bar downstairs for the older crowd, so there is something for all ages. Plan on going back when we go to the poconos area again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJK0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent visit to our nightclub.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope you can stay with us next time your travel plans bring you to the Wilkes-Barre area.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

First time here - extremely pleased! King suite (with kitchen!) for unbeatable price. Balcony overlooked stream - beautiful and relaxing. Selection of restaurants. We were here for private party - great service. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a Wilkes-Barre native, I've stayed at this property for many years - most recentkly for a family get together - a surprise birthday party in the Executive Lounge. (A GREAT place for a private party, BTW).

While built in the 1970's but only slightly dated, this resort knows how to treat folks first class all the way: from the friendly front desk staff to the wait staff in the restaurants to the bartender at our private party - every one of the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and took care of our every need. Many of our family members ended up staying over because of a bad snowstorm and no one had any complaints. The creekside rooms are awesome. We look forward to our next visit,

For those interested in visiting the nearby casino, the hotel has a free shuttle for guests and the casino is literally "over the hill" - about 1 mile away. We are saving that for our next visit. While the in-house restrauramts were good, (including a pizza parlor for casual dining), there are several excellent restuarnts within a reasonable distance. This is definately our "go-to" place to stay when in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeB379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent visit to our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful resort this is! Restaurants on site, beautiful views, and wonderfully comfortable rooms. Great value for our money, and the complimentary breakfast overlooking the creek was beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor, because they allow pets. Our dog loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your online review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Woodlands is a "Class Act" I have been going there close to 25 years! Always clean, affordable, great restaurants, bar, etc. Great location! We went to the bar for a pizza and a few cocktails, drinks $5. and the brick oven pizza was great.
My wife got a massage at the spa and she said it was great. Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: we had 403 a suite at the bottom of the towers, close to parking and the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossKornfeld, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We are celebrating our 45th anniversary this year. Since you've been coming to our property for 25 years we'd love to chat with you as one of our "long-time guests" if you'd be available. Just e-mail marketing@thewoodlandsresort.com and John will give you a call! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ended up staying here because of a party being held on the property. Good thing too, because the weather was AWFUL..snowy, blowy and cold. We lucked into a parking space right out front (hooRAY) The front desk staff was efficient and very nice. I really liked this place. It's kind of old but updated. (LOVE the woodwork, marble and leaded glass around the front desk area!)

Our room was located in The Tower (7th floor on the elevator, but the room number started with 4) The room was small, but very clean and modern. Not any counter space to speak of in the bathroom, but that's not a big deal as the VERY comfortable bed and down comforter more than made up for it. The in room Keurig is a nice touch.

The only thing I wasn't fond of was the elevator noise in the room, and hearing all the hallway conversations from the folks coming & going from the elevator, but again, it wasn't a major issue.

I LOVED the lounge/restaurant area overlooking the creek & woods. `The party was 'down below' and the glass wall afforded us a fabulous view of the great, cold outdoors. The staff was exceptional too. Both for the party and when we had lunch earlier in the day.

We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time in completing your on-line review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Have a wonderful New Year.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
666 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing