We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Woodlands for 2 nights while visiting family in the area. The experience was an extremely pleasant one. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was very clean; fresh white linens on the bed, spotless bathroom, fresh smelling when you walk in the room, no musty smell or other odors. With the price of the room came a free hot breakfast buffet each morning. It had everything from cereal and yogurt to made to order omelettes, even had do it yourself waffle irons to make your own waffles with various toppings. The hotel has one indoor, one outdoor pool which the kids enjoyed. A few onsite restaurants, the decor is tasteful. Free WiFi. The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to make it a little more handicapped accessible. There were a lot of stairs to get to and from the breakfast buffet and a little difficult for one of my family members to use. Otherwise everything was great, would definitely stay there again and I want to thank the Woodlands staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 100's wing were flooded a few years back, they are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    248
    87
    47
    47
See reviews for
164
410
31
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Woodlands last week, as part of a large group (50 + rooms). Because I was the contact person for the group, Melinda was great to give me an upgrade to a sweet Streamside suite! Streamside rooms all have balconies, which is great, especially if you are there for several days, as I was. The rooms are very clean, and beds are super comfortable!

Just down the road from Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs, this was an ideal location for all of our crew. The free shuttle to Mohegan Sun is a great amenity, especially since we had some late nights. An added bonus is the great nightlife scene at the Woodlands itself. The weather was great, and we spent some afternoons/ evenings out on the deck at Havana. The food and drinks were great, and although we were working all week, we all had a blast!

My first visit to the Woodlands was fantastic as well - Evolution nightclub is ALWAYS a good time (I don't even dance).

The fact is, my job will definitely bring me back to the Woodlands, but I definitely look forward to it. Thanks for the great week, and comfortable accommodations!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesleepypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I live locally but had 10 family members from out of town come for a visit. We were celebrating my mothers 80th Birthday. Having a few special requirments with a large group, we were concerned!!
The staff could not have been more helpful!! Anything we needed or wanted was taken care of immediately. They could not have been better!! Making that many people happy is not an easy task and they went above and beyond.
I have been to many hotels/resorts, and to have nothing bad to say, is amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I am very loyal to a major hotel chain, but when my husband and I decided to visit Pocono Downs for an overnight getaway The Woodlands Inn kept showing up on my radar. After checking the place out and reading reviews, I realized how affordable and convenient the resort would be. We booked a room with no special package, and the rate was cheaper than what I had already booked at my other chain. I cancelled my other reservation - and boy am I glad I did. We arrived a bit earlier than check in and our room was not ready, but they allowed me to check in and they said that they would call us when the room was ready for us. We headed to the Havana bar and enjoyed a few drinks outside. It was a great atmosphere and exactly what we were looking for. About 30 minutes later we got a call that our room was ready. We found our room to be spotless and very appealing! We were on the courtyard, so we had a sliding door to a small sitting area with some chairs. We took advantage of the free casino shuttle - which was so convenient! Free breakfast in the morning was a perfect end to our stay. As all the other reviews say... THE STAFF WAS AMAZING! Very friendly and engaging. From the front desk, bartender, shuttle driver and breakfast staff - everyone was wonderful. STAY HERE! It is a perfect and affordable getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, nj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We sometimes stay at the woodlands on our way up to our mountain home . The rooms are clean and very nice. We love the outside tiki bar by the water. You get a voucher for a cocktail and breakfast. The only thing we would suggest is to extend the breakfast hours. They finish at 9 : 30 am it should be until 11:00 am and the drink vouchers should be $ 5 per person .

Room Tip: Choose a tower room they are more quiet or a stream side room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisadanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete your on-line review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 570-824-9831.

Sincerely,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

August7,2012 TonyG Collegeville,Pa. Great staff from the receptionist NICOLE to the manager Rick Kornfeld,they couldn't of been more helpful in addressing all of my needs,the food, drink ,cleanliness of rooms pools just the entire staff. Great people lots of fun,will always stay there when I"m in Wilkes-Barre.They go out of their way to please their guests.Thank you again for all that you done,to make my stay awesome!

Room Tip: Book now,they treat you like family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Owner at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

In truth you will get sucked in by the web site:) Pictures do lie and when you arrive you may be if for a little shock - The place is rustic, (rusty?:) and weather worn, on a major highway and it's hard to find check in - Now the good news - The staff is amazing and very helpful. Learn the layout because you can find anything you might need. Food, Bars, Club, Indoor outdoor pools and jacuzzi - Spa - The prices are very fair and did I mention that the staff is excellent? Our room was very clean and the beds were excellent and the bathroom was spotless. Okay so it is not the Four Seasons but I don't remember the last time I got such an excellent value for the money. Whoever manages this place is on the right track and I highly suggest The Woodlands as a cool place to stay -

Room Tip: Try for the Stream-side in my opinion but either way you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KessUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammaya, Manager at The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Kornfeld
Owner
The Woodlands Inn
570-824-9831
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilkes-Barre hotels
1.1 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilkes-Barre Scranton/Arena
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#7 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
673 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926 (Formerly The Woodlands Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Woodlands Resort, An Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing