We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat Customer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New City View Diner

New City View Diner
Ranked #28 of 94 Restaurants in Whitehall
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We like the breakfast menu and usually order the mediterranean
omelet. The Diner is always busy with customers, and the food
is always fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Diner With Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an upscale diner where they even give out free wine. They were good at accommodating special orders. They have great seafood from the grill. The service was good and the food was great. They are known to many people in the area. The menu was extensive and reasonable. Their pasta is fantastic. A good place to eat I only suggest that they had a website and posted their menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mwood199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“City diner, country breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I may be a city girl, but I love, love LOVE creamed chipped beef on toast. As any country folk can attest to, a great "S.O.S" is really hard to come by in a restaurant. City View Diner is the ONLY place for this dish, hands down!!!! Perfectly seasoned, always fresh and way better than anything I could ever make on my own. If you love this regional dish as much as I do, don't waste your time with the watered down versions served at the more "country" diners in the area...head straight to City View!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly, and poorly served”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Found a used plate with moldy food on the window sill next to our table. The floor was littered with specks of food debris. The table and utensils were dirty. The place smelled bad. We don't ever need to go back to see if they've cleaned up their act.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6211GardenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We go here about 3 or 4 times a year. We like the wide varity of menu choices and specials. Always reasonably-priced and good tasting. Portions are very generous. Too bad! I rarely have room for dessert! I would love to try some of their delicious-looking pastries some time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New City View Diner also viewed

 

Been to New City View Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing