We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Kept Secret” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a last minute booking on-line, for a Holiday Weekend. We were pleasantly surprised. The Inn had Great Accomodations...Clean and Modern. They had a Great Staff, Great In-House Restaurants, Bars, and Night Clubs as well as a Shuttle to and from the Casino. I will Definately stay there again. The price of the rooms and what they include with their price, is definately worth the money, especially in these difficult economic times.

Room Tip: Ask for the Room that overlooks the beautiful creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    215
    68
    43
    44
See reviews for
135
342
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linden, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Woodlands Inn is a wonderful place to go for a nice little getaway. We love it because it's close to home (only about an hour or so away) and it's close to Mohegan Sun Casino. It's stretched out right along a beautiful creek, and offers the most awesome jacuzzi around - it's huge! It always offers both indoor and outdoor pools, of which we have enjoyed both. The food from the various restaurants is always good, although I wish Crecenzo's offered a little larger breakfast buffet. The staff is courteous, friendly and always right on top of things. They have a shuttle that delivers you to and picks you up right at the casino entrance. This is nice because parking there can be bothersome. They always have a nice little trail you can walk on to take in the nature around the resort. Overall, we love it!

Room Tip: The tower suites are great, as are the streamside rooms with their own little deck. Avoid the furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This property needs to figure out if it wants to be a nightclub or a resort. It simply cannot be both. If you are a night owl, then staying here would be nice, but if you like to go to sleep before 2AM, then stay away.
This resort has a nightclub that is very close to the rooms. I thought we would be safe from the noise since our room was "streamside" and away from the nightclub, but we were woken up several times by party-goers in the halls running, shouting and singing.

The room itself is nice and clean.

The spa is adequate and a good value for the price.

Parking is terrible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orsino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
567 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

this is a very classy place to stay and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. you'll love the huge Jacuzzi (17000 Gal). They have a nice spread of on site eateries from the upscale Shogun to the Brick oven pizzareia. They have an indoor pool as well as an outdoor in the summer, this is the Poconos and the summer is short. On site spa and a lounge with an evening Clb help pass the time. During the day you can walk the beautiful wooded trails. The hotel is close to the Pa Turnpike and I-81. Shuttles take you the Casino and other Pocono and wilkees-Baree and Scranton attractions are really in easy driving distances. Try to get some coupons or discounts, the normal rates are above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I went here in May 2012 for a girls weekend getaway. We chose the Woodlands because it was practically equidistant from where we all lived - NYC, Philadelphia and Binghamton. We all went into this with no expectations - the hotel wasn't important to us, reuniting was - but we were surprised in a great way by the Woodlands and we all agreed that we would come back for future reunions.

We had two adjoining rooms in the tower. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We wished they came with mini fridges but we asked about it and they brought one upstairs for us. It would have been nice if the rooms had full length mirrors and real closets, but they had plenty of room, even with 3 girls per room, and the beds were comfortable (though I prefer beds to be a little more firm - these were pretty soft).

The Woodlands was like a mini resort - we had drinks at the Tiki bar, which had really beautiful scenery - it was right by the stream. We ate dinner at the hibachi restaurant which was really delicious and fun. We all got spa treatments at Alexanders in the Woods, which was awesome. It was really nice, affordable (especially to the spas us city girls are used to) and the women who worked there were so friendly and accommodating.

The main thing that made this place great was the staff. Everyone there was so helpful and pleasant. The shuttle driver could not have been nicer (and the service to the casino was really prompt and easy to use). The front desk staff helped with directions and patiently let us try on all of their t-shirts in all different colors and sizes. The waitress at the Tiki Bar could not have been friendlier or more enthusiastic.

This hotel isn't perfect and it certainly isn't the most luxurious place I've stayed, but the friendly staff and variety of things to do make it a great place for a quick getaway.

Room Tip: A streamside room might be worth the money for the view. The stream is really pretty. All you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waverly
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

About the only thing good is the shogun restaurant

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincet6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

When you tell me you are a “Resort” – you put yourself at a new level – for everything. So with fresh visions of the hotel’s web site in mind we drove off the busy route 315 and into the parking lot.

The exterior of the facility seems a bit tired – walking through the door to the lobby – you do get the impression you are walking into a transformed facility – I just haven’t been able to place the decade I’m in.

The capable and friendly front desk staff was in command and did a resort-level check-in. There are several wings and a tower to the Woodlands. We were quite conveniently – for us – put in a room right off the lobby and one room in. Great for us – you may want the tower or one of the wings because our room wasn’t exactly like the pictures on the web site.

The room was small and the finishes were high-end. You can tell. When you see the Keurig coffee machine the room – you know that’s an upgrade. The furniture, lamps – it was all “Resort” level. A few bottles of water were also waiting. A nice touch. But the closet here was but small area (covered by a curtain) that you could only put a limited number of items in. The room was clean a must for a resort.

But the bath was a disappointment – not the same finishes (except the lamp over the sink) – and not absolutely clean. There was mold behind the door. Marble tiles adorned the walls – but it was obvious they had not been wiped a lot. There was a shower handle sprayer that would not stay positioned properly (and was a very low flow model) that had a track I guess for positioning that was broken and the corner of the bathtub had a big crack in it.
Not a resort-level bath. Plus there were no hooks, or surfaces to put your toiletries. Let’s hope the wings and the tower baths are actually resort quality. The bottle opener attached to the door frame was an indication of the age of the rooms in this area.

We ate at Shogun – one of the in-house restaurants. We were meeting a friend so opted out of the Hibachi area and sat by a large table be the window. It is not overly elegant here – at least at the window seating side of the room - but our food was really prepared well and portions generous. Good quality – not resort-level though (seemed like the AC wasn’t all the way on for our side of the room the night we were there) – and our server – while friendly and accommodating – had not completed the resort’s finishing school.

Both restaurants (and a club) are located at the end of the facility opposite the lobby. For us we opted to walk outside to reach the breakfast facility - Crescenzo’s. Once you leave the building though – there goes the glow. The parking lot here was K-Mart quality. Needing a surfacing and repair desperately and the entrance to the restaurants (and the “Evolution” club) at the other end – which again obviously was invested in heavily – did not have the finish it needs to have if you are going to say you are a “Resort”.

The breakfast (which came with our room) was self-serve and quite extensive with several hot items and just about anything you could think of. Several staff members were there since it is also a paid meal facility as well. There are a lot of stairs here – so if you travel with anyone who can’t navigate – it’s something to consider.

Also – we heard that the weekends can be a bit loud here – so unless you are loud yourself – something else to consider. We would not choose to stay here again – but your experience may vary.

So to sum it up – dated in places (it’s a mixture of extremely updated contemporary mixed with the 80’s and late 90’s) and areas that have that “edge” – clean rooms (watch your bath though) – since we’re close to a gambling area the motto might be – you pay’s your money – you takes your chances!

Room Tip: Stay on the stream side - in one of the wings or the tower to avoid loud patrons and weekend traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilkes-Barre
1.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun Pocono
Mohegan Sun Pocono
#4 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
Hilton Garden Inn Wilkes Barre
#6 of 20 in Wilkes-Barre
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilkes-Barre
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Genetti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Inn

Property: The Woodlands Inn
Address: 1073 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-6926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodlands Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Pocono Mountains with a peaceful stream winding through, The Woodlands Inn is the premiere destination in Northeastern Pennsylvania for your next vacation, event, or business function. Step through our doors and take in a deep breath of fresh air, thanks to our smoke-free policy. Look around and you'll find beautiful ballrooms for your celebrations and special events, meeting rooms for any sized corporate function, and Alexander's in the Woods, a full service day spa. Featuring 2 restaurants, 3 bars, and Evolution Nightclub, you'll find no shortage of entertainment options as well. Plus, as the closest full-service, off-site hotel to Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs Casino, we offer a complimentary shuttle for all our guests. With countless rooms and packages to choose from, you're sure to find exactly what you're looking for at The Woodlands Inn. We are a member of Ascend Hotel Collection by Choice Hotels International. The Woodlands is proud to combine our impeccable array of services and amenities with the benefits of the Choice Privileges rewards program, resulting in a truly memorable experience every time. We make every effort to ensure the complete satisfaction and enjoyment of all our guests, and as a dog-friendly hotel, that includes your best furry friends as well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Woodlands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Inn ~ Ascend Collection By Choice Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Woodlands Hotel Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Resort Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Wilkes Barre
Woodlands Inn Resort Wilkes Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing